We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spacious room, fabulous sea view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence-Hotel Baia Portinenti
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Lipari
Argentina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“spacious room, fabulous sea view”
Reviewed 23 October 2011

The room had everything needed (AC, mini fridge, toiletries, wifi) and a breathtaking sea view from the balcony. We were collected at the port by Carmela, the lovely woman who runs the place. The buffet breakfast was great and when we checked out very early they insisted that we take some food for our breakfast and made my friend coffee, even though it was before the official breakfast time. It's a bit of a walk from town, but a pleasant walk. If you're in Lipari in the summer, it's unlikely you'll spend much time at the hotel because it's such a beautiful island, but the time at the hotel after a long day of sun worshiping is very relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    41
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
45
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2011

we were cheerfully collected from Lipari port and on arrival at the hotel offered the choice out of 2 rooms, one with kitchenette and one without. We choose the bigger of the two, which also had a spacious balcony with a beautiful sea view. The room was modestly furnished, but spacious and clean. The shower was very tied. Reception staff was cheerful and very welcoming. Breakfast was OK. Lipari port and city centre was 10 minutes walk.
We enjoyed our 3 days stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmuusze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sicily
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Very nice experience. We were given the choice of two rooms, both were spacious - one with a kitchen or one with a bigger bed. We were only there for the weekend so we picked the bigger bed. The hotel is on a quiet street just a few blocks from the main street with all the shops and restaurants. The lady at the front desk was very nice and answered all our questions. Breakfast was a typical European one. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LifeinSicily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middle West
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

This place is right around the corner from everything you want to be near. The strip is not far, and the cheeky little beach at the end of the street is a great place for a dip. Monica (proprietor) watches the operations closely, and it shows.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SquarePocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2008

We stayed at Baia Portinenti for three nights during our honeymoon trip of Sicily. Loved it - it was definitely the best hotel we stayed at!

We looked on the website and emailed them to say we were arriving and could they pick us up at the port. The reply came back almost immediately saying yes! They also gave us a lift back to the port at the end of our stay, which we did not expect, but fully appreciated!!

Right from the beginning the staff were really friendly and helpful - we got loads of info and booked our Stromboli tour through them.

We specifically wanted a room with a kitchenette and it was lovely. The room was huge, the bed was also huge and comfy and everything was so clean and neat.

We had a seaview balcony and felt really at home. The bathroom was modern and clean, and the shower good - once we had worked out how to turn the hot water on!

The breakfast was really tasty - tea & coffee, toast, bread, cereal, yoghurts, jam etc, with gorgeous surroundings.

Also there is free internet on a computer just for guests, which was really useful for us.

The only slight niggles were the kitchen wasn't very well equipped - could've done with a proper cutting knife and chopping board.

Also there is a hot tub outside which we were really looking fwd to, but it wasn't hot - just lukewarm!

However those things did not affect our enjoyment and I would stay again without hesitation.

  • Liked — modern, clean & comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing really disliked
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mitch77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2006

The best hotel on our visit! Your day begins with a great cup of cappuccino and complimentary breakfast bar! The staff was overly eager to help us find local attractions and many times booked our reservations. The house keeping - impeccable! Only complaint is that the walls are a wee bit thin. Definitely recommend a visit!

  • Liked — friendly service
  • Disliked — Sometimes noisey
  • Tips/Secrets — Take a boat trip with Giovanni!
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank medusas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2006

We were a little nervous because this was the only place that wasn't booked in late July but our stay here was fantastic. The rooms are not ultra modern and have older furniture in them but they were huge. We were with another couple and this was the only hotel in Sicily to grant our request of being next to each other and we had an ajoining room which made it more fun. One of our rooms had a kitchen which was great for putting leftovers in and having our drinks on our patio that had a great view of the water. Good a/c and they did an excellent job of cleaning the room every day despite the slobs we were. The best part was Monica who works at the front desk and helped us with anything we needed. Customer service in Italy leaves a bad taste in your mouth but Monica helped us with our every need. They gave us great recs for places to eat and we rented a day boat tour with her husband which was fantastic and the highlight of our trip.

The hotel doesn't have a pool but you can walk to a little cove for swimming in 5 minutes and the walk into town is only 15 minutes to get the boats to the private beaches. This is a comfortable and affordable place to stay in Lipari which is a fantastic island.

  • Liked — Service!
  • Disliked — Needed a pool.
  • Tips/Secrets — Take the boat trip with Giovani around the island.
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeKeenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lipari hotels
0.2 mi away
Borgo Eolie Hotel
Borgo Eolie Hotel
#1 of 33 in Lipari
551 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Enrica - Country Resort
4.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Acquacalda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Cutimare
Hotel Cutimare
#8 of 33 in Lipari
167 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mea
Hotel Mea
#5 of 33 in Lipari
457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carasco
Hotel Carasco
#24 of 33 in Lipari
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence-Hotel Baia Portinenti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence-Hotel Baia Portinenti

Property: Residence-Hotel Baia Portinenti
Address: Via Porto delle Genti, 98055, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Lipari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Lipari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence-Hotel Baia Portinenti 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residence-Hotel Baia Portinenti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing