We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel and staff - some management issues with pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Villa Enrica - Country Resort
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Lipari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We had a lovely stay at Villa Enrica in June 2011-

We picked it because it was a little out of town on a hill side overlooking a busy lively port -and had a great pool. We were looking for some where to relax. We were not dissappointed-the views at breakfast and from the pool a little further up the hill were amazing. The best compliment to pay a hotel is to return -which we did in July 2012

Hovever there was one occurrence which we found a little bit of a surprise.

We were relaxing by the pool after a slow late breakfast, alternating dozing, advancing a few pages and Sicilian ironies with Inspector Moltalbano, and cooling dips at the edge of the infinity pool watching ferries scurry about in the harbour below. This was exactly how we imagined the pool would be and how it was presented on the hotels website.

We have 4 children now mostly grown up and one of the great attractions of Italy for us is how loved and accepted they were on holidays in all settings. However we were a bit surprised when a large school group of infants arrived for their swimming lesson. They were well behaved and looked after by the instructors with a good number of adoring parents looking on. We adjusted from barely conscious chilled out, to alert people watching 'beach' mode pretty quickly. One or two other couples did not adjust and just as quickly left the pool somewhat unhappy.

It did not spoil our stay at all but we did feel the the pool is marketed as a place to relax and unwind. It cannot be that and also Learner pool for kids at the same time. If it must be the latter there should be very clear notice to let guests know in advance and possibly at the poolside so they won't be surprised.

We stayed again the following year.

As before our room was perfect and staff were friendly and attentive. I had left a jacket in the wardrobe in the Hotel Ravesi on Salina and noticed it was missing as we checked into Villa Enrica. By the time we had checked in, unpacked, had lunch and a couple of dips in the pool my jacket was in the wardrobe.Amazing service and hotel would take no payment.

Once again however an afternoon at the pool was not as relaxing as it should have been. There was a young nanny looking after but entirely unable to entertain or control 3 small children while several couples ( including the childrens parents) and at least one on honeymoon were trying to relax by the pool. It was obvious to all except the pool attendant that hotel guests were unhappy but nothing was said nothing was done. They children were just being children, the parents should have acted but so should the attendant.
Most couples eventually got up and left obviously unhappy.

I rate Villa Enrica highly and we did enjoy ourstays but as our principal reason to visit the Aeolians was to relax and unwind by an amazing pool with a view if possible, when we next visit we are more likely to spend our stay at the Raves on Salina instead.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fridaynightfever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villaenrica, Manager at Hotel Villa Enrica - Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

On behalf of Villa Enrica’s staff, I would like to thank you for your favourable review of our hotel. Surely a return visit is the ultimate compliment a guest could bestow on our hotel!

In reference to your comments about the pool, we are but one of several hotels here on Lipari that provide a free community service for the children of Lipari so they can learn to swim. There are no council pools on Lipari and learning in the sea is more challenging for young children. The lesson is only once a week from 09.30 to 11.00. We make every attempt to notify our guests in advance, and we are sorry if you weren’t notified.

Villa Enrica is also planning to open a children’s mini-club during July and August for our guests at a location away from the pool area, so our adult guests could relax and enjoy our pool.
With best wishes for many more holidays on our beautiful Aeolian Islands,

Kind regards,

Sarah Tomasello, Villa Enrica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2012

My partner and I stayed at the beautiful Villa Enrica for a few days over summer 2011. It was our first time in Lipari and a particularly significant destination for me, as I was trying to connect with relatives on the island. The staff at Villa Enrica were so wonderful and helpful, not only providing us with beautiful accommodation and lovely breakfasts but also assisting me to connect with my relatives and translate for me! They really went the extra mile to make us feel welcome and helped make our time in Lipari truly special.
The hotel itself is beautifully designed using traditional Aeolian architecture with lovely tiled terraces - ours overlooked Lipari and the Mediterranean Sea. The bedrooms and bathrooms are beautifully decorated in the Aeolian style. There is an abundance of plants and flowers which were in bloom when we were there, framing our terrace and making it a lovely place to enjoy a wine and admire the view.
The pool is amazing and has the most stunning views of Lipari and out over the Mediterranean Sea - a great spot to swim and relax.
The short distance to the town centre is an enjoyable walk along the seafront or there is a bus stop nearby.
We would certainly recommend Villa Enrica to anyone visiting Lipari and we will definitely be returning to stay at Villa Enrica again.

Room Tip: The rooms with terraces overlooking Lipari and the Mediterranean Sea are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouLuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

This lovely low-rise hotel is a little uphill walk from the town but the effort is worth it. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and we particularly loved the tiled balcony off the room where we could sit and enjoy a wine while looking out over the town and the beautiful bay. I recommend hiring a car to tour around the island and to make trips into town. There is free parking. The fantastic pool is away from the hotel, a short walk up a steep drive but a superb view awaits you while you swim.
A fabulous hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a view over the town and a stunning covered terrace so that you can sit and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alioops18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and wished we could have stayed a bit longer. The staff is very friendly and helfpul. The rooms are spacious with a big terrace and good size bathroom. Breakfast is good. The pool is amazing and has stunning views of Lipari. We really enjoyed our stay at Villa Enrica. The hotel is on the outskirt of the centre. I would recommend hiring a scooter to explore the island.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

What a wonderful place to stay. A short 15 walk into town with stunning views. The staff were excellent nothing was too much trouble for them. Denise, Sylvia, and Emmanuella were fantastic. We had great stay and recommend this motel to anyone staying in Lipari.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Vince C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

In the outskirts of Lipari but the panorama view of the city makes it worthwile.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andreas1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Villa Enrica. The staff were so friendly, warm and helpful and the hotel was just so luxurious and comfortable. The breakfasts were also excellent. We definitley want to return and spend alot more time in this beautiful hotel and explore more of the Aeolian Islands next time.
The nicest place we stayed in all of Sicily! Gracie!

Erin & Lucille

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErinLucille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lipari
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aktea
Hotel Aktea
#4 of 33 in Lipari
365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mea
Hotel Mea
#5 of 33 in Lipari
518 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carasco
Hotel Carasco
#29 of 33 in Lipari
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Borgo Eolie Hotel
Borgo Eolie Hotel
#1 of 33 in Lipari
609 reviews
3.2 mi away
Therasia Resort
Therasia Resort
#1 of 12 in Isola Vulcano
1,026 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Arciduca
Grand Hotel Arciduca
#2 of 33 in Lipari
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Enrica - Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Enrica - Country Resort

Address: Via Serra,11, 98055, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Lipari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lipari
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lipari
Price Range: £39 - £888 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Enrica - Country Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Enrica Country Resort is a Boutique Hotel located on the island of Lipari. Villa Enrica is the right choice for a holiday in the Aeolian Islands, with its unforgettable panoramas and colours that vary from the deep blue of the sea to the immensity of the sky. The villa which follows the Aeolian style architecture, is just 10 minutes walk from the centre of Lipari, surrounded by a park with Mediterranean vegetation, rich in lemons, oranges, almond and olive trees. The hotel is equipped with a bar, breakfast terrace with sea view, swimming pool, pool bar, free internet wifi, conventions with the best restaurants on the island, and more. Please read the Services page for more information. The rooms are divided into Classic, Superior, Deluxe and Junior Suite, all with private safe, minibar, hairdryer and air conditioning. Here you can spend some wonderful time in a warm and welcoming oasis of relaxation and wellbeing. This is the ideal place for anyone looking for a very special and romantic holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Villa Enrica - Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Enrica Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing