We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Quiet Family Hotel Directly on the Sea Shore”
Review of Rocce Azzurre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rocce Azzurre
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Lipari
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Small Quiet Family Hotel Directly on the Sea Shore”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

A small hotel a few hundred metres from Lipari town. At the bottom of a fairly steep slope that gets the circulation going each morning. Most rooms have balconies overlooking the sea and the junior suites have balconies on two sides. Meals taken on an outside terrace overlooking the sea. Breakfast is buffet style but there is service for the three course dinner. Fish and pasta predominate on the menu. There is a nice bar, outside sitting area and a bathing platform. There is no extra charge for the room safe and Wi-Fi is 1.20 euros/day. The staff are friendly. An ideal place to relax, watch the sun rise and use as a base to visit the other islands.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view room looking directly out across the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PairfromThornbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    55
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
26
98
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
taormina
Level Contributor
224 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

just as a break in your yacht. you won't find marvelous fine sandy beaches but a nice small hotel with strong character, comfortable rooms and a breathtaking view from most of the rooms ( make sure you get a room with a view ). Restaurant terrace is floating on the see. Staff is efficient and attentive

Room Tip: room with sea view are worth the supplement, even better on top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dario2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

the staff were so friendly and helpful we immediately relaxed. everyone was so helpful to arrange to visit other islands or help us to move to sicily itself later in our holiday. it was good to choose between lunch and evening meal. Breakfast could be better as there was no fresh fruit (strange as very cheap) or fresh juices. I would still fight to come back for the location and the staff.

Room Tip: higher floors are more private. make sure you get a sea view it is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fionaskilbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This three star hotel is located in a five star location with its magnificent sea views that can be enjoyed from the terrace bar and dining area. I loved listening to the sounds of the sea from the airy bedrooms that are cooled by the sea breeze. It is a three star hotel so your coffee will come from a self-service machine at breakfast, however the fresh baked croissants make up for this. The Food is predominately fish simply prepared. Ask for a sea view room and check for jellyfish before venturing into the water from the diving platform.

Room Tip: Sea view top floor will avoid noise from guests above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Just spent a few days staying with friends. The hotel is in an idyllic location and is very comfortable and clean. Probably the most relaxed break I've had for a very long time. Managed a couple of swims in the sea (though it was a little fresh!) and spent a lot of time just chilling. The staff were all very friendly and helpful with most speaking good English.
Food was OK though not exceptional - could do with real coffee and fresh fruit at breakfast but otherwise it's a fantastic place to stay - we'll be back.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking
Level Contributor
193 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My mother and I enjoyed our stay here. It was spotlessly clean and there was plenty of hot water for the showers . Staff were very friendly and most spoke at least some English which I found very helpful as I speak no Italian. One lady speaks perfect English (I think she was born in London).

You can swim in the sea straight off the sundeck in the summer. It was too cold for swimming during our visit in May.

The only disappointment was we found that the food was unadventurous. Worst of all - the coffee machine at breakfast contained coffee and milk powder, not freshly ground coffee and fresh milk. That is a great pity in a country famed for its coffee bars.

We were told that the hotel is flexible about which meal you eat on your half-board arrangement - so it could be lunch, dinner or even a packed lunch. If you eat at lunchtime, you could then go out into town for dinner to one of the restaurants. See my recent review of Filippino which we thought superb.

You pass a supermarket on the way from the town to the hotel so it's easy to stock up on bottled water. Opinion was divided on whether you can drink the tap water. There is no water source on Lipari so the water is either from a desalination plant or from a water tanker ship that brings water from Naples (we were told).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Hotel is plain and clean; not much in the way of amenities here including no help with baggage. The staff was nice and offered refreshments upon arrival, but the bar wasn't open much of the time we were there. Luggage is handled on your own and there are plenty of stairs. Breakfast was strictly pastries and bread; no proteins. The beds were uncomfortably hard and a "double" is just two singles moved together.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjc519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lipari hotels
0.4 mi away
Borgo Eolie Hotel
Borgo Eolie Hotel
#1 of 33 in Lipari
552 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mea
Hotel Mea
#5 of 33 in Lipari
464 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Carasco
Hotel Carasco
#24 of 33 in Lipari
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Enrica - Country Resort
4.0 mi away
Hotel Residence Acquacalda
0.7 mi away
Hotel Aktea
Hotel Aktea
#3 of 33 in Lipari
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocce Azzurre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocce Azzurre

Property: Rocce Azzurre
Address: Via Maddalena 69, 98055, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Lipari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lipari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocce Azzurre 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rocce Azzzurre Hotel is situated in the quiet bay of Porto delle Genti, 10 minutes from the tourist harbour. It features 32 well appointed bedrooms equipped with modern comfort and spread over three floors. For your convenience the hotel provides a restaurant, a bar and a terrace where you can enjoy the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rocce Azzurre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocce Azzurre Hotel Lipari
Rocce Azzurre Lipari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing