We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superlative treatment of 5 old ladies....”
Review of Hotel Aktea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aktea
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Lipari
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Superlative treatment of 5 old ladies....”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We recently celebrated my friend's 70th birthday in this family-run, friendly hotel on the pretty island of Lipari. Lush gardens with bougainvillea, gardenia and palms lead down to the pristine pool. The rooms are spacious and extremely clean. Our rooms had their own private patio area; the bathrooms either had spacious showers with built-in seats or large jacuzzi baths with showers. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff; special thanks must be given to Gaetano who arranged for mislaid medication to be obtained from the pharmacy and brought to the hotel, organised our return trip (ferry and taxi) back to the airport in Catania and dealt with never-ending queries in impeccable English. Margherita was of great assistance too as was Pieter who ran the restaurant faultlessly and translated the menu for us every evening. The hotel is centrally located so we could walk to the shops and the archeological museum from the back entrance to the hotel.

Room Tip: 85 (shower) and 83 (bath) are on the ground floor. If you want more privacy 90 (shower), 89 (bath) a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlstroemeriaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    105
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
94
131
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Stayed here 4 nights with 2 children. We loved the pool area and the hotel rooms were lovely and clean. The location was perfect! A 5 minute walk to the port and city centre where you can easily take a bus to Canneto to go to the beach. The hotel staff were very professional and helped us with our requests (if you do need a taxi, please ask them to call Daniele - he was wonderful!) The lady at reception was lovely and also gave our daughters little plastic bracelets - which put a smile on their faces! The breakfast was good too. If we were ever to return to Lipari, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2poppets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsascala, Malta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Simply the best... We do recommend Aktea, for it's Location, facilities and staff members. Rooms are kept in pristine condition. Pool area is top notch with bar available all day. Restaurant and breakfast excellent all the way.

Room Tip: Great Rooms, lovely Pool... Pro Staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David_Malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This place is fantastic. Very short stroll (less than 5 mins) into the main part of town. Easy walking distance to main port. Facilities are perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I think the proof is in the fact that I extended my stay at Aktea 3 times.. the hotel itself was great.. very close to the main marina.. only a five minute walk.. always really clean and everything worked as expected.. the pool is excellent and it has an amazing backdrop of some the hillside of Lipari.. i found the pool and hotel in general great when you wanted to excape the actual town or islands for a few hours.

The staff at the Hotel Aktea are wonderful, professional and plesant. I found the abundance of help from staff most valuable as I used Lipari as a base to island hop to the other Aeolian Islands (Isole Eolie), so there is alot of information that I needed and they were always there to help. I thought the hotel served as a perfect base from which to visit all the places I wanted to see and do all the things I wanted to do.

Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Room with a view of the pool is always nice..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

stayed in aktea several times during may 2012 and the location is perfect. the rooms with balcony with seaviews are very nice. the pool is a biger sice and just perfect.
a top rank is the very friendly service by the managment and reception, a very warm service.
will come again after some years.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bebotZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catania, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

The Hotel provides a delightful experience in Lipari, even more than it promises. We went in september, for 3 days at the end of the high season. Excellent location, very close walking distance to town, yet peaceful and secluded. Luscious gardens, excellent swimming pool (unusual: flat floor, all same depth, not indicated, about 1.60 m; no guard on duty, no hours; a really peaceful experience). Spacious accomodation, two large bedrooms for a family with a child, even two terraces. Great breakfast, dinner ok. Personnel very courteous and knowledgeable. Free transfer from/to hydrofoil pier. Can hardly find a flaw!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincenzo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lipari hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mea
Hotel Mea
#5 of 33 in Lipari
458 reviews
0.9 mi away
Borgo Eolie Hotel
Borgo Eolie Hotel
#1 of 33 in Lipari
551 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Enrica - Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bougainville Lipari
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Arciduca
Grand Hotel Arciduca
#3 of 33 in Lipari
316 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Residence Acquacalda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aktea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aktea

Property: Hotel Aktea
Address: Via Falcone e Borsellino, 98055, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Lipari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lipari
#2 Family Hotel in Lipari
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lipari
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lipari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aktea 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From one of the onehundred daughters of Nereo, even before Poseidone the undiscussed King of the seas, the name of the hotel which rises on the center of the sea bank of Marina Lunga in Lipari is taken: “Aktea” the nymph of the sea beach and inhabitant of the sea cost.This modern and prestigious hotel, in few steps from the center ,consists of forty rooms including three junior suite, all with a private terrace.Each room have impressive hand-painted tiled floors, ceramic colors very according to the floors and are coordinated with those of the walls and ceilings, combining blue with white and blue with yellow. The rooms are equipped of: multifunctional showers , hair dryer , natural latex hypoallergenic mattresses, flat screen TV, minibar, safe deposit box,Telephone, internet access and air-conditioning.The Hotel “Aktea” has a comfortable bar, a mediterranean restaurant overlooking on the lovely pool made of mosaic with jacuzzi chairs, one more swimming pool for the youngest , a luxuriant Mediterranean garden , a big conference room with communicating rooms suitable for conferences and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Aktea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aktea Hotel Lipari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing