We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with a pleasant atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charme Hotel Alexander
Ranked #20 of 79 Hotels in Livigno
Certificate of Excellence
Olomouc
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Hotel with a pleasant atmosphere”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The pleasant atmosphere of the hotel is created both by its structure and its location, and above all things, by the hotel staff. Designed in mountain style, hotel Alexander is located practically on top of Livigno on the main road towards Trepalle and Bormio and benefits from a spectacular view of the western mountain ridge stretching from Monte Rezza to Monte Motto. The location on the hill overlooking the downtown of Livigno is simply a perfect place to spend a relaxing holiday. The pictoresque scenery of snow-capped mountains, green Alpine meadows in bloom, watching cows grazing on the fresh grass, taking a deep breath of the fresh and crispy mountain air, provides you with a sense of relaxation.
The hotel also provides perfect starting point for many different excursions and hikes.The bus station is right opposite the hotel. There are shuttle buses operating on the three bus lines, which take you to the starting points of popular hiking routes and cable car stations down in the valley. The transportation of tourists to the popular tourist destinations, particularly during the off-season, when the cable car still does not operate, are organized directly by the hotel. This is very useful for less experienced tourists.
Charme Hotel Alexander is recently renovated, The architect managed to combine the modern style requirements with traditional cosiness of the mountain hotel. We were staying in the elegant stylish suites with two balconies. The high quality materials and tasteful selection of furniture in stylish suite provides guests with a sense of elegance and luxury. The rooms and restaurant have a stunning view of the valley. The place is very quiet, which we appreciated especially at night, when we were able to sleep totally undisturbed.

I must not forget to mention the excellent cosmetic product equippment in the bathroom and pool based on Comfort Zone products). We loved the fragrance!
Breakfast was quite a generous buffet. Three to four course dinner according to the menu. Although the menu was every day the same, you could still choose according to your actual taste from the wide selection.
The hotel staff is excellent, friendly and helpful, always willing to deal with our petty concerns. The whole atmosphere of the hotel invites you to an open discussion with people staying at the hotel. Even with our limited knowledge of Italian, we learnt, that the dining room waiter was from Puglia and his workmates from Sicily. All of a sudden, you meet new people, with whom you can discuss life in Italy or the weather development in the area of Livigno.
We especially appreciated services and hospitality of Miss Elena, with whom we have already expanded our mail order half board.
Finally, I would like to recommend this l hotel even to the most demanding travellers.

Room Tip: stylish suites in the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Antonín M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    115
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
81
118
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Varenna, Italy
Level Contributor
134 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Great Hotel..has all the things right...I live in hotels, and ski Livigno 3 times a year...Livigno has the most amazing ski trail, chair 19 below the lift, perfect pitch and perfect flatness...as a 30 year ski Instructor who knows his Valtellina Wines- the skiing combined with 3 World Class on slope dining options(Costaccia, the upstairs REAL RESTAURANT, La Stuvreeta at Carosello 3,000 and the killer Pasta House at the top of the lift just a 4 minute walk from the Alexander)makes Livigno number 1 in Europe...And I have skiied and loved many other resorts as well...
Staying at the Alexander is an expensive option, but with its incredibly well trained staff and mountain forest zen decor( My Jr Suite was room 204) makes it worth every euro.
I simply cannot wait to return...Food and Beverage gets a solid 8 elevated to ten due to the Awesome view! And the bartenders perfect Spritz Aperol giving it final push to perfection
The beddings were superb, the wioodwork in grey tones, not the usual knotty pine that is in 99% of every mountain hotel and restaurant . was such a pleasant change...I LOVED THIS HOTEL...even the ski room was elegant and the Stainless Steel lockers with the heated boot warmers that STAYED WARM ALL MORNING NOT TURNING OFF AFTER 8AM was an unexpected touch amongst the many that this hotel owner provides... CHARM it is the perfect word to describe the Alexander..how the designer got modern to be cozy, and incorporate leaf texture to replace all the areas where stone would be normaly is just amazing, and you read correctly the carpeting is a wood design and all the hard surfaces look like Autumn leaves changing color...My apartment on Lake Como was on Italian TV last year, so I understand a thing or two about design, but this is a new frontier!
Bravissimo !!!!!!!!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Tourmanager61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
151 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We were travelling with some friends coming from different areas (South Africa, Austria and Switzerland to be precise) and had decided on Livigno due to other friends raving about the place.
We quickly checked Tripadvisor and Booking.com and liked the description and pictures of the Alexander hotel and simply booked.
Always a bit tricky, we have had disappointments before but luckily this was absolutely not the case this time.
The reception staff was very friendly and welcoming, the interior is warm, the pool/wellness area with sauna, jacuzzi and steam bath is great and the food is excellent.
The breakfast buffet is one of the best I ever enjoyed while skiing, the rooms are cosy and well equipped (hair dryer, safe etc) and let's not forget the nice skiboot heating in your ski locker, very nice!
We had dinner in the hotel twice which was excellent, and they have happy hours for both cofee and cake or for drinks (the latter with a small antipasti buffet where you can help yourself).

We loved Livigno as a resort, friendly people everywhere and again, that GREAT GREAT Italian food galore, what a treat!
The skiing conditions for this time of the year (mid-March) were excellent and the prices in the hotel for rental of equipment very reasonable.
If I can come up with anything negative to say -and it's hard- I would just mention that for people without a car (we travelled to Livigno with friends in their car, but they left a couple of days before us so we had no transport) the Alexander hotel is not very central. There are free ski buses until about 8pm, and taxis aren't expensive though.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor, the elevator only goes up to the 3rd floor. Was not a problem for us at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyingGonzo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skanor, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Livigno offer a great familiar feeling of being home. And to be in the care of the staff at Charm Hotell Alexander was a fantastic experience. The Spa, the restaurant, and the location on the hill looking over the downtown of the village of Livigno is a perfect spot. Our days here will be remembered for a long time in our family. A must recommend

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qawra, Malta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This was a lovely hotel that had great service! The look and layout of the hotel itself was very warm and welcoming and the staff was very helpful in every way! Even though we had a short stay, the room provided was very nice, clean and well heated. Wifi coverage was very good throughout the hotel and the abundant, fresh morning breakfast topped it all! The location was a 10mins walking distance to the center and just opposite a bus stop. Private parking was also available free of charge! Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanscerri87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vosselaar, Belgium
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Visited the hotel as part of an organised skiïng trip with a Belgian travel agency. The hotel lies a bit remote (is not always a bad thing) and above the city of Livigno. You need a bus to go to the center. Busstop in front of the hotel. Nearest lift (Teola) at about 5 minutes on foot or by bus to the Motolino. Hotel is very clean. Staff at reception not extremely friendly. We had a standard room at the front of the hotel. I think we had a family room because it had an extra couch (sleeps for 2). Rooms can be very warm (you can not swich of the heating, only -4°C). Cleaning every day + fresh towels. Breakfast very good (very nice rolls!). Quality of diner was average. Not always hot and fresh. Serving staff friendly but had a bit of a language problem (even with English). Did not use the sauna nor the pool. Heated skilocker with easy acces. Something about the bar: the hotel has a happy hour before diner. Some small food available in the bar. 5Euro for cocktails (normaly about 6 Euro). BUT... you also pay 5 Euro for a normal coke, fanta (instead of 3) or a Prosecco (normaly 3.5 Euro)... WHY? because you get some small food... (this is NOT a happy hour as know by many of us). Wines in the restaurant reasonably priced. The hotel is not bad a all but has soms minor points.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flikkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I have been more than 20 times in Livigno. This hotel, is together with the hotel Baïta Montana, on the top of my list. Very convenient position, in the neighbourhood of the skilift Teola, which brings you immediately to the heart of the Motolino ski area. The place is very quiet, perfect sleep quality. The bus going to the other side, to the Carosello 3000 stops perhaps 20 m from the hotel. The hotel is very clean, modern, has nice restaurant rooms, room for amusement for children and spa & welness centrum. The breakfast is excellent, in buffet form, great choice. The staff will serve you with warm drinks according your choice. Nothing is too much and everything is done with smile. The evening meals are good. The ski room has very well locked cupboards for every room with a installation warming up the shoes. All personnel is very kind, with good manners and very helpful.
The rooms on the upper floor have beautiful view. This hotel is definitely a perfect choice in Livigno.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eva O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livigno hotels
0.5 mi away
Lac Salin Spa & Mountain Resort
1.1 mi away
Hotel Spol - Feel at Home
0.4 mi away
Park Chalet Village
Park Chalet Village
#2 of 79 in Livigno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baita Montana
Hotel Baita Montana
#3 of 79 in Livigno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpen Village Hotel
Alpen Village Hotel
#11 of 79 in Livigno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bivio Hotel
Bivio Hotel
#5 of 79 in Livigno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charme Hotel Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charme Hotel Alexander

Property: Charme Hotel Alexander
Address: Via Freita 103, 23030, Livigno, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Livigno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 79 Hotels in Livigno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Charme Hotel Alexander 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charme Alexander Hotel*** is conveniently located in Livigno (Lombardy), just 150 meters from the ski lift Teola and from the center of Livigno, one of northern Italy’s most famous skiing resorts in Alta Valtellina mountains, in Sondrio province. Charme Hotel Alexander, historical resort of Livigno, recently renovated offers bright and comfortable superior, deluxe rooms and junior suite, equipped with all modern comforts. Standard rooms and apartments located down town, are also available. The Hotel offers Wellness & SPA, Banqueting & Conference Facilities, After-ski cocktails, Evening Bar, TV and reading room, Themed afternoons and evenings at events such as Oktoberfest, Mexican tequila party with music and dance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Charme Hotel Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing