We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hospitality in Livigno”
Review of Hotel Sonne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sonne
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Livigno
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best hospitality in Livigno”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Stayed in hotel Sonne and received truly gracious hospitality from the lovely people there.Signora Patrizia, the owner,makes you feel right at home and all the staff were attentive and helpful.The contemporary style of the hotel rendered our rooms stylish and comfortable.A perfect little treasure of a find,compliments to them!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
114
184
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

My family just returned from a one week ski vacation in Livigno. Our stay at Hotel Sonne was truly magical. The hotel is centrally located and right at the base of the mountain. Our suite was comfortable, spacious and well appointed. The lovely owner, Patrizia has transformed the Sonne into a little jewel. No attention to detail has been spared and she has managed to combine the spirit of the Alps with cutting edge, Italian design. Included with your stay is breakfast and tea time. Both are delicious. Lastly, I want to just say thank you to Patrizia and her thoughtful, caring staff (especially Roza) for treating us like family and ensuring our stay in Livigno was perfect. We will be back next Easter!

Room Tip: Ask for a panoramic suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 942JessicaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Stayed at Hotel Sonne for a week with my wife and daughter aged 8. Lady Patrizia overlooks all details and makes you feel splendidly welcome. It was like staying at my grandparents' home when I was a child. The house and staff oozes old world hospitality in a contemporary setting. Choose this hotel if you wish to experience old world hospitality and calm and if you are willing to adopt to the very special atmosphere of being in a haven of civilisation. If you are looking for action or require the freedom of doing whatever you want, look elsewhere. Will we be back? Absolutely.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndersA342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We go to Livigno since 1983 and the Sonne hotel was absolutely the best we stayed in.

The fantastic design of the hotel, the great breakfast with fresh fruits, the comfortable rooms, the fireplace that is lit every night, the impeccable cleanliness are all top!
But the friendliness of all the staff makes your stay a real experience: it makes you forget that they do not serve dinner or lunch. After a long trip, the reception is heart warming.

Moreover, this hotel is located in the pedestrian centre so you can park your car at the hotel but in fact you are in the zone for pedestrians.

You can leave your ski's at the heated skirooms with locks but you can also leave your ski's at the ski depots that some shops have just next to the pistes. Since you are next to the piste, the easiest way out is take the skilift and ski to Valandrea so that you do not have to carry your ski's if you decide to go to the other ski area "Mottolino"

We'll definitely go back!

Room Tip: at the back on the second floor you can watch the ski slopes. The first floor rooms have a view on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stayed here in January 2013 for a week. The hotel has been recently renovated to a very high standard and is the only green hotel in the area. The owners and the staffs are very friendly, the food was great, although they only serve breakfast. The location is great, right in the town centre, the views to the slopes and the mountains were amazing and enjoying the views while having breakfast was sooo nice and relaxing. You could see what the weather was in the morning what were the skiing conditions before heading out! The owner Patricia was very friendly and always willing to help with anything we may need help with, also the rest of the staff were great.
There is a mini spa with steam room and sauna which was very handy after skiing.
The main shopping street is literally a stone's throw away so is pretty much everything else in Livigno.
Would definitely recommend this place as well as Livigno which is a great small town with a lot of character and friendly people. I love the fact that it is tax free and you end up buying an awful lot of things before you leave, so a piece of advice from me - take the car!

Room Tip: a room with a view to the slopes is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoana_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

Hotel Sonne cannot be faulted at anything. Great reception upon arrival, very comfortable rooms, wonderful breakfast and lovely staff. Such a pleasant experience. Definitely recommended for all visitors to Livigno.

Great ski room with lockable heated ski storage. Ski in, ski out location. 2 mins from ski lifts.

Only recommendation is that perhaps a couple more English tv channels. Only CNN available.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Sonne-great family hotel in the center of the city. Everything is very close to the hotel, shops, restaurants, ski lifts.
The hotel is very comfortable and modern. It is small, only 16 rooms.
Sonne is the best family hotel we've ever been. And we'd like to come back to this place once again.
all personal of hotel very caring and attentive!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlgaChouliak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livigno hotels
0.5 mi away
Baita Montana Spa Resort
0.6 mi away
Park Chalet Village
Park Chalet Village
#2 of 79 in Livigno
636 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lac Salin Spa & Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Spol - Feel at Home
0.2 mi away
Bivio Hotel
Bivio Hotel
#5 of 79 in Livigno
462 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#8 of 79 in Livigno
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonne

Property: Hotel Sonne
Address: Via Plan 151/C, 23030, Livigno, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Livigno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Livigno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sonne 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing