We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a beautiful area and a very nice city”
Review of Hotel Galli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Galli
Ranked #16 of 79 Hotels in Livigno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Very friendly people at the reception. Spoke more languages. Rooms are in real south Tirolean style with lots of wood decorations. Rooms were clean and bathroom very well equipped. Restaurant serves very good food. WiFi available in the rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank otten4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2011

We (father and daughter) didn't book this hotel but were moved to it by Neilson Ski when they cut their allocation at the San Giovanni further along the valley. It was a great move as far as we were concerned being a better location and better quality.

Overall the hotel was clean and tidy with a good atmosphere and a very good location being opposite the ski school meeting point drag lift, from where you can ski to the main Carosello 3000 or to the drag lifts in Livigno centre. If you want to ski on the other side of the valley or in the main centre, but don't want to ski there, then all three bus routes stop outside the hotel (two at the front and one at the back of the hotel - both only seconds walk away from your bedroom).

For non-skiing activities San Rocco is not as much out on a limb as we expected. It was a pleasant 35 minute walk from the hotel to the far end of Livigno which we did most nights, not because there was nothing in San Rocco, which has everything you would want, but to walk off the evening meal.

Food was of very high quality and plentiful - the first ski holiday I have actually put on weight - with a buffet breakfast and a choice of three dishes for each of the three courses for the evening meal. On a couple of nights we had the full evening menu available to us at no extra charge instead of the package holiday menu, the quality was identical, but the quantity was even greater! The restaurant and breakfast staff were excellent and friendly and the bedroom cleaning girls were very efficient and helpful.

So why not 5 stars for everything. Well the rooms were far too hot for us. Obviously this is difficult to get right as everyone likes different bedroom temperatues. We turned off the radiator, opened the balcony door and bathroom window for a few hours each day (in minus 6 degree temperatures), but the duvets were extremely warm so my daughter even took the duvet out of its cover and used just the cover. OK so having written this I have put the rating back up to 5 as we could, and did, do something about it and it seems rather petty to deduct a star for making us warm, so thank you Hotel Galli, 5 stars all round.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MichaelSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

We have been to Hotel Galli in Livigno two years in a row now and its been a great holiday every time. The staff are very friendly and helpful and rooms very clean and comfortable. This hotel has everything you need for a good skiing trip. Breakfast is good and there is friendly athmosphere in the place.
Sauna and steam room might be a bit small, but are great for the after ski relax.
Livigno has great shops, and great bus links across the village. And the buses are free. Slopes are amazing and cater for all levels.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evulka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We went here for the 2nd christmas 2008 & 2008 and the hotel is like home form home, very friendly and supeb food and nothing is too much trouble for the Brother & Sister owners.

Great fun,Great Food, Great accommadation. *****

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jj1955_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

We stayed for 5 nights (March/2010) on Hotel Galli, Livigno for a ski trip. (room 02)
Enjoyed every second!!!
Great rooms - clean,quiet and spacy for two adults (even 3 adults can manage).
Excellent food (took HB) , each meal was amazing.
Very good facilities: ski room, spa, wireless internet, bar...
The location is great - there is actually a skibus station called "Hotel Galli" so almost no walking with ski equipment. Also ski-rental, supermarket and all other stores (cheapest from those in the center) are near by.
And last but the best, the staff, smiling, helping and professinal.
Thanks to Carla & Gianni we had the best ski trip.
Lots of parking space.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shtoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

We stayed at Hotel Galli from 20th - 27th Feb in room 202 on a ski trip with Neilson on half board basis. We flew in to Brescia Airport. Unfortunately this involved a five hour transfer but did have stop at a services half way. We had lunch there on the way in and a very early breakfast on the way out and found the food to be very nice both times.

I was a little concerned by previous reviews of noise from Marco's Bar next door to the hotel but I'll get to that in a bit.

The hotel is a very good three star, everything was spotlessly clean and we always found all of the staff to be welcoming and friendly and always happy to help.

I thought our room was very good although from looking at the floor plans on the wall near the lift I would say our room was one of the smaller ones. Having said that it still had a king size bed, an arm chair, a large wardrobe (with free safe) and a desk. We also had a large balcony (shared with room 201). The bathroom was also very good with a large shower and a hairdryer.

I have some more to tell you about the hotel and the location but I probably ought to get the noise issue dealt with. From our experience, rooms, 201, 202 and possibly 208 faced Marco's Bar which is next door to the Hotel Galli, have a look in the photos section, it's not a great pic but I took one on my phone of the bar from our balcony and this will give you an idea of how close they are. I would think that this would also correspond to the floors below.
We found that we were only woken by people leaving the bar (around 2 am and around 4 am) if we had the windows open, which we did on the first night. This was because the central heating in the hotel seemed to be permenantly on high. Once we realised that we could turn our radiator off we didn't need to have the windows open and didn't get woken up. Despite all the moaning about this place, the bottom disco bit isn't much to write home about, we though that the more 'pub like' upper level was quite nice and we had a few drinks in there and a good lunch on one of the days.

We were really impressed with hotel restaurant, which is huge and also had bookings from people not staying at the hotel. There was a choice of couple of different starters, mains and desserts but you could also pay a little extra and choose from an a la carte menu. Drinks are not included in your half board though. Breakfast is good, a fair amount of choice but not much for those that like a cooked breakfast, mostly continental style.

The hotel has it's own locker room for boots, skis and snowboards which are also heated so we had lovely warm, dry boots to put on every morning. The door to this is at the lower side (rear) of the hotel (it's on a slope) though and as you are not allowed to go through the hotel with your equipment you do have a steep little side road to totter up and down (snowboarders will probably be ok but I struggled a bit in ski boots) to get in and out but it's literally two minutes. The front of the hotel is on the road that the free ski buses use and faces a short slope (about 20 metres) up to the bottom of the nursery slope. This has a magic carpet which takes you up to the bottom of slope 18 and it's drag lift. The buses are all pretty good and the hotel has a leaflet with the route map and times. Outside the front of Hotel Gali they are on a one way system so it is quite easy to navigate.

The 'Wellness Area' isn't bad, it has a sauna, steam room, and two individual jacuzzi bath things....which we didn't use as they wanted 10 euros each for them. The sauna was good, the steam room was a bit rubbish, wasn't really hot enough and they didn't use any essential oils with it so it had a bit of a stale water smell. You could also pay extra for massages but I'm not sure what they charged.

I found as a novice, not very confident skier, (my second trip) that Lavigno's slopes weren't all that great for me. The nursery slopes are very good but then I found that there was a big jump in the steepness of the higher blue slopes. I booked in to ski school and struggled on the day we left the nursery slopes. Most of the lessons start on the Carosello side of the valley and then go over to the long blue (7km) on the top of the opposite side (Mottolino). Probably for most people, it will be fine but as I'm not very confident I struggled a bit. Although the slope is wide, there are some steep bits. On the last day I found a very short blue next to the gondola going up to Carosello 3000 which was great to build up confidence. Anyone of intermediate standard will love it and you can't dispute that it is a very pretty valley. Having said all that, I thought the standard of lessons was still really good. They seemed to go to great lengths to give you tips to help you grasp the basic techniques with a lot of examples and explanations which when you are learning helped massively.

We also took part in a few excursions whilst we were there....the most memorable being skidoo driving on the frozen lake and a rather boozy but fun eveing at a piste side cafe called Tea Bork where you are towed up on the back of a skidoo and walk back down by torch light.

Oh, the hotel also has WIFI but it's charged for. With an iphone and a WIFI supported Blackberry we struggled to pick it up but there are internet points a few hundred metres up the road at Foto G.

I would certainly recommend it and would say that the transfer is worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Viator77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Stayed there for a week in half term, the staff were extremely helpful and kind very good with the children. The food was superb especially the evening meal which you choose from 3 starters mains and deserts (different every night). Great location 1 minute walk to ski school and slopes with bus stop right outside the hotel. Good fitness room although you have to pay for the jacuzzi which it dosen't tell you in the brochure. We had the attic room which was very nice although being 6ft i did wack my head a couple of times! Over all a supurb holiday fantastic Hotel and great sunny resort.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aceboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livigno hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Astra
Hotel Astra
#24 of 79 in Livigno
338 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Francesin
Hotel Francesin
#17 of 79 in Livigno
179 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#11 of 79 in Livigno
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Charme Hotel Alexander
Charme Hotel Alexander
#19 of 79 in Livigno
324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpi
Hotel Alpi
#15 of 79 in Livigno
280 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Spol - Feel at Home
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galli

Address: Via Saroch 569, 23030, Livigno, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Livigno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Livigno
#11 Spa Hotel in Livigno
#16 Family Hotel in Livigno
#21 Romantic Hotel in Livigno
Price Range: £79 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galli 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Galli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galli Hotel Livigno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing