We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very warm welcome given to our motley crew”
Review of Hotel La Montanina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Montanina
Ranked #61 of 79 Hotels in Livigno
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very warm welcome given to our motley crew”
Reviewed 24 March 2011

The Hotel staff were very friendly and able to accomadate the 2 fussy eaters in our party.

Some of us stayed in an apartment above Miky's bar - which was great, a bit noisey but so long as you shut the shutters and used ear plugs (always essential on a skiing trip anyway with our crowd) it did not disturb too much and the extra accomodation was worth the minor inconvenience.

The breakfast buffet was very large and varied

The evening meal was 4 courses with choices to suit our fussy eaters and they even made an omelette one night to keep them happy. They were truly spoiled.

Anna Marie is an exceptional lady and could not do enough to please us.

I will have no qualms about going back there sometime

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skier-2011-03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    56
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
57
36
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

This hotel was recommended to my partner and I by family members who had previously stayed there...eg my parents stayed there in January.

The hotel is situated in the main heart of Livigno. It is a few minutes walk from the ski slopes and ski school, and it is just off the main pedestrianised road full of shops, restaurants, and bars. The atmosphere around this part of Livigno is superb..... I have been to Livigno about 12 times before and nowadays always stay around this area.

The hotel has a warm friendly feel to it, and has much rustic charm. The restaurant is tasteful and atmospheric. The buffet breakfast were great, as too was the salad bar and large array of sweets to choose from. The hotel owner and her family eat in the same restaurant along with the guests, which we thought was really nice.

The bar area was perfect for sitting around before/after the meal, perhaps playing cards or talking to other guests.

The staff are all so friendly. The owner, Anna-Maria is such a nice lady, and her children (all of whom are grown up now) work in the hotel too. We were made to feel very welcome indeed.

The hotel is next to Mikys Bar. We were staying on the top floor of the hotel and could just about hear the music at night, but this was not enough to keep us awake. I do not know what the other floors/rooms were like.

To sum up.... we really enjoyed staying in this hotel and would definately consider going back there again.

Simon and Nina

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon_Oxfordshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We were recommended this hotel by a friend who has stayed there several times over the past decade. It seesm that it has now changed to a young persons hotel as it is impossible to sleep due to Miky's bar being situated under the hotel. The music was good but you are not able to sleep until 3am due to to the noise and fights outside. We discussed this with the owner Anna Maria but she basically said well that's Miky for you... Real shame. Would have been a nice hotel once.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank centrifugeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DERBYSHIRE
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2010

We have stayed in this hotel for around 18 yrs and we have seen many changes and I am glad to report that this year is no exception, first thing we noticed was the new bed but I wish they would change the pillows for feather ones instead of the hard flock ones that most hotels in this area use, we always bring our own and leave them so they should have enough to kit most of the rooms out. This is not a dig at them it is what we are used to. The other change was the food, it was superbe their son is the chef and the menu each night was fantastic (it was good before but now wow ) so all in all a great place to spend your winter holls. To sum it up great holiday a must for the young at heart.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BIG-TREV-DERBYSHIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2010

Having been to Livigno many times over the past 20 years and stayed in a variety of hotels, we were all very impressed with the family run Montanina. Our group ranged from 7 to 72 years old and all 9 family members loved the hotel. It is a great location, only a short walk from Lift 23 and the ski school meeting place. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the food of a good standard and cleanliness standards high. The hotel has a very friendly, family run feel to it and is cosy and rustic in it's feel. Miky's bar is located in the basement - great if you like a bit of lively apres ski. We heard no noise from it at all during our stay, so any prior concerns we had about the noise were completely unfounded. We would not hesitate in staying there again and recommending this lovely hotel to anyone else.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paella_Cooling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malta
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2009

This is a very cosy and central family run hotel, staff are very friendly and it is just on top of Miky's pub which has to be the best pub in town!

  • Liked — The staff and the bar
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank odeassdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2008

The hotel is in a good position for the ski ski and ski hire only a 5 minute walk so avoided the crowded free buses in the resort.

The rooms were clean and comfortable (pillows needed a little bit getting used to - hard or lumps of concrete as my daughter described them but not a real problem).

Good buffet breakfast to stock up on before hitting the slopes, available from 7.30 - 9.30.

We booked half board - evening meal available from about 7.30pm - 4 courses each evening with 3 choices for the 2nd and 3rd course, a selection of deserts available each evening.

Staff very welcoming and wanting you to enjoy your stay. One of our group was given different meals depending what was on offer with no problems.

Several of the staff speak English well enough to help us with our extremely limited Italian.

This is a family run hotel with all the rustic charm but with all the necessary comforts for a holiday, whatever your age or needs.
I would definitely recommend ...providing you are not looking for an ultra modern base.
I would love to go again and be more confident of my ability on the slopes!!!
I would book this hotel again - (our group consisted of 3 23 yr olds and 1 50 something!!)

  • Liked — Location and standards
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsmc57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livigno hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#9 of 79 in Livigno
456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#24 of 79 in Livigno
521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Posta
Hotel Posta
#48 of 79 in Livigno
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Crosal
Hotel Crosal
#20 of 79 in Livigno
170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Francesin
Hotel Francesin
#14 of 79 in Livigno
171 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alpi
Hotel Alpi
#18 of 79 in Livigno
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Montanina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Montanina

Property: Hotel La Montanina
Address: Via Pienz 58, 23030, Livigno, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Livigno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Livigno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Montanina 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Montanina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Montanina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing