We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Piccolo Tibet
Ranked #47 of 79 Hotels in Livigno
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 4 April 2008

Just got back from a five night stay for 7 adults and 1 child in three varied sized rooms. Hotel was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. A good continental breakfast was provided including bread, croissants, cold meats, cheese, jams, eggs, toast, juices, coffee, tea etc to start off the day. Also a free ski locker and sauna was provided by hotel. The location is a 5 min walk to the centre and the free shuttle bus service stopped only a short walk from hotel. We had a couple of minor problems with key cards and a lack of hot water a couple of times, but the owners soon rectified this. The hotel owners were very accommodating.

Probably the best thing about the hotel is the 3 course evening meals which are provided in Mario's Restaurant a very short walk from the hotel. We started with bread sticks, delicious bread rolls with olive oil, balsamic vinegar etc, then there was a choice of three starters (including soup or pasta), a choice of three main meals followed by either a dessert, fresh fruit salad or ice cream. Both the food and the service was extremely good.

The only thing that would put us off going back to Livigno was that we felt there were not enough shuttle buses provided. When a bus did arrive at a stop, there would be a big surge of people to get a space on the bus, and inevitably this would cause some anger and problems especially when some people who had just arrived at the stop would push in front of those who had been waiting patiently. To be fair however, our hotel owner did say the problem may have been due to the fact that we went in low season. However, this problem did test my patience to the full when I was attempting to get a space for my 10 year old daughter, myself and our ski equipment!!!

Overall I would say Livigno is extremely good for intermediates and provides good wide red runs. The lift system worked well without many cues, and the slopes were very well maintained.

  • Liked — The food was great
  • Disliked — Better if a bath was provided to relax in after a day of skiing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madowninguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    59
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
76
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2008

You are sure of first class communications, and excellent accomodation at the Piccolo Tibet. Ercole and Cynthia will do all they can to ensure you have a happy stay. The rooms are excellent, and if you can book one of their suites, they will give you plenty of homely luxuries and superb views, some with massive balconies.
Best advice I can give is to make sure you book the Half-Board option, as you will eat at Mario's Restaurant, next door. This is the second best rated establishment in Livigno, and when you know that only the Concordia is better, you better believe how good the food is there. Antonio will look after you well.
Location means that all your walks into town, will be downhill, even in ski-boots. Only about 200 metres from Galli's if you must, but try Daphne's for a wild evening in the opposite direction.
Great place, great people, great food. Do you need more?

Neil Brown
[-]

  • Liked — Size of rooms
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Shortvehicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2007

A very cosy and nice hotel. We had two double rooms. The rooms and bathrooms were small, but one of the rooms had a nice balcony. Everything was tidy and clean. The food was local and tasted great. We have stayed in Livigno several times - in 3 and 4 stars hotels. Based on that experience and the food at Piccolo Tibet - I would rate this as a VERY GOOD 3 star hotel - above Livigno 3star standard. The waiter was professional and def. a 5 star waiter

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — room size
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank DaneAarhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2007

I stayed at the Hotel Piccolo Tibet at the end of January with my girlfriend for five nights and we thought it was fantastic.

The location is great: close to the centre and within walking distance of the ski lifts and pistes. If you're a beginner, piste 18 is a good start, by the way. Livigno supplies free buses that do regular circuits of the town and there's a bus stop close to the hotel, which makes it very easy to get around - even without a car. We drove from Milan Bergamo (4.5 hours), but later found there's a cheap coach from Bergamo to Livigno, which would have been a big saving as we actually only used the car to drive there and back in the end. Remember the snow chains if you do drive - Livigno is very high up (the Tibet of Italy apparently), and we had to use chains to escape the mountains.

The room we stayed in was a really nice corner room with views out over the slopes. It was spacious and very clean and tidy and we had no complaints at all.

In terms of facilities, the restaurant was very good. The food included in the half board rate was very nice with some local choices. Because it was so good we ate in the hotel every evening. Breakfast was perfect with a good selection of cereal, rolls and fruit and so on. The restaurant service was excellent too with very professional and helpful staff.

There's a bar in the hotel, which is great for a quiet drink or coffee at the end of a tiring day's skiing. The hotel also provides a really useful ski room in the basement where you can store your skis for free and this saved us having to hire lockers and meant we could just grab the skis, jump on the bus and head off each day.

Throughout the stay, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. There was generally a lovely, comfortable "family" feel to the place, which made it feel like home. All in all we couldn't have picked a nicer hotel, and we really recommend this hotel for couples or families staying in Livigno.

  • Liked — Good service and family atmosphere
  • Disliked — Small bathroom
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank rainymanchester456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2007

We booked our break to Livigno via Fastrack Ski who acted as a 3rd party. If ide have booked direct with Airtours i would have saved £90 on the holiday (lesson learned), however £680 for 2 for a half board holiday seemed more than fair. We booked our ski hire online with a shop in Livingno called Vertigo, this saved us £40. Also I would suggest getting your lift pass when u arrive rather than on-line.

The hotel itself was fantastic. The food was out of this world. Every morning we woke up to fresh fruit, cheese, meat, bread, cereals. Lunch times we ate in the town. We always found a large selection of foods available to us. We dined back at the hotel for dinner, and again the food was fantastic. We chose a 3 course dinner from a choice of 3. Quite often we had a pasta dish to start (salmon pasta / pesto pasta etc), then our main meal (veal - beautiful, trout, lamb) and then a dessert, again fabulous.

Our stay in Livigno was fantastic. Well worth the 5 hour transfer.

  • Liked — Has to be the food
  • Disliked — Nothing, it was perfect
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SarahJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2006

Thera are loads of hotels in Livigno and I am glad I chose this one. It was a boys snowboarding holiday and 3 of us shared a room. The room was spacious and surprisingly well decorated. It was 55 euros per person per night at the end of January, and I was shocked with what I got.

The breakfast was very good and included cereals, toast, cheese, ham, rolls, croissants, boiled eggs, fresh fruit, yoghurts as well as hot and cold drinks.
The evening meal was amazing. I looked forward to every meal. To start they had a good variety of salad, then there were 3 courses (starter, main and dessert). There was a choice of three dishes for every course, and I rated the food better than many 5 star restaurants I have been in.

The family run hotel staff are very kind and helpful people. Livigno is a great spot for skiing and snowboarding. The hotel is at the bottom of the valley in a good location, a car is a bonus but you can walk everywhere or take the bus.

Livigno itself is very nice. Not too many people. There are about 4 good bars/clubs that play surprisingly good music (R&B and Dance). Like most ski resorts there are too many men in the clubs, but there were definately some hotties !!!!

I would definately reccommend Livigno, the only bad point is that its quite a distance from the nearest airport. We went from Milan Bergamo and drove (4 hours).

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Unt0uchable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2005

A gang of 7 of us stayed there in feb 2002. It's a really cosy hotel with very friendly staff. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone going skiing in Livigno.

  • Stayed February 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcgubbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livigno hotels
0.4 mi away
Charme Hotel Alexander
Charme Hotel Alexander
#20 of 79 in Livigno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Bait De Angial
0.7 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#22 of 79 in Livigno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Duc de Rohan
Hotel Duc de Rohan
#31 of 79 in Livigno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpi
Hotel Alpi
#21 of 79 in Livigno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Spol - Feel at Home
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piccolo Tibet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piccolo Tibet

Property: Hotel Piccolo Tibet
Address: Via Rin 420, 23030, Livigno, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Livigno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Livigno
#23 Spa Hotel in Livigno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piccolo Tibet 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the historic hotels in Livigno, has been renewed in years to keep abreast of the times, while maintaining: hospitality and typical warm of mountain tourism and a family management. Located near the center of Livigno, just outside the limited traffic zone, in strategic position during the winter season because of the proximity of slopes and those for the practice of cross-country skiing. In the summer starting point for excursions to fantastic exit mountain biking or a relaxing walk on the beautiful completely flat promenade that runs along the Spol river and the lake of Livigno. All outdoors, an active and healthy holiday, of relaxation. Three types of rooms: Suites, Superior and Standard. Car-park, lift, sauna, bar, ski room with dryer, deals with the best restaurants in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Piccolo Tibet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Tibet Hotel
Piccolo Tibet Livigno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing