We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Hotel San Giovanni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel San Giovanni
Ranked #11 of 79 Hotels in Livigno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Not usually one to write reviews but after reading a few bad I thought I'd share, having just returned from a weeks holiday, I found the hotel cosy clean and friendly, I travelled as a family of 6, food was fine, but I have some fussy children and there was always pizza on the menu if nothing suited which was great for us, everywhere was clean and tidy, also after reading a earlier review saying things had gone missing I can honestly say my kids left iPods iPads phones earphones everything out and nothing went missing, the rep around every evening and very helpful the ski slopes were right on your doorstep and if experienced you would be able to ski down to a few different lifts and back the bus service to and from was excellent and all in all we had a fab week at a 3star hotel which was good value for money and I fully intend to book again for next year.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2012

the barman overcharged first night and we never paid the same price for the same drinks but the waiting staff / restaurant management were a pleasure!! the full board menu was great(i put on weight skiing!)the a la carte was excellent , and if you didn't fancy the full board menu , they allowed you/the kids to order from the pizza menu instead. xx loved em

Room Tip: free bus strops outside.so regular.never waited more than 10 mins
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed one week at San Giovanni for skiing in February. Considering that it is probably one of the cheapest places to stay in Livigno during peak season we had a very nice experience. Easy acces to ski area and ski bus, the rooms were clean, there was always hot water, the ski locker was great, there were always people on duty in the bar and the food was fine - except the coffee at breakfast! If you have money to spend you may want to upgrade to somewhere nicer, but for a budget holiday with children (like we were on) this is great.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

On our 8th visit to Livigno we chose to stay in San Giovanni having had reliable word of mouth recommendations from people who have stayed there.
We were not disappointed!
It felt more like visiting good friends than staying in a hotel. Savio and Armando and their team seemed to be on duty 24 hours a day to make sure every need was catered for.
We went half board and the food was good. You can also dine from the extensive A La Carte menu at a discount or choose a pizza cooked in their authentic wood fired oven.
The ski locker room was spacious and had heated boot rails.
The rooms were clean and were serviced every day. There was even slippers!
Hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donnysirishgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I have been staying at San Giovanni for ten years and I cannot believe some of these reviews. I have always found Savio and his team more than helpful service excellent, food excellent and as for anything been taken this is not true I have left my mink coat on the setee and gone into the dining room and coat was still there when i come out. I am sorry for this guy but truly I have never experience anything like this and anyone I met in my time at Giovannis has had nothing stolen. I just must write this in devence to Savio and his team.I have been there with a group of 12 people many years and as a family other years and this year 2012 I will be back in feb. as a couple. I have stayed at two other hotels and have always come back to Savio. I wish Savio and his team all the best and hope that that bad report will not harm his business that he and his sister work so hard in running. Margaret Ireland

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaretosullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

just returned from Fab week sking in Livigno. San Giovanni great little hotel . V good location for ski bus stops. Food in hotel excellent . Staff so friendly , nothing too much trouble for them. Very clean , cosy, comfortable. Definately would return.

Room Tip: Eat in hotel ! Food great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynnmills17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Just returned from 1 weeks skiing in Livigno, stayed at the San Giovanni. My husband and I travelled with two other couples. This was my husbands fifth stay at San Giovanni and my second. This is a very friendly family run hotel. The hotel has 17 rooms so it's not too overcrowded. Food is great especially the pizzas. Rooms were spotlessly clean and the beds very comfortable. The skiing was great - doorstep from San Giovanni. The other two couples who came with us are very experienced skiers and they said that the resort offered plenty of good skiing. I can't thank Savio and his family enough for all their kind attention and service. We shall be returning next year.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JayneWGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livigno hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Astra
Hotel Astra
#22 of 79 in Livigno
343 reviews
1 mi away
Charme Hotel Alexander
Charme Hotel Alexander
#20 of 79 in Livigno
326 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#8 of 79 in Livigno
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 79 in Livigno
393 reviews
1 mi away
Alpen Village Hotel
Alpen Village Hotel
#9 of 79 in Livigno
1,028 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Spol - Feel at Home
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Giovanni

Address: Via Florin 40, 23030, Livigno, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Livigno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Livigno
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Livigno
#7 Family Hotel in Livigno
#20 Romantic Hotel in Livigno
Price Range: £75 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Giovanni 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Giovanni is a three- star family-run , Alpine-style with warm and welcoming atmosphere . Situated in the San Rocco area , at the start of the ski lifts of the ski CAROSELLO 3000 , and 1.5 Km from the pedestrian zone. The track pedestrian , bicycle and cross-country skiing are just a few meters from the hotel. Connected by a free bus service , both in winter and in summer. Directly on the ski slopes for those who love to ski ; green in summer for those who want to walk or play sports. The rooms are very warm and welcoming , they are all equipped with private bathroom , hair dryer , LCD television with satellite channels , free WIFI, safe, terrace or balcony. At the Hotel San Giovanni stands care for the kitchen directly supervised by the owners, which has among its specialties and international dishes , also wood stove for those who love pizza. Breakfast is served buffet style while dinner choice of 3 menus. The hotel has a small living room, bar, restaurant, Ski rom heated parking , FREE WIFI . Outdoor terrace with a children's playground and free use of bicycles for both children and adults. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel San Giovanni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Giovanni Hotel
San Giovanni Livigno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing