We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great winter holidays!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dependance Sporting
Ranked #8 of 47 Livigno B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Krakow, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great winter holidays!!!!”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed in Sporting Hotel from 25 Feb. - 2.March 2012 with our 2 years old baby-girl.
The hotel staff was great by taking care about everything!
Food was .... awsome!
Double room was small, but just for sleeping - enough.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liu1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    58
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
63
49
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Sporting 17 to 24 January 2009 and had a very enjoyable stay. On arrival we had a choice of 3 rooms between the six of us and on reflection should have checked out each room before we took our keys. We had rooms 9/10/11 all of which varied in size and odour! Room 10 is tiny but no smell, room 11 is bigger but had an odour and room 9 is in between with a tiny bathroom. All the rooms were very clean if a bit tired looking. Everything worked but the toilets are noisy and we found the rooms too hot, we had to turn the heating off on day 2 for the whole duration.

The hotel staff are very friendly and we could not fault the service or food quality, we stayed half board which worked well for us. The breakfast is basic but dinner consisted of 3 courses and buffet. The restaurant always seemed busy with external diners in the evenings and the place has a very good reputation within the resort. Apparently, the locals say the Sporting do the best pizza in town.

The ski room downstairs can be a bit of a bun fight at busy periods as the lighting is rubbish and the room is small but we didn't have any problems leaving our stuff in there.

There is an apres ski bar near the hotel but it is only noisy until about 8-9. Overall we had a good experiance at this hotel and would return again.

  • Liked — The Pizza
  • Disliked — Dated Bathroom
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hot_tequila_brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2008

Livigno is a beautiful resort nestled between the Dolomites and the Alps and is considered a high altitude resort at 1816m (5958ft). The top elevation is at almost 3000m and can be reached using the gondola that reveals some breathtaking scenery.

Whether you want to charge down the 66miles of piste or take your time traversing the top of the mountain on a 3 hour trek there's something for everyone on the slopes.

Due to the area being duty-free the shopping is not to be missed and eating out is also very cheap.

The Sporting Hotel can be found near the end of the resort, walking distance from the bottom of the lifts, bars and restaurants. There are also regular buses circulating (bus stops directly outside hotel) around the resort that were most appreciated after a hard day on the slopes.

It is very much a budget hotel and there are no frills here, there is also no lift and after travelling for 6 hours on a coach from Innsbruck it was hard work dragging the cases up the stairs. This aside the rooms were very comfortable, acceptably clean and tidy and as long as you appreciate that you're not staying at the Ritz there is nothing to complain about.

There is no manned reception here and the staff in the restaurant/bar will be your main point of contact if anything is needed and they are very friendly and pleased to help.

There are no facilities at the hotel other than an equipment store for securing your ski/snowboard equipment so this is not the place to go if you are looking for a hotel with additional activities.

The Half Board food was very acceptable, if a bit limited, but this is only a small hotel so a varied menu should not be expected; be prepared for pizza, pasta, chips etc and not too much in the way of fresh fruit and veg.!

All in all, we had a very enjoyable stay in Livigno and would recommend the Sporting to anyone looking for a budget ski trip. The only thing to be wary of is the journey to the resort, depending on which airport you arrive at, you will almost be guaranteed a lengthy transfer.

  • Liked — Value for money and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Lack of lift
  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nhfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2008

We stayed at the Sport hotel livigno as a group of 6 in March. The Hotel staff were great and I have nothing but compliments for them.
the rooms were a touch on the small side, with no room for luggage to be put anywhere - but they were very cozy and warm. Alas no english tv chanels but we were there to snowboard not sit n watch TV.
Our room (room 10 i think) was right above the side entrance to the hotel and found that you culd hear everyone stomping up and down the stairs at night.
I have nothing but praise for the food, Oh my the food.. I needed to go on a diet after staying there. Their pizzas are amazing :o) Their portion sizes are huge and the menu is varied.

The location of this hotel was second to none, literally climb out of bed walk 10 yards and you are at the foot of the Carosello gondola. Also the ski bus stops right outside the hotel and it was a 4 minute walk to the Ski Schools. - If you don't mind a very small room then I would reccomend this hotel.

  • Liked — The proximity to Ski lifts.
  • Disliked — The room size was small.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiggermadbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2008

My boyfriend and I staying at the Sporting Hotel for a week in March 2008 and really enjoyed our time there. We were a little apprehensive about the size of the rooms having read some of the reviews but it was fine. Yes there are small but wasn't an inconvenience and are cleaned everyday. The staff are very friendly and the meals good and plenty of it.

Livigno is a lovely resort. We were really impressed with it. We're fairly new to skiing although my boyfriend is an experienced boarder but he learnt to ski. We opted for private lesson for 3 days and our instructor Ermas was great! After a fresh snow fall took us off piste in the powder and through the forest. Was such good fun!

Although we were half board at the hotel we did eat out a couple of nights as it was so reasonable to do so. Much better value than heading to France! Apres ski beers also very reasonable - about 3 euros a pint! Great free bus service around the town. Would definitely visit again!

Only down side was our transfer times! We flew to Innsbruck and took us 6 1/2 hours to reach Livigno! There's a tunnel through the mountain connecting Switzerland to Italy and its only one way. This can cause huge delays!

  • Liked — The location - bus stop infront of it and ski lift to the rear!
  • Disliked — Rooms slightly on the small side
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Chopsy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, South Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2008

For those of you who have never skied Livigno before you will not be disappointed with this resort. This was our second time in Livigno and definitely not our last.

Livigno is a high altitude resort some 10000 feet up in the Italian Alps. Livigno is the perfect place for skiers of all levels, but beware it's very, very cold. On the two occasions we have visited the temperatures have fallen to around -20C, so make sure you've got a good ski suit!

The lift systems are fantastic and we found that the resort was fairly quiet which meant that you didn't have to stand around in long queues. Lots of mountain restaurants to keep you fed and watered throughout the day.

The scenery is breathtaking as the village nestles in a valley with rugged mountains rising either side giving you the opportunity to ski both sides of the mountains. The best time to ski is early morning when the pistes are fresh, by early afternoon the temperatures drop and the slopes become icy.

Moving on to the Hotel Sporting. This hotel sits at the foot of the Carosello Gondola, which means, skiing to the door which is great after a long day on the slopes. The staff are very friendly and helpful and speak good English which is always nice when you're away from home. The food is fantastic, we stayed on half board basis. There was a good buffet for breakfast and the evening meals were great with a good choice of food. The staff were more than willing to accomodate you if you fancied something that wasn't on the menu. You will not go hungry at this Hotel!

As for the rooms, well that's another story! These have got to be the smallest rooms we have ever stayed in, but saying that the large twin beds did take up a lot of space. The beds were very confortable, just what you need after a day on the slopes. However, take some earplugs with you as this has got to be the noisiest hotel on the planet! The en suite faclities left a lot to be desired. the bathrooms are very dated, tiles were cracked te shower head was old and rusty and sprayed water in all directions mainly everwhere apart from on you. The bathroom flooded every time you used the shower!

Now onto the worst bit of all, the smell!!!! Due to the high altitude and bitterly cold temperature this hotel has a problem with the drains freezing up and becoming blocked. The smell of sewage in the rooms, was at times unbearable! We had to buy plug in air fresheners to try and hide the stench. It helped a little, but in the end we had to admit defeat. It was too cold to open the balcony door. Although travel company and hotel were very apologetic ther wasn't much they could do. Apparantly the local council did attend midweek and unblock the drains, but we didnt' notice much difference.

We booked this hotel through Lastminute.com and got a fantastic deal, 7nights, half board for £259. This was less than half price. So you could argue that we got what we paid for! WE would not have been happy if we had paid the full price to stay at this hotel.

Livigno is an amazing resort. We have had a great time on both our visits here and will definitely be coming back, but not sure would use this hotel again. Unless we got another silly deal!!!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Headbangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2008

Having read some of the previous reviews I was a bit concerned. The rooms are extremely small, there is not an inch of extra room which forced me to be very tidy. The bathrooms are also very cramped, and on a couple of days (we stayed for a week) the drains were a bit smelly.

On the plus side, there was loads of very hot water and the shower in our room was quite powerful. The room and bathroom were clean. And the food was fairly good and in generous portions.

This hotel is fine if you really only plan to sleep in the room and spend the rest of the time on the slopes. If you like lazing around your room/hotel I would not recommend the Sporting.

  • Liked — Right next to one of the main ski lifts.
  • Disliked — Couldn't swing a cat!
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheery_Bye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livigno hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sporting Family Hospitality
1.2 mi away
Hotel Teola
Hotel Teola
#53 of 79 in Livigno
190 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Baita Montana
Hotel Baita Montana
#3 of 79 in Livigno
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lac Salin Spa & Mountain Resort
0.9 mi away
Hotel Loredana
Hotel Loredana
#34 of 79 in Livigno
136 reviews
0.7 mi away
Charme Hotel Alexander
Charme Hotel Alexander
#21 of 79 in Livigno
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dependance Sporting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dependance Sporting

Property: Dependance Sporting
Address: Via Saroch 1262, 23030, Livigno, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Sondrio > Livigno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Livigno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dependance Sporting 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dépendance Sporting is 50 metres from the Carosello 3000 ski lift. It offers rooms with satellite channels and mountain views of the Livigno Range. Its restaurant serves traditional Valtellina dishes.Rooms come with light wood furniture and parquet floors. They include a private bathroom with toiletries. Most rooms also have a balcony. There is free Wi-Fi at the reception, open 24 hours a day. Guests can relax on the mountain-view terrace or in the common TV lounge with bar service. Providing free parking, the Dépendance Sporting is a 5-minute drive from Livigno city centre. The Stelvio National Park and Lake Livigno are 6 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Dependance Sporting reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing