We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely host, great breakfast but too close to a busy road!”
Review of The Auberge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Auberge
Ranked #1 of 1 Yaxley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We had a recent short stay at The Auberge had a nice room and lovely breakfast but unfortunately accommodation was very close to a busy road so sleep disturbed by traffic noise on both Saturday and Sunday night which was a shame.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynmullally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

This is a truly 'owner managed' hotel, with the owners and her family visibly in touch with the needs of all visitors.
The rooms are lovely and homely, great showers, furnishings and peaceful. Huge comfy beds.
Its a small hotel so the perfect antidote to the 'corporate' experience, yet with everything you might need to do business. Wi-fi, desk in the room etc.
Food is delicious, its more a restaurant with rooms, but sit in the restaurant at any time of day to work or chill and there is always a warm welcome ...or you are left in peace- as you prefer.
I don't like working away from home when it involves an overnight stay, but I truly look forward to staying over here when I am needing to stay over in the area. Don't overlook it!

Room Tip: Its near the main road - but great blackout curtains and double glazing so don't be put off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarinaandStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Yes - It was a most enjoyable stay and NO - It wont be long before I try and go back.

As a result of other reviews on here we booked for two nights full board and were not disappointed. I am very tall and asked for a room with a large bed - Room No.1 certainly has a King size comfortable bed and was immaculate. This room is ground floor with wide access and is very 'disability friendly' with a large 'wet room' However be warned that the wardrobe is much lower than might be expected as is the handbasin, the easy chairs are very low. Not really ideal for a tall person.

The room had a comprehensive courtesy tray incl. biscuits, peanuts, water etc.

The food was exceedingly good and half board allows you to choose from an 'A La Carte' or fixed menu so plenty of choice. The restaurant atmosphere feels very French and intimate and one wall is covered in rewards they have justifiably earned. In the room is a tick card so you can pre-order your breakfast for the next day. They will cater for vegetarian. I tend to judge breakfasts by the coffee provided and this was very much to my liking.

The atmosphere is very relaxed but professional, we left feeling as if we had left family or dear friends behind.

Not bthe very best place I have stopped but on a balance of cost/location/quality/charm etc then it deserves 5*.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterDunmow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed from 7th feb until 9th it was a birthday treat from my parents. My room was a four poster with large bath, everything was perfect , my parents and I enjoyed the food and found the owners and staff all to be most welcoming. I would highly recommend staying here, we hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Firstly no swimming pool to rate, but it's showing above unjustified rating. Highly recommend ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed one night this week on DBB for a special treat. Our room (12) had a four poster bed which was very comfortable. The shower was large and the white towels thick and luxurious. There were lots of small extras such as sweets, bottled water and complementary peanuts in the room. The heating/cooling was on an individual room basis, which was very nice! Our dinner and breakfast were excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

An outstanding hotel and restaurant not too far from Diss on the Ipswich road this is a real "jewel"

Clean, comfortable spacious and well supplied rooms with huge comfy beds make this an ideal place to use as a base for exploring East Anglia.

Great food and really friendly owmers make it the perfect place to stay so don't look anywhere else.

Room Tip: We were in room 4 and with walk in shower, and huge bed this was first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikiandphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

You must come and have a meal here, you won't regret it. Make sure you book in advance.

The owners were just so lovely. They gave us a lift back to our cottage after our meal...and there were 8 of us! They would rather do that so that you can enjoy a drink....this is just outstanding service that I have never seen before.

The chef was amazing, we all ate something different and everyone was so pleased. Food of the highest quality. We ate off the fixed price menu, and this was great value. £25 for three courses.

The atmosphere is like sitting in a nice warm old castle. You will enjoy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yaxley
2.9 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
492 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
1 mi away
The White Horse Inn
The White Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Ash
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Auberge

Address: Ipswich Road, Yaxley IP23 8BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Yaxley
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Yaxley
Price Range: £84 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Auberge 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your The Auberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Auberge Suffolk/Yaxley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing