We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This may not be the hotel for you”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Auberge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Auberge
Ranked #1 of 1 Yaxley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“This may not be the hotel for you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

If you are looking for 24 hour room service, a leisure centre, porters and all the usual trappings then this is not for you. The very proud (and rightfully so) owners advertise the establishment, as a restaurant with rooms. What a restaurant, A1.
The rooms are comfortable, everybody is welcoming and friendly, the price is reasonable, and the food fantastic.
The owners have done a fantastic job on converting a run down pub to a high quality Restaurant with rooms, and we wish them every success going forward, we cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    29
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
80
2
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bourne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We found the Auberge on the internet by chance and what a find. We booked two nights bed and breakfast and booked a table for dinner on the first night. On arriving we took the opportunity to grab a bit of lunch in the restaurant. The baguettes are an entire meal in themselves...highly recommended. The bedroom was decorated wonderfully and the four poster bed both looked great and was very comfy. The room was very clean and tidy and the owners had thought of everything that should be in a guest room. Dinner was superb. We both had steak and it was cooked to perfection. I tried the bread and butter pudding with passion fruit sauce for dessert and it was so good that my partner wanted to take it off me. Breakfast is ordered the day before and is cooked to the time of your choice. Again, it is cooked to a fantastic standard. The only negative thing I can think of is that we could hear the traffic from the room...but seeming as the property has been by the side of the road for the last few hundred years and has been host to many, many travellers, it's a small price to pay. My advice would be to enjoy a meal in the restaurant and a glass or two of wine and there'll be no problem getting to sleep. My final thanks are to the owners and staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them and we felt like more than just a paying guest. We are already looking forward to our next stay at the Auberge!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the auberge for one night and it was worth. Lovely four poster bed and great waterfall shower.
Breakfast was really nice so all in all a nice romantic place to stay overnight.
Plan to pop here and try the restaurant out in the near future.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank debsandneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

A friend had recommended the food here, so we decided to try it out for my partners birthday and make a night of it by staying over. It was truly wonderful. The room complete with comfortable four poster bed and Chaiselonge was very tastefully decorated to a high standard. It was large and spacious with air conditioning but also extremely quiet and peaceful. The bathroom was a good size with a wonderful double shower, fluffy towels and full size toiletries.
The food was excellent quality and included in the stayover deal. My partners steak was cooked to perfection and my skate was really tasty. We opted for a bottle of Champagne to celebrate the evening and were pleasantly surprised at the £35 cost.
Breakfast the following morning was delicious having made our choices the night before.
Everything was truly delightful and we will be back for another visit.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alison Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We attended an 18th birthday party at the Auberge. They opened specially and provided a set menu with a good choice including veggie and gluten free options. The food and service were excellent, the staff worked hard to ensure we all had a good time.

There is a good wine list and rooms although we were not stopping over.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Butlerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Went here for lunch with friends, such a welcome greeting, had Salmon in white wine for main with lovely fresh vegetables and mashed potatoes, and for sweet I had a lemon sponge with a pot of cream which was just to die for, I loved it.

Very reasonable price, lovely service, cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

It is very difficult it seems to find a decent restaurant in East Anglia. We ate for the first time there last Saturday evening and found the food and the service to be excellent and can say it is the best restaurant we have found in East Anglia. The Maitre d' has some French influence having been taken to Reims and Epernay as a child and it does show.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cooperman503907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yaxley
2.8 mi away
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
19.1 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Scole Inn
Scole Inn
#1 of 1 in Scole
3.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
24.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Park hotel
The Park hotel
#1 of 4 in Diss
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Auberge

Property: The Auberge
Address: Ipswich Road, Yaxley IP23 8BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Yaxley
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Yaxley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Auberge 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Auberge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Auberge Suffolk/Yaxley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing