We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting establishment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cristal Palace Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel with some friends for a long ski weekend.
A pleasant hotel with good staff but a little out of town and can only get to the slopes by using their shuttle van service, which is not always very timely! ( if you walk to town you have to walk along a busy road).
Although spa is generally good it was over run with kids when we stayed, also the gym is both very small and overly warm.
Apart from access issues, the biggest negative of this hotel is their bar. The drinks must be some of the most expensive in Italy!!! Also the bar can be very noisy when the hotel owner 'treats' his guests to his crooning sessions, ( all rather bizarre!).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EXEC45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIARAEGIOVANNID, Proprietario at Cristal Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014
Google Translation

Cari Amici di Londra
Grazie per la vostra recensione ci definite hotel Interessante. Si, pensiamo di essere interessanti anche in quelle che voi simpaticamente chiamate stranezze quando il Caruso lounge bar si accende d'improvviso con le performance musicali del proprietario. E' la fantasia e imprvedibilita' dell'estro italiano che puo' non piacere a tutti ma in generale noi ci divertiamo tantissimo con gli stranieri. Il bar ha prezzi standard in linea con tutti i 4 stelle superior stagionali.
Un saluto a presto per condividere meglio le nostre stranezze.
Chiara e Giovanni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (925)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 925 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

This is a friendly, comfortable, chalet-style, hotel catering for an international clientele with some outstanding features, but a few annoying details, which could easily be remedied by the management.
Both food and service are of a high standard and the rooms are comfortable and well equipped (shaving mirror, hairdryer, bidet). The half-board at just over 20 Euros a day is excellent value (despite the impression given by the recent report from a Finnish guest). The wine list is extensive with several local wines in the 20-35 Euros price bracket. The deserts deserve a special mention, which is unusual for Italy. Mattresses are on the hard side. The shuttle service to and from ski-lifts is excellent. We never had to wait more than ten minutes and more than once the shuttle bus was there waiting for us at the bottom of the run at the end of the day. Special credit should go to the drivers who fell over themselves to be helpful and informative.
The spa, which includes gym, a reasonably sized swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room and relaxation area is free and excellent. The only issue we had is that, the adults only rule after 6.p.m children was not properly enforced and a few children were still around between 6 and 7.
As for the niggles, the main one was the lack of any quiet public area. The bar and lounge is one large room which is used for very loud live music (Italian crooning à la Berlusconi) in the evenings and the rest of the time any conversation is drowned out by video clips playing from a giant screen.
The internet connection is a disaster. The hotel advertises free wifi in rooms, which is technically correct. However, what they don’t tell you is that reception is so weak and intermittent that it is virtually useless. I was using an iPad and found it impossible to obtain a consistent connection. My friend had the same problem with his pc. The wifi signal in the public rooms is not much better. Even the pc which the hotel makes available to guests is unbelievably slow. If you need good internet connection during your holiday, use a mobile phone server or find another hotel.
Other minor problems were refusal to serve tap water in the restaurant (We don’t have any tap-water!), unclear pricing on extras – we requested boiled eggs for breakfast instead of the scrambled eggs which were available in the buffet. No mention of an extra charge, until we found that 10 Euros had been added to our bill - 5 Euros per egg! Hot water and a selection of tea bags are is available at the dinner buffet, but if you serve yourself with a cup and are spotted, you get charged an additional 3 Euros. These charges should be made much clear (or even better, boiled eggs and tea should be included in the price).
This is a hotel which caters for families with young children, so don’t expect peace and quiet at meal-times or in the evenings. For the noise-tolerant, it has much to offer, especially the food and good-humoured and helpful staff.
One final plea to the management, if you insist on playing classical music as background at breakfast and in the spa area, could you please invest in some new cds or downloads. Listening to the same Beethoven piano concertos day in, day out becomes a little tedious after a while!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilldweller042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIARAEGIOVANNID, Proprietario at Cristal Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014
Google Translation

Gentili Ospiti Grazie per la vostra recensione ,abbiamo letto qualche disappunto sull'informazione dei prezzi e vogliamo precisare per chi ci legge che oltre all'abbondante bouffet delle colazioi c'e' su ogni tavolo una carta per extra uova a la carte con relativi prezzi mentre le uova bollite sono su richiesta e non si pagano.Per la wifi abbiamo potenziato ulteriormente tutti i piani visto il grande traffico e utilizzo.Ogni settimana il nostro albergo e' un po' diverso per tipologie e provenienze dei nostri ospiti,quindi e' si un'albergo molto ben attrezzato per le famiglie ma il numero di bambini presenti fa la differenza per una certa tranquillita' a volte ne abbiamo 5/10 a volte 20 e comunque vediamo che il Cristal piace moltoanche a bellissime comitive di adulti da tutto il mondo,a volte sono anche piu' confusionari dei bambini,ma le vacanze, si sa ,bisogna rilassarsi e divertirsi e noi cerchiamo di accontentare tutti.
Un caro saluto Chiara e Giovanni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed at Cristal Palace with a family of 4 in Feb 2014 for 5 days.

We drove into Madonna from Milan which took longer than I thought as the GPS drove us via the shortest road - which was small roads for some 150km... Still, even we took the highway back on the return, the distance was so much more that I don't think it was any quicker.

When coming to hotel, we received a very good service at check-in with our car being parked by valet and even skis delivered to room (we did need to have them unpacked from packaging - there is a ski storage room downstairs as well).

The room was a bit of disappointment due to being on 1st floor and snow reaching into the 2nd floor level. I understood that other option would have been on the 2nd floor which is below restaurant and is reviewed to be noisy. Still, kids liked the fact that they had access to snow right from the balcony. The family room was fairly spacious and could fit 2 extra beds. Only other complaint (apart from restricted view due to snow) was that it was really warm; about 24-25'c even though we complained to reception.

Food: The breakfast was relatively good; definitely have had better ones but also much worse ones - still, we managed to get full for a day of activities.

We chose not to have half board as it was 20€/person/day. We ate once at the main restaurant where half board was served but were no ways satisfied for the service nor price vs taste. Perhaps the half board still is ok since then you could have the full course.

One night, we managed to leave the kids into the kids club and sneaked into the better restaurant, the Osteria, behind the red curtain. There we experienced perfect service from Enrico and the food was also the best we received during our trip to Italy!

Kids: I knew that hotel had a kids club but since coming from Scandinavia and kids not talking Italian or English, I thought we could only visit there while parents. My wife was sick on the 2nd day and kids did not want to spend the whole day at slopes so we tried to club. The girls loved being there and managed to talk with the kids club people by using Google Translator on personnel Android phone. After that, we had to allow the girls to go there for 2,5 hours every morning and parent went skiing for 2,5 hours before taking shuttle bus back and pick up girls to go skiing together!

Pool area is a bit small but definitely a big plus as after a day of skiing, it was great to relax there swimming with kids. Kids needed to leave the area by 18 to allow quieter time for adults. In addition, there is a separate sauna area for adults only.

Finally, the best part; shuttle bus! There is a complimentary shuttle bus service that runs people to the village and different slopes. The location is so close that it takes only a few minutes to drive to each of those. Since there were quite a lot of people at hotel, you sometimes needed to wait a few min but never too long. The two drivers were very kind but a specially notice about Carlo; he is amazing in his service - my words just are not enough to describe all he did trying to make us feel special!

Overall: Nice hotel where I would not take half board but would definitely come back! Best things about the hotel for our family where the pool, kids club people and especially the nice service from Enrico and Carlo. We will see you again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaartma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIARAEGIOVANNID, Proprietario at Cristal Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014
Google Translation

Cari Amici della Finlandia Siete una bellissima famiglia e ci fa piacere che abbiate potuto apprezzare il nostro miniclub che quest'anno abbiamo potenziato con uno staff internazionale e di grande professionalita'.Grazie anche per i tanti elogi che avete voluto lasciare.
Un Caro Saluto Chiara e Giovanni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed here for a week in February, as part of a wedding party! Very smart and clean hotel, lovely rooms with wooden beams and floors, plenty of wardrobe space and a lovely marble bathroom, ours had a very good shower too! Very friendly staff from the bottom to the top! Rooms kept spotless with fresh towels every day if required.

The food was excellent, buffet breakfast every day with everything you could think of! Dinner was mostly table service with plenty of choice and very well laid out, decent wine list too, fixed starter, three choices of either pasta (various) or soup, then the main course usually three choices here too, then you helped yourself to dessert from the buffet. If you had a late dinner, the choice got a little limited....as the desserts disappeared rather quickly! They were fabulous!

The pool and spa area is small, but fine for a dip and a sit in the steam room or sauna, it did get busy later in the day with families when skiing had finished though, children were asked to leave at 6, giving grown ups the chance for a swim 'in peace' for a couple of hours.

Hotel shuttle was perfect, very helpful and kept very busy, but always tried to be on time and always very polite, lovely guys.

Wedding wasn't at the hotel, but up the mountain, even so, the hotel staff sorted the transport to and from the venue for us and made sure those of us on half board had a lovely lunch before getting ready for the wedding.

All in all an excellent stay was had by all, I would definitely recommend this hotel, the views are to die for too!

Room Tip: Higher the floor, better the view, but all rooms pretty quiet, except floor 1. We stayed on the 6th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Popperoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIARAEGIOVANNID, Proprietario at Cristal Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014
Google Translation

Bellissimi sposi e bellissima compagnia,una novita' anche per il nostro Cristal vi auguriamo il meglio per la vita e grazie per averci scelto per un momento del vostro amore indimenticabile da cosi' lontano.
Un Carissimo arrivederci Chiara e Giovanni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Just returned from a family ski trip to Madonna di Campiglio. Decided to stay at Cristal Palace based on the good reviews and so glad we did.
It was our first trip to the snow as a family, the first time skiing for our 6 and 3 year old and even though the kids club didn't feel that organised (they had a timetable printed but it didn't seem to bare much resemblance to the activities my children did) compared to some other hotels we have stayed in, they were both more than happy to spend time there after their morning lessons. I had to drag my daughter away on a couple of occasions which says a lot seeing as normally she doesn't want to be away from mummy and daddy! We also took our 7 month old as well as our nanny to look after him while we were on the slopes.. the staff could not have been more helpful and were always more than happy to heat milk and food as well as sterilise bottles (we took microwave sterilising bags with us).
The food was mostly great.. could have done with a bit more variety at breakfast and fewer varieties of lettuce leaves on the salad buffet (which consisted of around 6 or 7 types of leaves, some tomato, beetroot and sweetcorn and not much else, which for 6 euros was a bit of a joke)!
The hotel is not in the centre of town but the shuttle service was second to none. We never had to wait for more than a few minutes to be taken to the ski lifts. Carlo was charming and great with the children and came prepared with a sachet of Nutella which he gave to our son when he was tired and upset after an exhausting ski lesson. He even took their ski equipment back to the hire shop to save us a trip as he was going in to town to pick people up... now that's service!
We stayed on the 6th floor in a suite with connecting double for our nanny. It was ideal but be warned.. the rooms have restricted ceiling height and my partner hit his head at least 5 times a day on the beams (he didn't find it quite so amusing by the end of the holiday, unlike me)!!!
The pool was nice but sadly I didn't have time to sample the treatments in the spa.. the only comment I would make is that the changing area was not that spacious.
All in all a great stay and if we come back to Madonna, which we probably will, I would expect to stay here again :D

Room Tip: Don't choose the 6th floor if you are tall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIARAEGIOVANNID, Proprietario at Cristal Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014
Google Translation

Grazie per il vostro contributo piccoli problemi di comunicaziobe a volte sono fisioligici e ci dispiace per qualche piccola incomprensione che avete avuto con il nostro ricevimento che e' sempre molto attento a tutte le richeste. Siamo felici di aver lettto del vostro ritorno al nostro albergo e vi aspettiamo .
Un Caro Saluto Chiara e Giovanni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed at Cristal Palace hotel in February 2014 during a short ski vacation there. It was tricky to pick a hotel in Madonna di Campiglio but in the end we chose Cristal Palace hotel as the reviews were pretty good, the hotel looked pretty new and the location seemed pretty good. I used booking.com to book the hotel room and we had to pay a total of 1168 € for 4 nights including breakfast and taxes.

We came to the hotel in the afternoon in a rented car from Verona and we managed to find the hotel without too much trouble…thanks to Google maps and Google street view. Check in was fast and we got some vague instructions on how to get to the garage at the hotel – we did manage to find it and we were able to squeeze in the rental car. There were lots and lots of snow so the roads were lined by walls of snow. There is a lift straight from the garage to the hotel floors which is great. The hotel didn’t look that big from the entrance but the hotel has about 7 stories.

We got room 602 on the top floor and we were quite pleased with the room at first glance. The room was fairly big and was dominated by lots of wooden panels and fabric “wallpaper” with matching pattern on the curtains. There was a big bed with one duvet which was comfortable enough but Nikki was not that happy with the pillow. There was a small desk with a chair, a small flat screen TV that was mounted on the wall and a wardrobe that had a few hangers – but it would have been great with even more hangers to hang up wet ski wear towards the end of the day. There was also a small safe and a small fridge. The room had a small balcony with a couple of chairs but we didn’t use it. The room had a high ceiling that made the room feel more spacious. The bathroom included a toilet, sink, bide, and large shower corner. It was all tiled with some sort of marble tiles and it was an inviting bathroom. There were some amenities – a shampoo and bath soap in one bottle, a bottle with some liquid soap in the shower itself and a box with sewing kit, shower cap etc.

The internet was also included and it was easy to get online using some of your social media details (e.g. Facebook, LinkedIn, Instagram etc). The internet speed is not impressive but it did the job.

Breakfast was included and was served on the third floor. The breakfast area had big windows facing the center of Madonna di Campiglio and the view was breathtaking as the hotel is located on a hill above the city center. Breakfast was not bad at all with a selection of eggs, bacon and sausages but also some cereal, fruit, bread and of course lots of sweet pastries. And as you would expect in Italy – you can ask for coffee and they make it fresh for you. So I enjoyed some espresso, some espresso macchiato etc. We did not try the hotel restaurant at night but we did have a glass of wine there. I thought it was a bit much to charge 10€ for small glass of red wine.

On level 1 of the hotel there is a spa – it included a pool, a Jacuzzi but also a separate room with a sauna, steam room and showers. It was great to sit in the warm steam room and sauna after a day in the ski slopes so don’t forget to bring your swimwear. There were some rules about access to the sauna/steam room for kids but it didn’t seem like people paid much attention to the rules.

The location of the hotel is not bad. Located on the hillside just north of the city center it gives you great view of the city and some of the ski areas. But it seemed like the only way of walking to the city center was to follow the main road and that can be a bit scary in the dark, with slippery roads and with the road being narrow due to all the snow. There is a hotel shuttle but it is not always convenient to wait for that to show up and it stops running at about 8 pm so you will have to walk back home at night. It only takes about 5 minutes to walk to Pradalago ski lift so it doesn’t take long to get to restaurants and the city center.

The service at the hotel was both good and bad. When we asked for info about where to rent skis we were told that the shuttle would take us to a place in the city center. The shuttle took a bit of time so I asked if the people in the reception could point out where the place was on the map but they did not seem willing to do this for some reason. We tried to call the reception one evening to ask if we could get an iron and ironing board sent to our room – it took quite a bit of time to explain this and in the end the answer was no. The room was a bit warm and we tried to adjust the temperature without success. One day the AC just said “Help” and there were some clicking sounds from the fuse box but it seemed like the hotel staff was able to fix it. But we were very pleased with the service in the breakfast lounge and from the shuttle drivers.

Conclusion
Even if there are some things that can be improved we were overall pleased with Cristal Palace hotel. The room was large, bed was comfortable and the spa was great after a day in the slopes. The hotel is not far from the city center but you will have to walk along the main road which can be a bit dangerous in the dark. But all in all – we would probably stay at Cristal Palace hotel again if we return to Madonna di Campiglio.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gardkarlsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIARAEGIOVANNID, Proprietario at Cristal Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014
Google Translation

Grazie per la vostra premurosa recensione e per i vostri suggerimenti e' stato un piacere avervi avuto nel nostro albergo, un caro saluto alla bella Norvegia.
Chiara e Giovanni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We were 20 people, ranging from 10 years to mature - one and all were happy. The staff were outstanding. Food just delicious. Pool and spa were great after a day of ski-ing. Family-run and professional at the same time. Hotel shuttle (Carlo) was always at our service. My daughter broke her arm and Carlo couldn't have done more. Nightly entertainment was just right. We're going back if Giovanni will have us!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIARAEGIOVANNID, Proprietario at Cristal Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014
Google Translation

Siamo felici che abbiate gia' prenotato per la prossima vostra vacanza,e' una bellissima sensazione per noi ricevere l'affetto e l'entusuiasmo di tanti nostro ospiti e vi spettiamo con la nostra musica per delle serate ancora divertenti e emozionanti
Un Saluto Affettuoso Chiara e Giovanni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madonna Di Campiglio hotels
0.5 mi away
Spinale Hotel
Spinale Hotel
#6 of 54 in Madonna Di Campiglio
772 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Chalet del Brenta
Hotel Chalet del Brenta
#5 of 54 in Madonna Di Campiglio
1,049 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golf Hotel Campiglio - ATAHotel
Golf Hotel Campiglio - ATAHotel
#13 of 54 in Madonna Di Campiglio
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Casa del Campo
Hotel Casa del Campo
#12 of 54 in Madonna Di Campiglio
283 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Lorenzetti
Hotel Lorenzetti
#14 of 54 in Madonna Di Campiglio
594 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alpen Suite Hotel
Alpen Suite Hotel
#25 of 54 in Madonna Di Campiglio
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cristal Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cristal Palace Hotel

Address: Via Cima Tosa 104/A, 38086 Madonna Di Campiglio, Pinzolo, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Pinzolo > Madonna Di Campiglio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in Madonna Di Campiglio
Price Range: £95 - £584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cristal Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cristal Palace Hotel is just 200 metres from the Pradalago cable car and 1 km from Madonna di Campiglio’s centre. Its excellent restaurant has a panoramic terrace overlooking the mountains.This four-star superior hotel features the Cristal Energy Spa, a large fitness and wellness centre with indoor swimming pool.Hotel Cristal Palace offers comfortable guest rooms with valley or mountain views. Each room has Wi-Fi access, minibar and an LCD TV with satellite channels.You will find a heated storage area for your ski equipment and a shelter for bicycles. There is also a free shuttle service to and from the ski slopes, upon request.The Cristal Palace organises free guided tours throughout the summer for exploring the Adamello-Brenta Park. At the hotel there is a mini club and a cinema room with surround sound system.Hotel Rooms: 61Il Cristal Palace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cristal Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing