We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location with immensely helpful owners”
Review of Hotel Montana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Montana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We have just stayed for our second year at the Montana & would not dream of staying anywhere else in Madonna di Campiglio.The bliss of skiing straight in & out of the hotel coupled with the friendly & helpful owners make this a place to revisit on an annual basis.The rooms are comfortable & kept spotlessly clean.The location means it is quieter than right in the town & yet it is only a short walk away to the excellent restaurants where Rosetta is very helpful with recommendations & bookings.Lorenzo even drove us out to one in another village & then we got a taxi back.All in all a wonderful place run by a truly great couple-we felt like we were coming 'home'.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hut64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2011

I hesitate to write this review because I am afraid that once people learn about this resort and this hotel- it will no longer be the "undiscovered gem" which is part of what makes this hotel so fantastic. Its quiet and extremely clean. The bar is lovely and the breakfast is perfectly adequate (cold meats, breads, cakes, yogurt, cereal, cheese, juices, etc). The building is charming and the rooms are well appointed and have plenty of storage space for all the ski gear! There is a spa with hot tub and sauna which guests have to pay extra for. We did not use it but heard it was perfect. (perhaps slightly expensive- maybe they want to consider including it or making it less expensive...) The Hotel itself is perfectly situated for ski in- ski out! You just can't beat that! Plus it is close to plenty of wonderful restaurants, shops, ski hire places and even a super market. I would have to say that the best part about the hotel are the couple who own and run it. They are professional, friendly, full of information and just can not do enough for you. We traveled with our three children and with two other families with children and felt so welcome even though none of the other guests at the time had young children with them. Rosetta organized everything for us, every request we made from ski lessons for the kids ( they were able to have Lorenzo as their instructor - both Lorenzo and Rosetta are instructors) to dinner recommendations and reservations, and even one night ordering out and arranging dinner for us delivered to the hotel! They are friendly and funny but not obtrusive. Their english is pretty flawless. Total professionals! We will certainly be back and will recommend this hotel to anyone.
Madonna is a fantastic resort for adults and kids. The slopes are varied and plenty and the lifts are modern. There are some fab and challenging black runs as well as runs that our children (ages 5-11) could manage on their own whilst we enjoyed lunch in the lodge.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank plutravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

We recently stayed six nights at the Hotel Montana in Madonna di Campiglio. Since it was our first trip to Madonna, we we're of course (anxiously) looking forward to experiencing this famous mountain resort. We arrived the 23rd of December, after 4 hours of driving from the Malpensa Airport in Milano. Lorenzo welcomed us at the front desk, and we were quickly checked in our family room (303) on the top floor. The room was more than spacious for the four of us, and had lovely views of the pistes and the cozy town.

Our first morning we were welcomed by both Rosetta and Lorenzo, who had prepared a hearty breakfast of bread, cold cuts, cereals, müsli, yoghurt, coffee etc. Every morning the breakfast service was just impeccable!

What we enjoyed most was the direct piste access and the family-style atmosphere. The couple running the hotel, Lorenzo and Rosetta, were always there to help us out and give us advice as to which pistes to try out depending on daily weather conditions. The bar and the library were comfortable places to relax after long days on the slopes.

We will definitely be back in Madonna d. C., and will be staying at the Montana Hotel:)

http://montanacampiglio.it/eng/index.html

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misterjbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2010

Everithing fine and nice. Best position for skiing in Madonna di Campiglio. Clean and not expensive.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2009

It was my first trip to Italy and specially to a ski resort. Hotel Montana is a cozy place run by a really nice couple who were extremelly helpful when we needed. The hotel is very well conserved and roomy. Great breakfast. Wonderful stay! We had a great time there.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FernandaThome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2009

A shame as great ski to door location and clean rooms but run by a pair of mercenaries who really don't seem to care about their guests. You get the impression that you are in their way and more of a nuisance than anything else. Everything that could carry an additional charge did eg spa, internet. I didn't see the female owner smile once. Our stay was saved by the great guy who was there for the season to run the bar. We would definitely return to Madonna as the skiing was amazing but would stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharper007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2009

The hotel is conveniently positioned on the main road into the village and just off a main blue-rated piste. You walk a few metres up a slope to the piste, and you can literally ski down this slope into the hotel. From this piste, you have access to a major skilift up the mountain to start the days' ski.

Our room was very clean, large and well equipped for the price we paid, with two beds, a fold-out sofa bed, bathroom and balcony. The owner couple were very helpful and acommodating - they advised us on restaurants and made the necessary bookings, and on one occasion even ferried us all (9 persons) to one place 4km away in two trips in their own car. They are also both ski instructors.

Breakfast is basic but good and fresh every morning between 0730 and 0930 - bread and crackers, cheese and hams, cereal, yoghurts, a couple of cakes, fruit juices. Coffee, tea, hot chocolate are available from a free-to-use machine. The hotel had no facilities to serve food other than at breakfast so you have to eat out. We did see one group order pizza deliveries from the village, and the hotel had no objection to them eating their meal in the bar. We had little problems finding restaurants at any time both on the pistes or in the village, and each meal was exceptional.

The bar was small, warm and very adequate, with a television and a number of games available (draughts, table-top table soccer, etc) on the tables for free use.

The "wellness" spa on the first floor is available at a charge of €15/person/visit, which is not immediately clear on the hotel website. We didn't use it, so I cannot comment one way or the other. Also, the site-advertised WiFi free internet service was not functioning during our week-long stay.

All in all, a well-placed functional and clean hotel from which to plan your ski holiday. Will hopefully be back next year.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Nickcami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madonna Di Campiglio hotels
1.7 mi away
Panorama Hotel Fontanella
Panorama Hotel Fontanella
#23 of 54 in Madonna Di Campiglio
192 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bonapace
Hotel Bonapace
#22 of 54 in Madonna Di Campiglio
265 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#29 of 54 in Madonna Di Campiglio
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dahu
Hotel Dahu
#19 of 54 in Madonna Di Campiglio
371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#24 of 54 in Madonna Di Campiglio
204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chalet Laura Lodge Hotel
Chalet Laura Lodge Hotel
#34 of 54 in Madonna Di Campiglio
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana

Address: Via Cima Tosa 95, 38086 Madonna Di Campiglio, Pinzolo, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Pinzolo > Madonna Di Campiglio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 54 Hotels in Madonna Di Campiglio
Price Range: £95 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing