We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week in February 2014”
Review of Spinale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spinale Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Holywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A week in February 2014”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed in Hotel Spinale with a party of six men during the first week of Feb 2014. There was an extraordinary amount of snow in the resort and the weather/visibility was poor except for one clear day when we were able to appreciate the beauty of the resort. The lift systems and the skiing were excellent.
The hotel is perfectly situated for access to the skiing and also only a 5 minute walk from the village centre. The hotel was very well appointed, the rooms were small but very comfortable and the bathrooms were excellent. The water was always hot.
The staff were, without exception, friendly and helpful. The food at dinner was very good and interesting.
Two things were irritating. The WiFi signal is weak and variable throughout the day and this was an inconvenience to some of our party. The second irritant was being asked to pay extra for fried eggs, porridge,etc. at breakfast. Not a major issue but unnecessary given the overall cost.
We would all return very happily.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAVID B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValentinaPagnin1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Spinale Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site for us for which we are very grateful.
We are pleased that you found your room to be comfortable and you enjoyed the bathrooms.
Thank you also for your very nice feedback about the team who delight in offering the highest possible level of service to our guests.
Unfortunately recently in Madonna di Campiglio there were problems with the Internet line and we are sorry that caused you problems with Wifi. For what concern breakfast, we do offer a rich buffet breakfast included, with only some things with extra charge. We apology if you found the cost to be a bit steep.
We are glad to hear that you will return and it will be our great pleasure to welcome you back.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    163
    39
    10
    7
See reviews for
294
226
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
212 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We selected the Spinale hotel because of its good reputation on Trip Advisor and its proximity to the ski lift. In part we were satisfied. The room (509 Charme) was very well equipped. The style is light coloured wood; there was more storage space than we could use; the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was impressive although the shower was simply an extension from the bath taps and lacked pressure.

The Charme rooms are misleadingly advertised as having "a balcony with a panoramic view of the lake." Our view was the hillside with the ski lift station in the foreground. I should have taken it up with the management immediately but we had a late arrival and were tired. In practice it was too cold to make use of a balcony and the lake was covered with snow. Nevertheless, it is bad practice to make a false claim and I would certainly have been very annoyed if I was a summer visitor. The other disadvantage of our room was the noise from the lift. We were separated by a staircase but could still hear the lift moving day & night.

The breakfast was excellent. Most evenings we ate in the restaurant. The quality of the food and service, particularly the head waiter, Guiseppe were excellent. Unfortunately, both the dining room and the bar are large open areas, totally lacking in atmosphere. Most evenings the hotel provided live music but frankly the effort was wasted with very few people in the bar both before and after dinner.

The female reception staff were very helpful and pleasant. This positive image was diminished by two totally miserable male staff on the front desk.

The skiroom was convenient - it is on the ground floor with its own access from the street - but would be better if there was more seating accommodation. The heating system dried everything overnight.

On a final note, the website invites guests to submit all and any requests to the hotel. Ahead of our arrival, I sent two emails, one requesting a recommended taxi company, the other to confirm that we would take dinner in the hotel on the first two nights. I never received a reply or acknowledgement to either email.

Room Tip: Avoid 509. Make sure you get a balcony & lake view, if you have paid for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnScott48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValentinaPagnin1, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Spinale Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your constructive feedback of your stay at The Spinale Hotel****S.
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed by not receiving the expected room and that you haven’t taken it up with the reception, we could change you the room.
On the other hand, we are happy to know that finally you found your room to be well equipped and comfortable and you didn’t need to change. Actually, it’s true that your room wasn’t the reserved one, but you were upgraded in a Perla room, one of our Deluxe rooms on the 5th floor.
We are delighted to know that you found the breakfast and Dinner in Spinale Hotel to be excellent.
Thank you for your great comments regarding the helpful staff that you encountered; we will share your review and pass on your thanks to the team here, especially to Giuseppe and his waiters team and to the female reception staff who are always ready to welcome with a friendly smile. However we are sorry that you didn’t have a positive impression of the male staff, we can only apologise for this and assure you that all issues experienced during your stay have been fully discussed for not repeating the same mistakes in the future.
We are pleased however that you did find the service and location superb and once again appreciate your feedback.
We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of assistance.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Mother, father, two children aged 8 and 10, a total of 4 persons, we stayed at the hotel Spinal for 7 days. We've never had any problems other than the inability to use the internet. This problem should solve urgently. Or they should not say "we have free internet connection" in the brochure. The ski room needs maintenance and renewal. All employees were very friendly. Restaurant in the hotel was the best place. Service was excellent. Food was delicious. The rooms were clean. The hotel was just behind the lift.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HermanIsci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValentinaPagnin1, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Spinale Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your kind feedback following your recent stay at The Spinale Hotel in Madonna di Campiglio.
We were sorry to read that you found our wirless internet service inconsistent. We will work to resolve this problem as soon as possible.
We are delighted that you liked all aspects of your stay from the hotel itself to the staff and the location. We have passed your nice comments to all the team with a special mention to chef who prepares dishes that are a blend of tradition and innovation.
Please do come and stay with us again where we are sure we will meet your expectations.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Really nice room (spacious, a lot of furniture, two balconies...), but ours was not achieved by wifi. Decent dinner, but not commendable. Breakfast slightly insufficient to this standard of hotel (there were more sweets for dinner...). Lovely staff: patient and super professional.
Ski room seriously inadequate (the boots have never been dried, little space for all equipment, the number of benches is insufficient ... I would have expected the personal lockers. Position is the top in Madonna di Campiglio just a few meters from the lifts, in front of the frozen pond, a hundred meters from the center. I did not like the 10 euro per day for the garage...
So I must consider that at the end is really overpriced compared to other good hotel in Campiglio... weak points: ski room (severely) and food quality.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J2U5H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValentinaPagnin1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Spinale Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for your constructive feedback and for your words regarding the staff: we love to pamper all our guest and we are happy when they can feel it. We are sorry to hear that Wi-fi in your room didn't work and we apologise for the inconvenience caused. Unfortunately it's a problem regarding all the town. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a fantastic week at the Spinale, attending a medical / skiing conference. The hotel location is ideal; close to the town centre and next to one of the four resort gondolas with an adjacent ski-hire shop. Ski in, ski out facilities and a gym/spa/pool/wellness centre in the basement. All the staff were ultra-helpful at every opportunity, from the chambermaids to the manager no task too daunting. The room we had (403) was generous with a sunlit balcony and view of the mountains, it was quiet, warm and relaxing. The public areas are well appointed and the free wifi fast almost all the time. An endless and delicious breakfast buffet was complimented by a comprehensive dinner menu with formidable deserts, all served by charming staff. You will enjoy this hotel, we did.

Room Tip: Upstairs at the front, I think - with a good balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkOxford90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValentinaPagnin1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Spinale Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Mark,
Thank you for reviewing Hotel Spinale. We are happy that your stay with us was relaxed and enjoyable.
Our team is extremely glad to know of your satisfaction with the cuisine, the breakfast, the patisserie but the most important aspect is the service which we were pleased to read met with your expectations. We hope that you will come and stay with us again soon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milano
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We have been in the hotel for a long week end in january and it was a nice experience. The hotel is very close the Spinale cable lift from which you can access al the ski area of Madonna di campiglio, Marilleva, Folgarida and Pinzolo , a paradise for the ski lover.
The hotel is very elegant and the rooms are small but comfortable. There was a large balcony with a view on the Mountains. There is also free of charge WiFi and premium movie and sport on the television set.
The restaurant hall was very large and nice looking. We did not had meals in the hotel so we cannot comment but the breakfast buffet was ok even if we did not like the scrambled eggs and there was not freshly pressed orange juice.
What was really excellent in the hotel was the service from the reception to the maintenance man to the restaurant waiters everybody was looking to meet your expectations.We have to thank the staff also because they found my wife ski helmet left in the ski room and sent it to us.
However I have to put in evidence two issues that i found in the hotel :
There is only one lift and in busy hours the waiting time may be long. Very often I had to use the freight elevator to avoid waiting
According to us there was a problem in the exhaust system in the bathroom. At the reception we where told that the exhaust system is centralised and operates automatically every 45 minutes. I would suggest to reduce drastically the interval between operations.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MilanoSwimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValentinaPagnin1, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Spinale Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your careful review about your stay and for sharing your experience at Spinale Hotel with the other Tripadvisor users. It is a great honor for us to know that the most satisfying aspect was the Staff service. Our main purpose is to fulfill the guest’s expectations and needs, and we cannot but be pleased with the fact that we achieved this goal. We also thank you for your precious suggestions which help us improving and offering an always better service,
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Stayed for 4 nights with our 2 teenaged boys,

Pros:
Excellent location - right next to the ski lifts and 5 mins walk from the village centre square.
Excellent Service - Natalia was very helpful at the front desk. Service staff at the restaurant are very friendly and attentive.
Food quality -breakfast and dinner is very good.
The front desk also connected us to the national ski school and helped arrange an English speaking ski instructor.

No real drawbacks, other than room sizes being very small, but then, one has to remember that this is a small ski village resort and NOT a beach resort.

We booked two interconnecting rooms for our family of 4. Both rooms had spacious balconies. Underground parking provided for 15. Euros per day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guitarguru70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madonna Di Campiglio hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Chalet del Brenta
Hotel Chalet del Brenta
#5 of 54 in Madonna Di Campiglio
944 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cristal Palace Hotel
Cristal Palace Hotel
#9 of 54 in Madonna Di Campiglio
860 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Casa del Campo
Hotel Casa del Campo
#12 of 54 in Madonna Di Campiglio
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cerana Relax Hotel
Cerana Relax Hotel
#7 of 54 in Madonna Di Campiglio
291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Diana
Boutique Hotel Diana
#1 of 54 in Madonna Di Campiglio
332 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gianna
Hotel Gianna
#8 of 54 in Madonna Di Campiglio
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spinale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spinale Hotel

Property: Spinale Hotel
Address: Via Monte Spinale 39, 38086 Madonna Di Campiglio, Pinzolo, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Pinzolo > Madonna Di Campiglio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Madonna Di Campiglio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Spinale Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just next door to the Schumacher’s ski slope and the Monte Spinale high-speed gondola station, and at walking distance from the centre of Madonna di Campiglio, the Spinale Hotel welcomes you with its warm and exclusive atmosphere, a place where tradition is combined with high standards of service and a refined cuisine. Nestled in the stupendous valley between the Brenta Dolomites, a UNESCO World Heritage site, and the glaciers of Adamello and Presanella at an altitude of 1550 metres, Madonna d Campiglio is today most certainly Italy’s number one ski resort as well as one of the most important resorts in the Alps. The Spinale Hotel, has been awarded with the Adamello Brenta Nature Park Ecolabel, for its sustainability efforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Spinale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing