We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very inexpensive to eat here but don't have sea food”

Il Baluardo Trattoria & Pizzeria
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very inexpensive to eat here but don't have sea food”
Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

Pizza was ok, i had vegitarian which was 5 and very very inexpensive. my husband had sea food octopus salad and was VERY ill during the night and the next day. The waiter got our order wrong and didn't care, the glasses were dirty.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loveellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    48
    19
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not just Great pizza...lots of other good things and innexpensive”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Great place for pizza and the saltImbocca ( not sure if that's the way it's spelled). We went there many times during our one week stay we would take out most of the time for lunch but also went there for supper one night. My husband tried the steak and really liked it, good portion need to take a side dish as there was only steak on dish. Cheap and good, would go back. Family friendly we had our 9 mth with us.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tania C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
286 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“LoveLy food and cheap”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The pizza was excellent and it is very reasonable. The best place we ate I Maiori

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gisUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Love this place...”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This was a great place for pizza. For one, it was open at 5 pm, so we could eat at a time that worked for our kids. But what we loved was the amazing people here, and the amazing pizza. We got ours "porta a via", that is "to go" and we had it sat on a bench overlooking the Med. How beautiful is that!! We bought drinks to go too, and they supplied us with cups and straws. Lovely people and awesome food.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MontanaProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best pizza in Maiori!”
Reviewed 30 September 2011

If you want cheap, high quality pizza in Maiori, this is the place!

Went to a few pizzerias there during our stay, none compare IMO. Most pizzas are less than €7 (I got a great Diavola for €4!), the bases are that perfect thickness where they are cooked without being burned, and the toppings are so fresh!

We got takeout and walked up the hill to watch as the sun set over towards Amalfi.

Brilliant!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DRAGONZ_RULE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Baluardo Trattoria & Pizzeria also viewed

 
Maiori, Amalfi Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing