We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Maiori
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The hotel overlooks the small Italian resort of Maiori, with stunning, spectacular views along the Amalfi coast towards Ravello. This a definitely a place to unwind and relax, all the staff are professional, friendly and eager to help make your holiday that extra bit special. The food is of excellent quality served on the terrace overlooking the sea. We were lucky enough to arrive the day before the lift was operational and became the first guests to use on the Saturday morning, I'm sure this will be a big asset to the hotel as it improves the access so much. We will return to this hotel as it is such a beautiful place to spend a holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheff868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

The hotel is overlooking Maiori and the Amalfi Coast. The lift has a scenic widescreen glass. The pool is very nice . We had a great evening at the restaurant with all my family. Excellent fish with accurate service and wide selection of wine and ... the best rum i have ever tasted, served with dark chocolate. The panorama is unique and the location is Great , quit and surrounded by succulent plants who really worth a visit themselves. The staff was nice and smiling and did everything to make our stay memorable.Thank You to everyone, we will come back again !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefano D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We had a week at the hotel in mid-July. It was a very pleasant stay, the location is excellent and the Staff is very service minded. We appreciated the private beach very much, and the smal town Maiori is low key, but fine if you are not after glamour. Recommended for romantic vacation!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Beutiful small and romantic hotel on the hillside overlooking the sea. Beautiful room and clean but a bit small. Very good breakfast. Good meals. Beautiful little pool. You have to be a bit in shape to reach the hotel because there is no road for cars but there is an elevator for your luggage. But the 15 min walk is worth the effort. Someone of the hotel staff was welcoming us down in the town and walked with us to show us the way. The staff was very friendly. My boyfriend asked me to marry him and the staff did everything to make it a night never to forget: a path with flower petals and candles leading to a dinner-by-candle light-table in the garden surrounded by candles and flowers. They made a very good lobster menu for the occasion. It was wonderful!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tsxjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea C, Direttore vendite at Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very happy to hear you had a pleasant time at Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro and that you enjoyed the view and the food selection, despite the cool evening.

Also, we truly appreciate your interest in our botanical garden!

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to welcoming you in the near future.

Kidnest regards,

Nadia Manzo
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We have just returned to the US from a vacation in Italy where we had a fabulous time at Hotel Botanico in Maiori. This hotel is, by far, the most beautiful of all the hotels in the area. Our dinner there with our extended family (11 of us) was an epicurean delight! The evening began with a tour of the fabulous cactus garden, many of which were in bloom. There are many species of cactus in the different levels of the garden, and each is planted in an interesting, creative way. Each course of the dinner was delicious and beautifully presented by the expert staff. Of course, the wine selections perfectly complemented the food. On a cool July evening, dining on the veranda of the hotel, overlooking the glimmering lights of Maiori, Minori and Ravello, we all knew we had come to the perfect place!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank 841Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We used to travel the whole world and spent a week in June in HBSL. We have chosen this hotel because of the many positive ratings, but we were really disappointed by our stay.

Positive
• Location of the hotel with breathtaking view over the coastline
• Very friendly personnel at the reception
• Beautiful cactus garden
• Nice rooms
Negativ:
• Due to location at the hill the clerk had to pull the luggage over many steps; thereby the luggage got damaged; one was a total loss.
• Breakfast – same procedure as every day: drinks, bread and eggs were fresh but cheese, cakes and fruits often several days old - unacceptable
• Restaurant is extremely expensive, personnel a little bit arrogant. Glasses of Prosecco were only half-filled, but owner + family got full glasses at the same time. Price of 2 Prosecco aperitif: 25 euro!
• Very nice pool, but used towels were accurately folded in the evening - this raised our suspicion that they were re-used the next day. One day the pool was crowded by kids and friends of the hotel-owner – guests seemed to be not welcome: not very guest-friendly.
• Construction for elevator ongoing, this was sometimes - but not always - very disturbing

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernhard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea C, Direttore vendite at Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback even if we are very sorry and a bit concerned about some negative aspects you mentioned in your review.

We will certainly supervise and monitor employee bad attitudes as well as behaviours not complying with the hotel policy.

The only thing we would like to clarify in order to avoid misconceptions is that guests are of vital importance for us and we can assure you that they are always welcome. If we gave the impression of being unfriendly or arrogant in some ways we sincerely apologise.
Also, the hotel owner and his family wish to make their excuses but they didn't mean to sound disrespectful.

Once again, we are sorry for your dissatisfaction however we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest regards,

Nadia Manzo
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

A dear friend of mine invited my wife and I to stay what he called one of the nicest places on earth. I found out he was not exaggerating! Our visit to the Amalfi Coast can only be described as outstanding!
The location of Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro perched on a cliff above the bay of Maiori was breathtaking. When we woke up on a morning all we could see was the sea in front of us. Dining at this hotel can only be described as excellent with a wonderful breakfast and dinner on the terrace overlooking the sea. The food was splendid and the service impeccable.
I have been traveling almost every week this and staying in lovely hotels all over the world but for a holiday this hotel was the best. The added value is the sporting facilities. A swimming pool and and special fitness area both overlooking the sea.
Such perfection, such detail, one an only find in a family owned business and the owner Andrea Cimini is always presence to help the guests.
We also visited the truly delightful town of Amalfi and enjoyed the village atmosphere of Maiori althought we felt the area around the town hall needed an uplift.
if you need a break and need to get away, this is the place to go......You will leave invigorated.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank johnHCologneGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maiori
0.3 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#1 of 17 in Maiori
1,668 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Club Due Torri
Hotel Club Due Torri
#2 of 17 in Maiori
640 reviews
2.7 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pietra di Luna Hotel
Pietra di Luna Hotel
#3 of 17 in Maiori
481 reviews
3 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,027 reviews
0.2 mi away
Reginna Palace Hotel
Reginna Palace Hotel
#10 of 17 in Maiori
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro

Address: Via Lazzaro, 25, 84010, Maiori, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Maiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Maiori
#3 Family Hotel in Maiori
#4 Luxury Hotel in Maiori
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Maiori
Price Range: £168 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is certainly the jewel missing on the Amalfi coast, thanks to its arches in typical Mediterranean style, the botanical garden, the exotic garden and all modern facilities, such as bars. All rooms and suites are furnished with taste and charm with majolica tiles from Vietri sul mare and hand decorated furniture, masterpiece of Tuscan craftsmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro Maiori, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing