We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful honeymoon destination” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Maiori
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful honeymoon destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We have just returned from a truly wonderful time at Botanico San Lazzaro. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff at the hotel who combine to provide exceptional service from the moment of arrival to departure. We arrived late at night in our hire car and got slightly lost. When we phoned for assistance, the owner came to find us in person and escorted us to the hotel where we took the wonderful new funicular lift up the hill while the porters took care of car and luggage and we went up to the bar where we were greeted with welcome prosecco. Andrea the owner gives a super personal touch. We were then shown to our room - lovely bed, bathroom, decor, and best of all, a private garden balcony with outdoor shower.

The views in the morning, across the bay towards Ravello, Minori and Amalfi are unbelievably beautiful, as is the breakfast one is treated to each morning on the terrace. Dinner was equally superb and all this delivered with great character, particularly from the charming maitre-d Vittorio.

The private beach is great and we found the town had lots of good, affordable restaurants and the cocktails at Matinee were really great. We thought the town was a great base to explore the other more famous places nearby and we did this almost exclusively by bus and boat, including to Capri. It was very easy and the car was probably not needed especially as it can be quite frightening! But, it was good to have it for the trip to Pompeii en route to the airport.

We couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a private garden as these are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea C, Direttore vendite at Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear Guests,

We wish to thank you for your kind and positive comments on our hotel, service and staff.

Andrea, the owner, wish to express his gratitude for having mentioned him, however he did it with great pleasure.

We really wish to welcoming you again in the future.

In the meantime warm greetings from all of us.

Kindest regards,

Nadia Manzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    46
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
54
174
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

The hotel overlooks the small Italian resort of Maiori, with stunning, spectacular views along the Amalfi coast towards Ravello. This a definitely a place to unwind and relax, all the staff are professional, friendly and eager to help make your holiday that extra bit special. The food is of excellent quality served on the terrace overlooking the sea. We were lucky enough to arrive the day before the lift was operational and became the first guests to use on the Saturday morning, I'm sure this will be a big asset to the hotel as it improves the access so much. We will return to this hotel as it is such a beautiful place to spend a holiday!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheff868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
163 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

The hotel is overlooking Maiori and the Amalfi Coast. The lift has a scenic widescreen glass. The pool is very nice . We had a great evening at the restaurant with all my family. Excellent fish with accurate service and wide selection of wine and ... the best rum i have ever tasted, served with dark chocolate. The panorama is unique and the location is Great , quit and surrounded by succulent plants who really worth a visit themselves. The staff was nice and smiling and did everything to make our stay memorable.Thank You to everyone, we will come back again !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefano D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We had a week at the hotel in mid-July. It was a very pleasant stay, the location is excellent and the Staff is very service minded. We appreciated the private beach very much, and the smal town Maiori is low key, but fine if you are not after glamour. Recommended for romantic vacation!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Beutiful small and romantic hotel on the hillside overlooking the sea. Beautiful room and clean but a bit small. Very good breakfast. Good meals. Beautiful little pool. You have to be a bit in shape to reach the hotel because there is no road for cars but there is an elevator for your luggage. But the 15 min walk is worth the effort. Someone of the hotel staff was welcoming us down in the town and walked with us to show us the way. The staff was very friendly. My boyfriend asked me to marry him and the staff did everything to make it a night never to forget: a path with flower petals and candles leading to a dinner-by-candle light-table in the garden surrounded by candles and flowers. They made a very good lobster menu for the occasion. It was wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tsxjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea C, Direttore vendite at Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to hear you had a pleasant time at Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro and that you enjoyed the view and the food selection, despite the cool evening.

Also, we truly appreciate your interest in our botanical garden!

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we hope to welcoming you in the near future.

Kidnest regards,

Nadia Manzo
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We have just returned to the US from a vacation in Italy where we had a fabulous time at Hotel Botanico in Maiori. This hotel is, by far, the most beautiful of all the hotels in the area. Our dinner there with our extended family (11 of us) was an epicurean delight! The evening began with a tour of the fabulous cactus garden, many of which were in bloom. There are many species of cactus in the different levels of the garden, and each is planted in an interesting, creative way. Each course of the dinner was delicious and beautifully presented by the expert staff. Of course, the wine selections perfectly complemented the food. On a cool July evening, dining on the veranda of the hotel, overlooking the glimmering lights of Maiori, Minori and Ravello, we all knew we had come to the perfect place!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 841Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We used to travel the whole world and spent a week in June in HBSL. We have chosen this hotel because of the many positive ratings, but we were really disappointed by our stay.

Positive
• Location of the hotel with breathtaking view over the coastline
• Very friendly personnel at the reception
• Beautiful cactus garden
• Nice rooms
Negativ:
• Due to location at the hill the clerk had to pull the luggage over many steps; thereby the luggage got damaged; one was a total loss.
• Breakfast – same procedure as every day: drinks, bread and eggs were fresh but cheese, cakes and fruits often several days old - unacceptable
• Restaurant is extremely expensive, personnel a little bit arrogant. Glasses of Prosecco were only half-filled, but owner + family got full glasses at the same time. Price of 2 Prosecco aperitif: 25 euro!
• Very nice pool, but used towels were accurately folded in the evening - this raised our suspicion that they were re-used the next day. One day the pool was crowded by kids and friends of the hotel-owner – guests seemed to be not welcome: not very guest-friendly.
• Construction for elevator ongoing, this was sometimes - but not always - very disturbing

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernhard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea C, Direttore vendite at Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback even if we are very sorry and a bit concerned about some negative aspects you mentioned in your review.

We will certainly supervise and monitor employee bad attitudes as well as behaviours not complying with the hotel policy.

The only thing we would like to clarify in order to avoid misconceptions is that guests are of vital importance for us and we can assure you that they are always welcome. If we gave the impression of being unfriendly or arrogant in some ways we sincerely apologise.
Also, the hotel owner and his family wish to make their excuses but they didn't mean to sound disrespectful.

Once again, we are sorry for your dissatisfaction however we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest regards,

Nadia Manzo
Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maiori
0.3 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#1 of 17 in Maiori
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
3.0 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
2.4 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
4.0 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro

Property: Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro
Address: Via Lazzaro, 25, 84010 Maiori, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Maiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Maiori
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Maiori
#2 Luxury Hotel in Maiori
#3 Family Hotel in Maiori
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is certainly the jewel missing on the Amalfi coast, thanks to its arches in typical Mediterranean style, the botanical garden, the exotic garden and all modern facilities, such as bars. All rooms and suites are furnished with taste and charm with majolica tiles from Vietri sul mare and hand decorated furniture, masterpiece of Tuscan craftsmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro Maiori, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing