We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel experience ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Maiori
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This place was like Paradise. We went before busy season started, and Maiori is a quieter place. Felt like we had the whole hotel and town to ourselves. Neat little mini-funicular takes you most of the way up to this charming hotel clinging to the cliff face. Really beautiful rooms with gorgeous tile in the bathrooms. Beautiful patio looking out over the coast, with great lounge chairs. The restaurant was really top notch too. Can't say enough good things about this place, would go back in a heart beat. Really lovely accomodating staff- especially Chiara and Vittorio in the restaurant!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CMaxOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia_HBSL, Responsabile reception at Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your kind comment.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to meet you in next future.
Vittorio and Chiara appreciated your warm comment.

Kindest regards from all tha Staff
Melania Iaccarino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

Spend 4 nights at this beautifully locaties boutique hotel. Aside the challenge of finding the entrance, the experience was super. Very friendly staff, beautifully decorated room with private garden and full breakfast. Well managed garden and pool. Recommendation for a romantic trip

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia_HBSL, Responsabile reception at Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear Guests,

We wish to thank you for your very kind comments.

We are glad we satisfied your expectations for your romantic escape.

Once again thanks for your kindness and we all look forward to welcoming you shortly.

Warm regards,
Melania Iaccarino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel alone for 8 nights following a close bereavement at home, it was a spur of the moment decision to go away and I have to say that it was the most fantastic and beautiful hotel, with staff that are really helpful, kind and courteous.
I will certainly be returning on a regular basis, and cannot find anything negative to say.

Room Tip: I do not think that there is a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia_HBSL, Responsabile reception at Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your very kind and warm comments.

It's has been a pleasure helping you to relax for a week after the situation you involved in.

We all look forward to welcoming you shortly.

Kindest regards,
Melania Iaccarino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Everyone at the HBSL was very efficient, friendly and helpful. Views were fantastic and we liked Maiori as it was less crowded than Positano. Maori has a large beach and a prom which was nice to stroll along although we were told it gets very busy in the summer. Only problem we had was finding the hotel entrance as Satnav was convinced it was up a steep pedestrian path from a side street. In fact the entrance is from the seafront behind another large hotel and a block of flats (not a problem as the HBSL is high up) and there is a small carpark. A wonderful hotel, we look forward to returning!

Room Tip: Rooms on third floor with balcony have chairs and/or deck chairs while rooms on the second floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne06London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia_HBSL, Responsabile reception at Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear Guests,

We wish to thank you for your very kind and warm comments.

We are glad we satisfied your expectations. As regards the entrance, now we have sign on the see front, so it is easier to find us. Any comment is important to improve our services and to guarantee a perfect stay to our guests.

Once again thanks for your kindness and we all look forward to welcoming you shortly.

Warm regards,
Melania Iaccarino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My wife and I are going to Italy (our 1st trip to Europe) for our 40th anniversary. We are in the planning stage and I must say the Team at the Hotel Botanico is FANTASTIC! They have answered emails and each reply is warm and inviting. They have graciously made reservations for us and arranged transportation from Naples Airport and for our day trips. Each email I send is responded to within minutes. Melania, Nadia, and the entire Team should be commended for their EXCELLENT customer service and we truly look forward to the experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank BigMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia_HBSL, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Guests,

We wish to thank you for your very kind and warm comments.

We hope to satisfy your expectations and we will do our utmost to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

Once again thanks for your kindness and we all look forward to welcoming you shortly.

Warm regards,

Nadia Manzo
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Wonderful family run boutique hotel in stunning location, everyone was so helpful and welcoming. The glass elevator makes the ascent/descent easier, but there are still quite a few steps to negotiate, although this was fine for us. On arrival our luggage was taken up for us and was waiting in our room, and the reverse on our departure.

Our room on the third floor was delightful and comfortable, with more amazing views, very peaceful and quiet, the only sounds being birdsong and the waves lapping on the shore way below.

We dined in the restaurant on four evenings, each time the food was delicious and beautifully presented, with sublime views across the bay and out to sea. Impeccable service from Vincenzo and Giusy, and a special mention to Chiara who helped me with my rusty Italian while efficiently looking after us at breakfast and dinner.

All in all a wonderful experience. Grazie a tutti.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JandBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia_HBSL, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your very kind review of our property.

We are so glad to hear you had a pleasant stay with us.
Your praises and compliments have been shared within the whole team.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future and wish you all the best.

Kindest regards,

Nadia Manzo
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Marvellous location, clinging to the side of the hill above Maiori. The town is no competitor for the dramatic beauty of Positano but it is a living, working community and has a different feel from its far more famous neighbours. The new funicular elevator to the hotel is a great experience.

The staff are wonderful and cannot do enough for the guests. The hotel is surrounded by innumerable terraces providing plenty of private spots for guests. Of special mention is the cactus garden arranged over four terraces containing cactii of every size and shape imaginable.

We stayed in the final week of the season and it certainly felt that the place would benefit from some attention. The bath tub leaked, the shaving mirror dropped from the wall, the smoke alarm battery was low and bleeped through the night, and the hi-tech aircon control system was not functioning. All of which rather tarnished what would otherwise have been an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xk140fhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maiori
0.3 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#1 of 17 in Maiori
1,653 reviews
2.7 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.3 mi away
Hotel Club Due Torri
Hotel Club Due Torri
#2 of 17 in Maiori
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Reginna Palace Hotel
Reginna Palace Hotel
#10 of 17 in Maiori
395 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Raito
Hotel Raito
#2 of 7 in Vietri sul Mare
1,029 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro

Address: Via Lazzaro, 25, 84010, Maiori, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Maiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Maiori
#3 Family Hotel in Maiori
#5 Luxury Hotel in Maiori
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Maiori
Price Range: £201 - £385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is certainly the jewel missing on the Amalfi coast, thanks to its arches in typical Mediterranean style, the botanical garden, the exotic garden and all modern facilities, such as bars. All rooms and suites are furnished with taste and charm with majolica tiles from Vietri sul mare and hand decorated furniture, masterpiece of Tuscan craftsmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro Maiori, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing