We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great old fashioned italian hotel and wonderful area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pietra di Luna Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Maiori
Certificate of Excellence
Bath
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great old fashioned italian hotel and wonderful area”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I'm a bit late posting this - we went to Maiori in June and really enjoyed the trip. Altogether a family group fo four, including one teenager. The hotel is lovely with a nice genteel air, very Italian. Dinner is served with a nice sense of occasion and the sea view room we had looked out onto the promenade and beach. Pool is fine and was very quiet when we were there.

The area is just fantastic. Get the bus to Amalfi and use the water buses from there to get to Positano (for Ravello), Capri, Sorrento etc. The views are great and it's a relief not ot be on that coastal road! We did the Thomson trip to Pompeii and Vesuvius which was a full day, but good to do and v diff to fix by public transport. Positano and Ravello are gorgeous and both the famous villas are worth a visit. I'd recommend this hotel and area to anyone - a great time.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have balconies and overlook the promenade, very nice for a cool beer in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mugshot42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    124
    60
    9
    15
See reviews for
109
213
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Just got back from Maiori and the Pietra Di Luna Hotel. (Friday 10th Aug 2012).
We had only one week to recharge and relax, and we did just that !! The resort and hotel were perfect for our short break. The quality of the hotel was as expected, (we stayed here five years ago and were concerned that things might have changed) not so, everything was as before, clean,spacious,cool, and of course the pool, 18 x 8 meters perfect,and hardly anyone using it !!
Most people were using the private beach, belonging to the hotel, we didn't mind we had the pool to ourselves mostly.
Then there's the wonderful food, perfectly cooked by a masterchef and his staff. The service was also exceptional, always attentive and polite.
This is not a cheap hotel, but who wants a cheap hotel ??? not us. Thank you Pietra Di Luna and Maiori.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Hilda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We have been back now for just over a week. We stayed at the Pietra and had an absolutely fabulous time. The staff, especially in the restaurant, were such lovely people, very attentive and couldn't do enough for you. My husband was celebrating his 50th birthday and he had a great time celebrating here. The food was very good (considering there were 7 of us in the party we all did extremely well with the choice and quality of the food). The hotel/our room was spotless - the maids certainly did there job exceptionally well. Reception and bar staff were very helpful too. All in all we had an absolutely fabulous time - I can't wait to go back. Thank you all for making Alan's 50th birthday so memorable.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the hotel (4th floor). Personally I thought if was fab but I could im...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnandAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Our first impression of this hotel was that the reception area and dining area were very modern, but upon arrival in our room this was definitely stuck in the year of 1969. However, everything was clean and fully functional and it was noted that the maids cleaned very thoroughly as I lost an earring back on the floor and the next day it appeared on the dressing table. Beds were changed daily. The beach beds and towels were free of charge and there was never an occasion when two were not available. The beach is pebbly and what little sand there is was extremely hot to walk on, but was just across the main road from the hotel. Breakfast was adequate, but don't expect any fry ups. However, the staff were very friendly and would cook you any sort of eggs if requested. Dinner was a lovely experience, as not only did they serve it from your table but the waiters and head waiter could not do enough to please us and the service was excellent. There was only a choice of three starters, that were huge, and three mains consisting every night of one meat, fish and vegetarian, and three desserts, two of which were ice cream and fresh fruit bowl. The quality of the food, the cleanliness of the rooms and the staff being so helpful and friendly would make us return to this hotel. Maiori is a typical little Italian village with a few shops and bars in a good location for trips i.e. Capri, Pompei and Ravello/Amalfi. Do hop on the open top bus which stops not far from the hotel as this was a lovely trip to Amalfi and not too expensive.

Room Tip: our rooms had balconies facing a side street, try and get front of hotel rooms facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Stayed in July in a standard room. Our first impression was that the bathroom was very cramped. The room itself was pleasant enough, but, as others have reported, the bed was rock hard! However, this was made up for by the fabulous welcome in the restaurant. We found the waiters to be friendly, amusing and efficient. The food itself (ordered on the night) was excellent. There was a choice of three starters, three main and three sweets. My wife is a coeliac and they happily provided gluten free pasta and bread on request.
Maiori we found to be quiet compared to bigger Italian resorts but it was ok.
The pool was never crowded and we always got a sunbed. We tried the beach once but found it gritty and a bit claustrophobic.
Overall, it was an excellent holiday and we would certainly consider returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ArthurRamone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Apologises for the delay in submission. Stayed a week in the Pietra di Luna, first impressions were fine, staff friendly, general cleanliness acceptable. Stayed on fourth floor, with view to left of the sea front. The room was average sized, though the bathroom was a little cramped. No bath just a shower with curtain, with the water temperature fluctuating between hot and cold. A mini bar is provided with chilled bottled water. Tip: Don't pay for the mini bar water, buy cheaper at local supermarket and chill. Just remember to remove it prior to daily room service or a charge will be levied. There was a safe within the room. The bed was an absolute nightmare! Rock hard to the point of my checking to ensure that it was a mattress not just a sheet of wood! Hotel meals were passable, nothing to write home about, with a repetition of menu by the fifth or sixth day. Hotel has private beach area which though a tad crowded was fine, with towels provided. Never saw the swimming pool being used, and all meals had to be eaten inside rather than out on the terrace. A good location to see the area. Tip: Don't use the hotel laundry service, clothes dry quickly on the balcony. Tip: We were advised (reception and tourist info) that a taxi from Maiori to Revello is around £35 each way. Instead take the open top sightseeing bus to Amalfi, then onto Revello, though be aware that it may get booked up early. Take the jet boat to Capri.

Room Tip: Get a sea view, and be aware of the bed!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarleyD883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We really couldn’t fault this Hotel, the staff were all excellent especially the dining room staff. The views and the location are amazing. The pool was excellent, the beach was small as most are in this area and you will need to watch children if they are going into the sea. The food was very good although the vegetarian options are limited as they are in most Italian hotels. The bus stops were outside and you could easily access all of the local areas of interest.

Rooms were spotless with and quite spacious, although the air conditioning is not the best and only stays on from lunch time until 12 (sometimes a couple of hours extra).

You get a real feel for Italy on the Amalfi coast it’s a really beautiful place and not as crowded as the other side (Sorrento). Things can be a bit slow on an evening however there are plenty of bars and restaurants. We took my 16 year old and 8 year old daughters who really enjoyed the experience especially the little one who made a couple of friends.

If you want to see the coast travel to Amalfi and get one of the boats it’s very easy and much more cost effective than using organised tours. However I would suggest something organised Pompeii on your first visit.

One word of warning as they are not as many tourists or English people as other areas such as Sorrento, prices and menus in a lot of restaurants will change when they know you are a tourist. This was very disappointing and we received some very expensive bills until we took advice. There are reasonably priced bars and restaurants if you ask somebody in the hotel. Also stay away from local sellers on streets and markets in general in all of the local towns, a favourite trick is to agree a price and then short change you then argue the price was higher than agreed. Experiences like this really soured the holiday. There are also a couple of supermarkets near which are a great deal cheaper than local shops.

On the whole we would love to back as there was so much more we could visit in 2 weeks.

Thank you Pietra Luna Hotel

Room Tip: All rooms have good views except the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DBW023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maiori hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#1 of 17 in Maiori
1,525 reviews
0.2 mi away
Reginna Palace Hotel
Reginna Palace Hotel
#9 of 17 in Maiori
366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Club Due Torri
Hotel Club Due Torri
#2 of 17 in Maiori
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#7 of 17 in Maiori
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#14 of 17 in Maiori
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pietra di Luna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pietra di Luna Hotel

Property: Pietra di Luna Hotel
Address: Lungomare Gaetano Capone 27, 84010, Maiori, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Maiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Maiori
#3 Luxury Hotel in Maiori
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Maiori
#5 Family Hotel in Maiori
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pietra di Luna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beautiful Maiori's promenade, just 30 meters from the sea, the Hotel Pietra di Luna is a modern and functional structure, able to satisfy every need of the customer who chooses the Amalfi coast to spend his holidays, lulled by the sweet sound of the waves and the fresh sea breeze. Located in the center of the town, it enjoys a stunning panoramic view of Maiori's bay, between the Norman Tower, on the east side, and the Miramare Castle, on the western one, surrounded by beautiful terraced hills, cultivated with vines and lemon trees. A wide selection of services and modern comforts, in addition to the renowned hospitality of the locals, the excellent gastronomy and an unique natural landscape, will make your stay on the Amalfi coast an unforgettable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pietra di Luna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pietra Luna Maiori
Pietra Di Luna Hotel Maiori, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing