We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a lovely town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pietra di Luna Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Maiori
Certificate of Excellence
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a lovely town”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I have stayed in this hotel twice so far and found it to be very good both times. It's location at the seafront in the town of Maoiri on the Amalfi coast is very good. Maoiri is a small town and is charming to stroll around with restaurants, cafes, small shops and a lovely church, with winding streets and lanes to walk. The hotel has a lovely pool and access to the beach just across the road. The hotel is traditionally built, possible 1950's design, and is very cool in the heat of the Italian summer with marble floors and high ceilings. We had rooms with balconies both times and this added to our visit as we could sit and watch life going by and look out at the azure sea. The staff were very helpful and very nice at all times. The location was good too for trips by coach to nearby archaeological sites such as Paestum, Herculaneum and Pompeii. I will stay there again when I next visit Amalfi.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3838329Leachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    121
    60
    9
    15
See reviews for
108
206
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel early July.The hotel location was excellent with gorgeous views out onto the Amalfi Coast. We had a corner room on the top floor in the front part of the hotel. The room was more modern than I had imagined. We had a double sized balcony as it was a corner room. It had air conditioning which wasn't that great, it tended to waft air rather than cool it off. It wasn't controlled by the thermostat in the room unfortunately. The room had a mini-bar which the hotel would charge €5 per day if found using it. We therefore put drinks in it after the room had been made up and to double not getting found out, we sometimes placed the do not disturb sign up. There was a TV which we didn't watch so don't know if it had any "English" channels. We took a travel kettle which was worth doing.

The bathroom was spacious enough. However it had a shower rather than a bath. This was just a tray with a curtain round it. If you were a larger person, there wasn't much space. I struggled a bit and I'm 5'4". It did have a bidet (who uses those?), a stool, plenty of shelf space and a hairdryer.

The food was excellent, the fish dishes for dinner were superb. Couldn't fault it.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

The large pool, pool area wasn't really suitable for children as the pool was very deep - 370m. However there was also a paddling pool. Not many people seemed to use the pool or sunbeds so no need to reserve a bed!

All in all a lovely holiday. Maoiri, nice place with good mix of locals and tourists. Nice promenade - unusual for Amalfi Coast as the resorts are on cliffs. Less tacky toursity than Amalfi. Less expensive for eating and drinking than other resorts.

Room Tip: Ask for room 403, top floor overlooking the sea front with larger balcony,considered to be a partial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RebeccaK2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We have recently returned from a fabulous holiday at the Pietra di Luna. The location was perfect with the beach just across the road from the hotel, which was at the less busy end of the town. The staff at the hotel are very friendly, especially the in dining room where the waiters have a very good sense of humour. No one can do enough to please. The food is very good and we had all our evening meals there. We had planned to visit a couple of the local restaurants but never did as we were happy with the food in the hotel. The bedrooms were a little dated but you don't spend much time there so it wasn't a problem. It was spotlessly clean. We also had a good sized balcony and although we were at the side of the hotel there was still a good sea view. The sunbeds on the beach were free - you just get a pass from reception - and you collect clean beach towels every day, either from reception or from hotel lifeguard on the beach.
The town of Maiori itself is not very big and not over-commercialised. It is a very pleasant walk along the promenade from the hotel to the other end of the town where there was a small harbour, or even further to Minori, the next small town. Everywhere in Maiori is accessible.
All in all, it was a very good holiday and our holiday adviser (rep), Josette, was extremely good. Like many others we met at the Pietra di Luna, we shall return!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lovemyhols_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Pietra Luna this June. The hotel is very clean, and all the staff are helpful and very friendly. The main areas are very smart, but the bedrooms are a bit dated. The shower could do with replacing, as ours stopped working when my husband was in it. But within 15 mins. the staff fixed it. The beds are very hard, but after 2 nights I got used to it. The location of this hotel is perfect. The private beach is across the road, and everyone has a sea view. The food was good. Breakfast was more than you expect, even scrambled eggs. Dinner was good the starter very big and the main a bit on the small side. But it would be hard to find fault, and plenty of choice. A lovely resort very Italian, and perfect for sightseeing. We Had a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank GriffithsWalesuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Pietra Luna is situated waterfront, which is the best attribute this hotel has to offer. We had a front oceanview room which had beautiful views on a decent sized balcony. The main floor of the hotel is nicely decorated with leather furniture, and the dining area is very large and airy with windows all around. Food was decent, although was not wowed by anything in particular.
I do not give this hotel a better rating due to the structure itself; rooms are in dire need of remodeling and/or repair. Doors and locks are loud inside of hallways that have no sound absorbing features, therefore not a great sleeping experience when latecomers get back to their rooms or people getting up by 5 to shower. Walls are thin, could hear the people's toilet flushing, voices etc... Hotel does NOT supply tissues, even upon request. Shower head is on the long wall of the shower, hard to maneuver between shower head and shower curtain. This hotel did not have air conditioning available in May; even thought the outside temperatures did not warrant AC, the interior of our rooms after being gone all day were probably close to 80 degrees, and our only option was to open the balcony door and let bugs and exhaust/noise in our room to sleep. But you will find that in Italy or Europe until summer is in full swing.
Overall an average experience, but the hotel seriously needs some work. I did not go in the pool but from our friend's reviews, it was cold as ice.
Oh, and the worst thing??? The hard as rock beds. Felt like I was sleeping on plywood.

Room Tip: Ask for oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank islaluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

We spend just one night at the Pietra Luna Hotel.
It's located at the beach front and you'll find shops and restaurants in walking distance.
The seafront rooms have a real nice view and a balcony. The interior is not the newest and the beds are very hard, but the
room was clean.
There is a pool in the garden and the beach is across the street.
Breakfast is okay, but nothing special.
It's a nice Hotel for a short stopover, but I wouldn't spend a longer time there...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Toniedorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I can only agree with the last review , we had also never been to Italy before and we crammed a lot into our week in Maiori The hotel was super, very clean, the staff were some of the friendliest we have ever known,The beds are certainly a challenge but after a busy day I would have slept anywhere!! We stayed half board and the food and wine selection was excellant. all in all a first class holiday,the area is ideal for sightseeing and a lot less comercialised then Sorennto apeared to be.

Room Tip: A sea view would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dtoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Maiori hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#1 of 17 in Maiori
1,506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Reginna Palace Hotel
Reginna Palace Hotel
#9 of 17 in Maiori
360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Club Due Torri
Hotel Club Due Torri
#2 of 17 in Maiori
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#7 of 17 in Maiori
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#15 of 17 in Maiori
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pietra di Luna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pietra di Luna Hotel

Property: Pietra di Luna Hotel
Address: Lungomare Gaetano Capone 27, 84010, Maiori, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Maiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Maiori
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Maiori
#4 Luxury Hotel in Maiori
#5 Family Hotel in Maiori
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pietra di Luna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beautiful Maiori's promenade, just 30 meters from the sea, the Hotel Pietra di Luna is a modern and functional structure, able to satisfy every need of the customer who chooses the Amalfi coast to spend his holidays, lulled by the sweet sound of the waves and the fresh sea breeze. Located in the center of the town, it enjoys a stunning panoramic view of Maiori's bay, between the Norman Tower, on the east side, and the Miramare Castle, on the western one, surrounded by beautiful terraced hills, cultivated with vines and lemon trees. A wide selection of services and modern comforts, in addition to the renowned hospitality of the locals, the excellent gastronomy and an unique natural landscape, will make your stay on the Amalfi coast an unforgettable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pietra di Luna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pietra Luna Maiori
Pietra Di Luna Hotel Maiori, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing