We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pietra di Luna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pietra di Luna Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Maiori
Certificate of Excellence
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed 1 week beginning of June ,was our first time in Italy and loved it.Lovely hotel and very clean. Arrived after midnight and were given a cold salad meal ,only us two in the restaurant.Breakfasts were lovely as were evening meals and plentiful.lovely seaviews as were just over the road from the beach.Beach towels were provided by the hotel and had private area on beach with free sunbeds.swimming pool lovely and clean,water very cold bit of a shock on first getting in.capri and ana capri were well worth a visit.Amalfi very nice and Ravello.the ride along Amalfi coast was breathtaking,never seen scenery like it.beautiful country.Thompson reps were exceptional and even take who ever wants to go with them on ther sunday morning walk up the nearby mountain,hard walk up loads steps,mega steep but views worth it at the top.would recommend this hotel ,everyone works hard and is well run.only negative for us was the bars in the area wasn't what were used to,little quiet .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesley187065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso I, Manager at Pietra di Luna Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Lesley,

thank you for taking the time to write this review and for letting everybody know how much you enjoyed your stay at the Pietra di Luna Hotel on the Amalfi Coast. Knowing that both the hotel and the area were up to your expectations and that you have managed to explore most of the area. Looking forward in welcoming you again in the future we remain,
yours sincerely,

Alfonso Imperato
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    113
    54
    9
    15
See reviews for
103
192
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We recently returned home from a week's holiday in Italy. On our arrival at the Pietra Di Luna Hotel we were warmly welcomed by very friendly helpful staff. Our room was a good size and had everything we needed. The towels were changed daily, bed changed at least 3 times and every evening our bed was turned back and a little gift of sherbet lemons left for us. The food was first class with plenty of choice and all the restaurant staff were very nice and efficient. The bar staff also were so friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The hotel is in a prime location for getting about, a bus ride or two from Amalfi, Positano, ravello which we visited easily, the beach is literally across the road and the views are magnificent. The Manager is always around and gives a smile and a wave when he sees you. We will definately go back to Maiori and wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else other than the Pietra, we love it there. We have already recommended it to friends and family. Gloria and Paul Piercey.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso I, Manager at Pietra di Luna Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Gloria and Piercey,

to read your comments following your stay with us is a great satisfaction and I will make sure all the staff, here at the Pietra di Luna Hotel, will know. I thank you for staying with us, for appreciating our services and for suggesting our hotel to family and friends. With all the staff we
look forward in welcoming you again.
Sincerely,

Alfonso Imperato
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Our first time in Italy, and couldn't have wished for a nicer hotel everything was immaculate, decor was very Italian , our room was very spacious with beautiful pool and side sea view, the management and staff were very helpful and friendly and extremely smart, although we did only have one evening meal was no reflection on hotel we just love to try different restaurants when we are on our holiday and what we had was beautiful, breakfast was always lovely with plenty to choose from,the pool was fab,and the private beach, the beach staff we're also great, great central location with amazing views, we had a fantastic relaxing holiday, would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We had side view overlooking pool and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso I, Manager at Pietra di Luna Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Julie,

thank you for choosing the Pietra di Luna Hotel for your first visit to Italy and the Amalfi Coast. We feel very honoured in hawing had you here as a guest and we really hope and look forward in hawing the possibility of welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Alfonso Imperato
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I have recently returned from a wonderful, restful break at the Pietra di Luna. I should add that I have visited this hotel on many occasions over a 28 year period, sometimes alone and sometimes with friends. I am never disappointed - the standard of service, cleanliness and customer care is of the very best. The hard-working staff are always on hand to advise and help you have a memorable holiday - nothing is too much trouble. I always have half board and can thoroughly recommend the menus, particularly the local fish dishes.

Maoiri is the largest town on the Amalfi Coast and is an ideal location whether you want to relax by the pool, use the facilities of its private beach or be more adventurous by taking advantage of visiting nearby tourist attractions such as Amalfi, Capri, Ravello, Pompei, Herculaneum or Paestum etc.

On many of my numerous visits I have met many other guests who regularly revisit this hotel - which is a good indication of the high standard the hotel strives to promote. The welcome, kindness and courteous service from all the staff is a memory that everyone takes away with them.

A perfect choice for an unforgettable holiday - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ElizaDoolittle51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso I, Manager at Pietra di Luna Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Eliza,
Thank you for staying with us once again and for taking the time in letting the world know how much you have enjoyed the Pietra di Luna, the staff and Maiori, over so many years. We are privileged in hawing guests like you, that have become regulars and part of the big family, and at the same time you let us the others know. From our side we will try always to improve our standards and with all the staff, we look forward in welcoming you again.
Kindly regards,
Alfonso Imperato
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was our first visit to Italy and we were so pleased to have stayed at such a lovely hotel. Superb location on the sea front and we were delighted to have a front facing room with amazing views. The room was large and spotlessly clean, towels changed daily and bed linen at least 3 times a week. The staff were excellent and always so helpful nothing was too much trouble in fact went out of their way to help. The food was of a very good standard, breakfast continental and plenty of choice, the coffee was great. Evening meal waiter service and if there was a problem with anything on the menu every effort was made to change it for you. The service was fast and efficient and everyone was polite and friendly. The manager always visible and often chatted with the guests. We wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to our family and friends.
Marie and Dave W

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have magnificent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso I, Manager at Pietra di Luna Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Marie and Dave,
All of us at the Pietra di Luna Hotel are delighted with your words and proud in hawing succeeded in making your first holiday in Italy, a memorable one. We look forward to welcome here in Maiori anybody that you will refer to us, and we will always do our best to meet their expectations and let them enjoy a wonderful holiday. Thank you for choosing us and for writing your comments. We all hope to see you again here on the Amalfi Coast.
Sincerely,

Alfonso Imperato
(Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

I first started going to Pietra approximately 16 years ago and have only missed a couple of years since then. Many of my friends have now stayed at this great hotel on my recommendation. All the staff are just wonderful, nothing is too much trouble.

I notice that a few reviewers have commented on the beds and Alfonso has suggested that contact be made before the stay and they will accommodate guests and I would certainly agree as, for the past 3 years, I have contacted the indispensable Francesca and she has arranged a slightly softer mattress for my husband and me.

I didn't think the hotel could be improved, however, this year we were pleasantly surprised to find bath robes in our room and towels changed twice daily with beds turned down in the evening and sweets next to our bed - something I would only expect in a five star hotel!!

Thank you once again to all the lovely staff who are always so welcoming on our return and I look forward to seeing you all again next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso I, Manager at Pietra di Luna Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Joan,

Thank you for being a returning guest and an ambassador of the Pietra di Luna Hotel. All the staff and myself really appreciate your comments and I hope they will be of help to other guests booking our hotel. Looking forward to welcome you again for many more years, I remain,

Yours sincerely,

Alfonso Imperato (Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed here for several days and what a lovely location, right on the sea front. Largo swimming pool and plenty of sun beds both in the shade or sun if you prefer.

Staff were friendly and quality of food good. Live entertainment on one evening on the terrace was a bonus.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the pool, no problem with noise but it was middle if June so not in high season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfonso I, Manager at Pietra di Luna Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Lyn,

For us it is always a great pleasure to read guest’s comments following their stay at the Pietra di Luna Hotel. Knowing that you enjoyed your stay and that all facilities offered at the Hotel met your expectation is our biggest reward. We hope to welcome you back here and with all the staff, I thank you very much,

Alfonso Imperato (Hotel Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maiori
0.3 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#1 of 17 in Maiori
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Club Due Torri
Hotel Club Due Torri
#3 of 17 in Maiori
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Reginna Palace Hotel
Reginna Palace Hotel
#7 of 17 in Maiori
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Botanico San Lazzaro
0.9 mi away
Villa Romana Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Residence San Pietro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pietra di Luna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pietra di Luna Hotel

Property: Pietra di Luna Hotel
Address: Lungomare Gaetano Capone 27, 84010 Maiori, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Maiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Maiori
#4 Luxury Hotel in Maiori
#5 Family Hotel in Maiori
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Maiori
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pietra di Luna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the beautiful Maiori's promenade, just 30 meters from the sea, the Hotel Pietra di Luna is a modern and functional structure, able to satisfy every need of the customer who chooses the Amalfi coast to spend his holidays, lulled by the sweet sound of the waves and the fresh sea breeze. Located in the center of the town, it enjoys a stunning panoramic view of Maiori's bay, between the Norman Tower, on the east side, and the Miramare Castle, on the western one, surrounded by beautiful terraced hills, cultivated with vines and lemon trees. A wide selection of services and modern comforts, in addition to the renowned hospitality of the locals, the excellent gastronomy and an unique natural landscape, will make your stay on the Amalfi coast an unforgettable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Pietra di Luna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pietra Luna Maiori
Pietra Di Luna Hotel Maiori, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing