We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic family holiday hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Majestic Palace Hotel
Ranked #13 of 70 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Keynsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic family holiday hotel”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

All in all a great hotel with few faults. We had a lovely holiday in Malcesine last week and the hotel was a central part of that. Excellent service (staff were extremely helpful at all times), high level of cleanliness, good food with good choice (slightly limited for veggies), ample car parking. Small faults included cold outdoor pools and loud music in the evening. Location is 1km from town but this is no problem - depends on what you are after.

Malcesine is stunning like the whole of the area... We went to Venice for the day, and would also recommend getting the ferry to Limone, Riva, the gondola to Monte Baldo, Malcesine castle, canoeing and swimming on lago di ledro. Other places we went to which were good included Arco Castle, cascata grotta Varone, Torbole, lago di Tenno, canale di Tenno medieval village... All worth a visit depending on what you like doing.

If you choose the Majestic Palace and Lake Garda we hope you have as fantastic time as us...

Room Tip: Be wary of rooms over the bar if you want to go to sleep before 11pm. Music is often played outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMC16WR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    126
    40
    12
    3
See reviews for
172
145
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed in a standard family room which was a little dated but we don't go on holiday to spend time indoors. There was plenty of space and a small balcony with a beautiful view of the lake. The standard of cleanliness in this hotel was better than I have seen anywhere else in Europe, both in the room and in the public areas of the hotel. My eight-year old daughter enjoyed the kids club despite often being the only English speaker there; the organiser of the club made sure that she didn't feel excluded. There were plenty of sunloungers although the hotel was very busy. Mealtimes were busy as I would expect in August but there was always space to sit and we didn't feel hurried at all. The food itself was of a good standard although for a vegetarian it became rather repetitive. The staff were always friendly and helpful. This is a good hotel for a family holiday as long as you don't mind walking; it is 20 minutes or so from the town centre although I believe there is a bus which stops near the hotel. There is a path down to the lake but it is very steep so would not suit those with walking difficulties or pushchairs. The lake is very pleasant to swim in and it is easy to find an uncrowded space.There is lots to do in the area and further afield too. This is a great hotel and location for a family holiday if you want more than endless sun and sand and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sb210567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here between the 10th-24th August along with our son and 17 other guests to celebrate our wedding. It has taken us two and a half years to plan our special day and we were not disappointed in our choice of hotel. It is set is fantastic grounds, in the heart of an olive grove. Majestic Palace has fantastic facilities for guests of all ages, including several pools, sauna, mini-golf, trampoline, tennis and basketball courts. The staff were faultless, they were so friendly and helpful in all aspects of the hotel. Food and drink were plentiful and of great quality, we really couldn't ask for more. Isidro, one of the bar waiters was particularly charming - we would like to thank him for making our time there such fun! The dining room staff were also so courteous and friendly, making such a fuss over our little boy, Thomas, at every meal time despite him being a little terror on most occasions! Our waiter, even asked to start his shift early on our final day so he could get the chance to say goodbye to Thomas. On our wedding day the staff were so lovely, helping us out at every turn and showed genuine interest in making our day perfect. We would like to thank everyone at this hotel from the bottom of our hearts and would recommend it to anyone and everyone.

Allie and Stephen Cranston xxx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrNMrs_Cranston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Visited 17-24 August 2013.
This hotel is superb for families myself, husband and 22 month boy had a great time.
This was my third time to Lake Garda but both times before we stayed in beautiful Sirmione and married there in 2008. As our 5 year wedding anniversary & my sons first holiday abroad we knew Lake Garda was the right place.
I choose Malcesine and the Majestic as it seemed to offer everything we would require and the comments on here ensured my option.
The hotel is wonderful staff brill, food amazing and in a lovely town.
My only negatives would be that there is no baby changing facilities downstairs, the bed was quite uncomfortable and the entertainment although ok could be a little bit better but honestly I am gutted to be home and cannot wait to go back
The half board option is great one of the best xxx

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed here from 3rd to 17th August 2013 with two boys aged 6 and 9, and it was absolutely wonderful! Food was amazing (and we are real foodies..) something different every night, staff so friendly and helpful. We arrived at midnight, but were still served a delicious meal of cold meats and salads as soon as we came in the door.

Our room was a deluxe family room, away from the main hotel, but right beside a smaller pool area, which was perfect for us. The views from the balcony were spectacular, out across the lake. The room was huge, and a great bathroom too. The grounds and interior of the hotel are spotless, obviously great care is taken of the whole property.

Malcesine is a great little town to explore, busy, but fun. We took the boat to Limone and Riva, and did a day trip to Verona also. Taking the cable car up to Monte Baldo is a must, but pricey.

One of the highlights was swimming in the lake, really glorious, and the lake beach is only a short stroll from the centre of town.

We would go back to the Majestic Palace in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HBT34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

My wife, two children age 14 and 11 and myself have just returned home from a 2 week holiday in this hotel. We prefer not to holiday in the same place each year and certainly not in the same hotel as we like to see the world, therefore we have stayed in many hotels in many Countries and have never felt the need to review any of them however this hotel was different. Everything about this holiday and especially this hotel was perfect, the staff, the room, the pools, the views, the activities, the other quests and definitely the food.

We stayed in a luxury room, located in a separate block from the main hotel which was a really good size with a lovely view of the lake. My wife was impressed with the wardrobe as it was a really good size slide robe able to store all of our clothes. The room has a small safe which costs 1 euro per day, a TV, large bathroom, two Queen size beds, two single beds and a fridge which was really great. The room was made up every day and the maids always provided fresh towels and shower gel etc.

The hotel has several pools with lots of loungers, garden areas again with loungers, a tennis court, crazy golf, a kids park, volleyball net, outdoor chess, boules, trampoline, indoor pool and sauna.

The location of the hotel is 1.3 km from the center of Malcesine (at the harbor) which takes 15 - 20 minutes to walk. Part of the walk is a small slope, do not be put off this is not a big hill simply a slope which is easy. However if you prefer not to walk you have two options, the hotel runs a shuttle bus roughly every hour to the town at a cost of 1 euro, also the tourist bus (local bus run by tourist office) does a 10 km lap of the town and comes also every hour and also costs 1 euro.

We stayed half board which includes free drinks with your meal (soft drinks, beer, wine and water). Four days each week the hotel provides free lunch also with free drinks, the other three days you can purchase a lunch in the main bar at a very reasonable price. As for the food, the best I have ever had in any hotel all over the world.
The breakfast is normal fried eggs, scrambled eggs, bacon (typical European fatty bacon), breads, croissants, cereals, yogurts, hams, cheese etc.
The dinner was great, carved meats (turkey, roasts etc), potatoes, vegetables, fish, omlettes, pizza, various pasta dishes (cooked in front of you), salads, soups etc every night.

The hotel has free tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits every day from 4pm until 5pm. Then they have a cocktail hour where you buy one cocktail and get one free (great measures).

The entertainment was on 5 nights a week (not Friday and Saturday) with mostly live music from different singers every night. These singers were great the atmosphere was good as they belted out "Thats Amore" and Volare etc. They also had flamingo dancers and a magician each week, the dancers were good and very pleasing on the eye. As for the magician who was called Reme, his show was absolutely fantastic, he spoke about 5 languages and his acts were astounding - not a clue how he did them.
We sat outside every evening watching the entertainment and we were served by one of the best waiters I have ever had, his name was Isidro and a more pleasant helpful guy you will never meet. He took the kids up to the ice-cream counter and helped them, he joked with them, he brought me down various different drinks to try (loved the Sambuca with coffee beans) and he always remembered my wifes' sparkling wine without being told. A really good waiter, good fun and well worth giving a good tip to.

We hired a car for a couple of days ( from a guy in the town) 65 euros per day for a Fiat Punto. We were able to drive down to Gardaland for the day (buy your tickets in the tourist office) and also drove around the lake to Limone, lovely place.

Malcesine is about half way up the lake and is a beautiful place, however it may be slightly away from things of interest, such as Verona, Venice, Gardaland, Water park, Movie-land etc. For these it would be better to stay further south in somewhere like Peschiera as it has a train station which you can travel to Verona in 15 minutes and Venice in 1 hour 40 min. However having stayed down there before and done all those things I would go back to Malcesine.

The staff in this hotel, reception, bar, restaurant, waiting, maids were all like a big friendly family who make you want to return. On the day of your departure if your pick up is later on in the day they offer you a free room with shower facilitates and towels etc.
The other quests are also worth mentioning, for our two weeks the quests were all very mannered and civil, no louts or out of control kids running wild without supervision as I have witnessed in other places.

All in all, for the first time ever we have discussed the possibility of going back to this hotel next year again, very likely.

Room Tip: Go for a luxury room - bigger, more modern and great views. Buy your Gardaland tickets from the tou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My husband, 8 year old daughter and myself have just returned from a week at the Majestic Palace Hotel. We had a room overlooking the main pool area which was fine. The room was reasonably basic and probably would benefit from a make-over however, was clean and adequate for us. The food was buffet style which always provides debate. It was very busy at meal times however, we found a nice table away from the servers which helped. There was a good selection in the morning including cooked breakfast and evening meals included pasta and meat dishes. In addition and as previously by other guests we had the benefit of 4 lunches thrown in as well as all drinks included which was helpful on the purse strings. I did realise when booking the hotel that there was a walk to the town however, on reflection I think we felt this was probably a little too far for us. The hotel provides a courtesy bus for 1 Euro each but this was often very busy so we ended up walking. The tourist bus back to the hotel was also 1 Euro however, kids were free of charge. Again, this was so often busy which made the trip uncomfortable with the other nationalities all pushing and shoving for a place. Taxi's had to be ordered and charged anything from 7 to 14 Euro's back to the hotel. The only other issue was how cold the pool was. Freezing! Other than that the staff were really friendly and made every effort to ensure our stay was pleasant. We had a lovely breakfast given to us on the day of our departure because the restaurant would not be open. Very thoughtful! Crazy golf, tennis, ping pong all available. Very family orientated restaurant which I would recommend however, make sure you are happy with the location in advance.

Room Tip: Choose Deluxe room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honeysuckle1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malcesine
2.0 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#3 of 70 in Malcesine
516 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#6 of 70 in Malcesine
279 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#2 of 70 in Malcesine
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 32 in Torbole
915 reviews
7.6 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
548 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Splendid Palace
Hotel Splendid Palace
#1 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Palace Hotel

Property: Majestic Palace Hotel
Address: Via Navene, 96, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Malcesine
#8 Family Hotel in Malcesine
#13 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Majestic Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Majestic Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Palace Malcesine
Majestic Palace Hotel Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing