We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view over Malcesine and the lake”
Review of Monte Baldo

Monte Baldo
Ranked #2 of 26 things to do in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Uppsala, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice view over Malcesine and the lake”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We took the two cable cars up to Mount Baldo to get better views over Malcesine and the lake. It was only 6 degrees centigrade up there so we did not go hiking on the mountain. We had lunch which was good and then went back for Malcesine. On a warmer day it would have been a nice place to hike.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl-Einar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,954 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,936
    767
    157
    47
    47
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Spend a whole day or couple of nights up there.”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Get the cable car ticket from a boat pontoon to avoid the long queue. There are two eating places on top with one offering rooms. I wanted to spend longer up there as there are lots of easy walks with fantastic views.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank terry6395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wow what a view”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The cable car to take you up the mountain is in 2 sections so you can get off at the half way point for a drink or a walk around. the trip to the top is well worth it with view to die for - lots of walks and places to eat and drink. A visit to the Alpacas is worth the little walk. My advice would be to go as early as you possible can as the queues can be horrendous.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank shysheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“stunning--on the right day”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

BUT----take local advice re weather before going up on the Funivia. The views from the top are truly spectacular but if it is at all misty go another day. We had been before and seen it at it's best and went up with our daughter as she had only one day left. We hoped we might be above the clout but on arrival at the top, it was -4 degrees and with freezing fog. Visibility 3 feet!! We tried but at the price of the car ferry crossing the parking and the Funivia for three people--definitely not a good idea. Even on a good day at ground level, warm clothing is a must--it is COLD at the top--a warm jacket that you can take off--have seen so many shivering youngsters!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank alison c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uddingston
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We took the cable car up the mountain. The views across Lake Garda and the mountains was spectacular. The restaurants and buildings at the top were quite run down. A cable car takes you up so far and then you change to another bigger cable car which does a 360 degree rotation, giving views from all aspects. Good trip and if you buy a ticket deal you save on a trip to Malcesine Castle too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank magsdevlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monte Baldo also viewed

Malcesine, Province of Verona
Tremosine, Province of Brescia
 
Garda, Province of Verona
Riva Del Garda, Province of Trento
 

Been to Monte Baldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing