We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience”
Review of Monte Baldo

Monte Baldo
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

What a fabulous trip! We do not normally go on any excursions or trips as they are usually expensive and disappointing. Not this one! Absolutely fabulous views from the top of the mountain, and it is an enjoyable ride in the cable car. There are a couple of small shops, cafe/restaurants at the top, and the scenery is stunning. We saw Alpacas being fed whilst up there, and it was lovely to hear the cow bells on the mountain cattle too. There are walk ways for the real adventurers, or simple footpaths for those less able to climb or walk far. If it is the only trip you make away from the hotel, it is worth it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carian012014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,745 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,799
    722
    146
    38
    40
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Fab views, amazing opportunity to view lake garda from a great height!
Cable cars are pretty fun and plenty of walks once at the top.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KylieDomanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“View”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great view of the alps and great to cool off if too hot in the valley. Possibly a bit expensive for this view, but a must if more than a day in Malcesine.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic views!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Fantastic views, lots of walks, nice cheapish restaurant, a bit chilly/windy on top. Perfect setting for stunning holiday photos. Cabin rotates as it goes up and down!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MoonlightSelene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Monte Baldo Cable Car - get there early or don't bother”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Unless you can get there at 8.00am don't bother. We got the hydrofoil from Garda and got there at 10.30am - the queue was down the path to the top of the steps. We joined it. 1 hour later we reached the ticket office - but that's just the start. The queue then goes in the building and up 3 flights of stairs - slowly, very slowly. Why so slow? Because there is only one cable car very half hour. Not sure how many can fit it in because after nearly 2 hours of queuing my husband calculated that if we continued moving at the current rate we would get the 1.00pm or 1.30pm cable car. We were not prepared to queue for half a day so bailed out and sold our tickets to a couple in the queue. When we came back out the queue had lengthened down the steps and was winding along the round. Those at the back were looking at minimum 4 hours. I told one man in the queue on the path that he had at least another 2 hours to go - he looked astonished. There is no indication of this. Forget it and go to the castle in the town. At the top of the turret you get amazing 360 degree views for a fraction of the cost and no queues!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank lousally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monte Baldo also viewed

Malcesine, Province of Verona
Tremosine, Province of Brescia
 
Garda, Province of Verona
Riva Del Garda, Province of Trento
 

Been to Monte Baldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing