We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bitter-sweet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bellevue San Lorenzo
Ranked #18 of 70 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bitter-sweet”
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel in idyllic setting. Food excellent. Staff helpful and attentive. Only criticism was the airconditioning. In our room it was virtually non-existent. We complained from 1st night onwards and despite visits from the maintenance men, no improvement. Told by the receptionist that the A/C was only on 2hours early morning and 6 hours in the evening and NOT overnight. As ours was non-existent we were offered an alternative twin room after the 5 night where the A/C was available 24/7 and very effective. The restricted A/C should be noted in the brochure description.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Vic D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruggerotogni, Direttore at Bellevue San Lorenzo, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Hello,
Thank you for the review following your recent stay with us, we are very grateful for all the feedback we receive and appreciate the time you have taken to write it.
We are very pleased that you appreciated the many points you mentioned and we are sorry if you found disappointing the air conditioning time. We are aware that it might be a bit uncomfortable but we’d like to underline that a.c. is working according to the outside temperature and we turn it off in the morning, while the cleanings girls are making up the rooms. The villas of our hotel are historical villas and it’s not possible for us to have a modern and technological system, which turns automatically the a.c. off if windows/doors are open. We are proud to use water and electricity in a thoughtful and reflected way, in order to avoid ecological and economical wastefulness.
We hope to be able to welcoming you again soon!
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    58
    17
    15
    0
See reviews for
19
120
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

My two sisters and I stayed at this hotel for the first week of June. From the moment we arrived walking through the garden to the reception to the end of our week we had the most wonderful time. The hotel itself was a lovely building set in a beautiful well tended garden and full of the owners art collection. Our bedroom was simple with a very large bathroom. The view from our balcony up the lake was stunning. All the staff including the owner who was around a lot were charming and helpful. The food was excellent- 5 courses for dinner for 25euros. In comparison we had a bowl of pasta and some tirimisu in a cafe in Malchesine for almost the same price and it was of very poor quality. The hotel was ideally situated above the busy road which encircles the lake so we were not distubed by the traffic. A 20min stroll along the lake shore brought us to the village which was very pretty with an interesting castle and a cable car to the top of the mountain and boat trips across the lake. The swimming pool and terrace had fantastic views and we liked the sauna and steam room. All in all a perfect week.

Room Tip: we were in Room 104 looking up the lake situated above the main entrance which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruggerotogni, Direttore at Bellevue San Lorenzo, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Hello,
Thank you for the Tripadvisor review
We hope to welcome you back to the Bellevue San Lorenzo in the near future
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stopped in Bellevue in July 12 - loved the pool and gardens. Excellent views!! Our room was clean but pretty dated and basic which seems to be the norm for Italy as this was my fourth time over there. Air con was good. Whilst getting ready for dinner however, we kept having power cuts which would put the bathroom in total darkness and I was concerned for my pregnant wife. We were also there for a weddding so on the third day of cuts I complained to the male receptionist who I assumed was the manager but whilst trying to explain he got very rude and I could then see that he was drunk. I appreciate Malcesine is a small town and therefore maybe prone to power cuts but for £1600 per couple per week I didn't expect the poor customer service we received on something that really we shouldn't have to complain about.
The restaurant however was excellent and food gorgeous. Head waiter was great and a good laugh. To be honest all the other staff were very friendly too. Breakfast was good - typical Italian breakfast. Just shame about the drunken manager - I mean every night after that I got the tough guy stares.... lol hope hes not in the mob.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dove7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruggerotogni, Direttore at Bellevue San Lorenzo, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Hello!
Thanks for the review and time you spent in writing it.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed pool & gardens. We do offer different styles of rooms at the hotel so next time you’re in maybe we can offer you something more to your liking.
Regarding the power cuts: the most of the times when it happens it’s something that doesn’t depend from us, they are general sudden changes in tension. We are sorry to hear that you found the owner of the hotel very rude. We always try to satisfy the more as possible the problems of our guests. When you are owner of an hotel unfortunately you cannot take a “day off”, even if you are ill and he surely didn’t want to be rude at all. To be honest it’s very frustrating not be able to solve problems, as for example the power cuts.
Our customer care is something we are particularly proud of in the hotel and we are very sorry you didn’t felt it.
I hope this experience will not detract you from choosing our hotel again in the future.
Our best wishes for your baby!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Lovely hotel,beautiful location,very romantic.staff couldn't do enough.my girlfriend and I stayed in room 131,lovely room with gorgeous views of lake Garda.huge balcony with 2 double doors.
Beds were comfy,bathroom was amazing,the hotel itself was perfect.
Only criticism was that the restaurant was slightly stuffy,no atmosphere and everyone seem to be whispering.
Go into malcesine for dinner,some beautifully situated restaurants in town and the walk from the hotel along the lake to the town is breathtaking

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruggerotogni, Direttore at Bellevue San Lorenzo, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Hello
Thanks for the excellent Tripadvisor review.
We hope we to welcome you back again soon
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
207 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We were coming to Verona for a 4 day weekend with the intention of staying in the city. When looking at reviews across a larger area we chanced upon this hotel and booked it. Thank goodness for fate.
Location, beautiful. The hotel is elevated above the lake so you get beautiful views of the lake itself as well as the town of Malcesine. A few reviewers complained of road noise however every hotel around the shores of Lake Garda face exactly the same challenge, but this hotel is above the road so it wasn't really an issue.
We had a junior suite as the rest of the hotel was full. Really good size, clean, nicely decorated and a great bathroom with a spa bath, very comfortable bed and a nice balcony with a great view. (Room 315).
Reception and staff were helpful and unfailingly polite.
Breakfast was very, very good. I travel constantly in Europe and this is definitely a good hotel breakfast.
Pool is beautiful. Set in very well maintained gardens it is a good sized infinity pool overlooking the lake.
The hotel spa was a very positive surprise. Modern, really well presented and great facilities. The big surprise was that the only additional charge was 7 euros for a bathrobe otherwise the use of the spa was included in the rate. Other hotels offering this level of spa charge for use.
Internet worked well, even beside the pool and was included in the room rate.
My only regret is that we didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening. The menu looked interesting and varied and given the overall standard of the hotel would have been considerably better than the below average fare offered in the restaurants in Malcesine.
Walking into Malcesine was easy and the path along the lake was well worth the effort.
We will definitely come and stay again. The one thing that we realised is that coming to Lake Garda in main holiday season would be challenging with significant volumes of tourists. This hotel would be a great place just to hide, relax and not move.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulDAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruggerotogni, Direttore at Bellevue San Lorenzo, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Hello,
Thank you for the fantastic review and for all the positive points you mentioned.
I'm glad to hear that we could contribute towards an excellent stay on Lake Garda and I hope to see you again soon!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed here for four nights in mid-October. The views you get from this hotel are amazing!! The staff were helpful friendly. When we arrived, the heating and air con was not working but our room was so hot. We called the receptionist to asked to be moved and she said it was too late to change rooms as it was the evening and to call back the following morning to see if a room was available. After breakfast the next day, we spoke to the receptionist and we were happy to find that a room was available in the red villa. There moved our bag for us too which meant that we were free to roam around the town. The new room is compact but very clean and the shower was lovely. It could do with tea and coffee making facilities and some new fixtures and fittings. Breakfast was good but could do with some more fresh fruit. The evening meals were fantastic. I tried many new things and the staff were happy to offer an alternative if you didn't like the choices on the menu. I didn't use the sauna or swimming pool but the pool was very clean. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Solanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruggerotogni, Direttore at Bellevue San Lorenzo, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear Guest,
We are delighted when we receive good comments, especially when guests appreciate our efforts. We work as a team and try to make our client’s time the most enjoyable and unforgettable. For any special request we always recommend to contact the Hotel and we will make sure that all your needs are met!
We also thank you for your comments about the room and the breakfast: this means a lot to us and helps us to improve our service!
We really thank you a lot hoping to be at your service soon.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed here at the beginning of October, when we arrived we were given a warm welcome and shown to our room.The room had a lake view and a large balcony, perfect. The room was medium in size, very clean almost perfect. The slight complaint we had was the lack of storage and no hooks to hang coats etc on.
We had booked half board and were not disappointed, food was of a good standard with a varied choice of dishes. The dining room staff were very friendly and helpful. most had a good grasp of English. most of the guests were German of Italian. Breakfast was fair ,typical of a continental spread, but beware of the coffee, it will put hairs on your chest.

We chatted to the owner, a friendly man, some people think that he was avoiding them, nothing of the sort. He had the ability to keep his eyes down and press on with his duties. On our shared taxi to the hotel we met a kindly old gentleman , he had been to Malcesine sixteen times, he described it as a little piece of heaven on earth, he was right.

If your one of those people who want it now then this hotel is not for you, it is a place to relax not demand. Will we go again........Oh yes.

ps Try the Teroldego wine it was superb

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a lake view, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Turboplugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruggerotogni, Direttore at Bellevue San Lorenzo, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
We are really enthusiastic about your review and it will be shared between all the staff: we work as a team under the professional and experienced guide of the manager. We always do our best to guarantee a good service.
We thank you again and hope to be at your service for your future trip to Lake Garda!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0.6 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#4 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#2 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#5 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#1 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Val di Sogno
Hotel Val di Sogno
#11 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#12 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue San Lorenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue San Lorenzo

Property: Bellevue San Lorenzo
Address: Via Gardesana 164 | Lacalita Dos Ferri, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Malcesine
#20 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bellevue San Lorenzo 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Spa Bellevue San Lorenzo is a beautiful 4 star hotel in Malcesine (Verona), directly on the Lake Garda. The Hotel offers: restaurant, spa, bar, relax rooms, garden and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Bellevue San Lorenzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue San Lorenzo Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing