We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended but......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bellevue San Lorenzo
Ranked #14 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

First of all you can't fault the location or the food, both are outstanding. However a few words of caution that certainly wasn't in our brochure. I was pulled up on the approach to dinner as I didn't have long trousers on. In no uncertain terms I was told to change or not be served. Some of the ladies were in short shorts but they were permitted; sexism? After a couple of days I asked if we would be able to move tables (these were allocated prior to arrival) to obtain a lake view. Absolutely not as I wasn't in a suite or pre-booked these tables....not sure where that was written either! There are signs everywhere telling guests that you can't reserve sun loungers with towels.... nonsense. If you are in a suite or get there early enough you can! This wasn't policed at all so the guests (75% of whom were German) reserved their key spots even when we saw them in another part of town eating their lunch, only to return to their 'saved' beds for the afternoon. The owner is very rude. He wanders about and ignores the English guests. At one point we made a point of saying good morning but he looked at us and turned away without engaging at all. We were the only guests that were there for 2 weeks but this didn't matter. The lady serving by the pool, the waitress with red hair and Antonio, were brilliant. Very friendly and attentive however the others it felt like we were putting them out! I'm sure if we had been German or had booked a suite we'd have been treated differently. I wouldn't recommend the hotel because of the treatment we got but I'd recommend the food and location - though only for couples. Shame really as it could have been so much better :-(

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank theeastons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

Hotel Fantastic, food is lovely and though somewhat a little bit samey as the buffet in the evening to accompany your mains. The breakfast was lovely and pool is fantastic, We really found this hotel to be peaceful and the bit that made our trip amazing. However there are some things you need to know, read the tips - they will make it all much better !! We were greated by someone at airport who showed our names on an ipad and soufered us to the hotel with one other couple....air con is such a nice thing in a car, felt lovely !

Room Tip: Do the following a number of weeks before you visit.... 1) Reserve a room that is in the main blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spearmint_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Bellevue Sans Lorenzo hotel was situated in a moderately pleasant location (although a bit too close to the main road – which, of course, does not feature in any of their photos!). The reception staff were very helpful and considerate and the food was of a high standard. However, this does not make up for the negative points that I experienced during my stay.

On the first night I read in the welcome pack that trousers must be worn by men – ‘appreciated but not essential’ it said. This was the first time we were made of aware of this. My partner wore expensive long shorts (brought specifically for the holiday) with a nice shirt to dine in. The Head waiter pounced on my partner and asked him where his trousers were. After explaining that we had only just found this out, literally moments prior before arriving at the dining hall, the waiter went off and reported this to the owner of the hotel. Whilst we were serving ourselves at the buffet table the owner marched up to my partner and proceeded to admonish him in front of other guests; shouting: ‘impossible! Impossible’. However, during our six day stay we notice other guests wearing flip flops and shorts. But, they were German – which makes all the difference. Germans were treated vastly better to the English (because we don’t complain enough – we write letters and reviews instead!) – a fact noticed by all the other English guests; on the first night one very nice woman said that the ‘English guests were segregated’. Obviously, this is not the sort of treatment one expects after parting with £2,500.

What made us more frustrated (and again this was noticed by other guests) was that the air conditioning was not switched on in the dining room. Wearing trousers whilst slogging through a five course meal in a room where temperatures exceeded 35 °C is of course not a pleasant experience. And to add more insult to the many injuries incurred tap water was forbidden and if requested denied without apology; therefore guests were expected to buy bottled water at 5 euro’s – the waiters were quite literally like flies around poo; every five minutes they would enquire, with a sinister grin slapped over their cheesy faces, if we required some more bottled water. Ironic, we thought it, that during breakfast, during cool mornings, a jug of – we presumed – tap water was laid out on the drinks table.

Unfortunately after a couple of days my partner was ill and had to be taken to hospital. I felt that the hotel didn’t offer much support whilst we were going through this very stressful time. We left 4 days earlier than booked, meaning they had a spare room to rent out and the remaining £950 we’d paid for rest of the holiday. So on leaving we asked for a packed lunch for our journey back, as we were not dining. We received two stale crusty roles and a slice of processed cheese – a disgusting show considering that this was a four star hotel. This was the final straw and after this we were happy to depart: Lake Garda is no longer one of the most beautiful places to visit but a place where, quite literally, every Euro is leached out of tourists.

As a consequence of all this unpleasantness I have renamed this hotel: The Last Bastion of Fascism. And I give it 2 stars! My advice – find a different hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anoymous A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruggerotogni, Direttore at Bellevue San Lorenzo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear Ms Anymous A.
many thanks for spending so much of your time in reviewing our hotel. Let us say that we were very upset to read all your negative comments. We are always very careful to critics and impressions, as it’s the best way to better and improve, but we cannot accept lies about our hotel; that’s why this is a democratic answer to an offensive review.

First of all the position too close to the road; on our website in the section WE ARE HERE it’s well clear that the hotel is above the main road!
Our guests are kindly asked to wear long trousers at dinner; in order to avoid people entering the dining room with swim suit or pool clothes (as your boyfriend done). That’s clearly indicated in the information book in the room; it’s exactly written LONG TROUSERS FOR MEN AT DINNER ARE APPRECIATED, we never wrote NOT ESSENTIAL! Of course can happen that somebody doesn’t watch the information, for that reason the head waiter asks (always in a courteous and discreet way) to wear long trousers in the following evenings. None shout at you that evening and you forgot to mention that also a German guest has been kindly requested to wear long trousers.
You’ve seen other guests wearing shorts because we don’t send anyone in the room to change clothes, we just ask for the following evenings. Every single guest is for us the most important, no matter from which country.
The temperature in the dining room is always under control and it never goes above 25-27 degrees, also because the glass walls are always open on the garden and the breeze at that time its more refreshing than the air conditioning.
Tap water is not forbidden; you asked for water at breakfast and the waiter informed you that it was available on the buffet; moreover he said he was happy to bring it to your table! As said, tap water is drinkable, even if we always advise that it may taste likes chlorine and that it’s not very cold.
Just to point out; glass bottles of water (75 ml) in the dining room cost 3 Euro, plastic bottles (50 ml) in the room minibar cost 1 Euro! All the prices are clearly showed on our menus.
We will not spend a word to justify your rudeness in calling our restaurant staff “flies around poo”, no comment.
Last but not least: you didn’t ask for a packet lunch, we proposed you one because we were aware that your flight was late in the evening. Our packet lunch consists in two sandwiches, two apples and two peaches; yes, it’s not a 3 stars Michelin dinner, but it’s a service that we are always happy to offer to our guests.

What a delusion, reading your review; we asked your boyfriend every day, plenty of times, how he was feeling, we organised taxis from/to the hospitals, we sent faxes to your insurance company, we helped you in translating the medical report and we put you into contact with your tour operator representative.
We are not perfect, we know, but we are proud to do our best to make everyone happy at the Bellevue; the best result for us is having repeat guests year by year.
You never complained when you were here, but you preferred to write publicly but in a anonymous way lots of falsities in a bad manner, insulting our workers, our job and our efforts.
Best regards from the owner and the staff, included of course the flies around the poo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Lovely hotel in idyllic setting. Food excellent. Staff helpful and attentive. Only criticism was the airconditioning. In our room it was virtually non-existent. We complained from 1st night onwards and despite visits from the maintenance men, no improvement. Told by the receptionist that the A/C was only on 2hours early morning and 6 hours in the evening and NOT overnight. As ours was non-existent we were offered an alternative twin room after the 5 night where the A/C was available 24/7 and very effective. The restricted A/C should be noted in the brochure description.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Vic D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruggerotogni, Direttore at Bellevue San Lorenzo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Hello,
Thank you for the review following your recent stay with us, we are very grateful for all the feedback we receive and appreciate the time you have taken to write it.
We are very pleased that you appreciated the many points you mentioned and we are sorry if you found disappointing the air conditioning time. We are aware that it might be a bit uncomfortable but we’d like to underline that a.c. is working according to the outside temperature and we turn it off in the morning, while the cleanings girls are making up the rooms. The villas of our hotel are historical villas and it’s not possible for us to have a modern and technological system, which turns automatically the a.c. off if windows/doors are open. We are proud to use water and electricity in a thoughtful and reflected way, in order to avoid ecological and economical wastefulness.
We hope to be able to welcoming you again soon!
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

My two sisters and I stayed at this hotel for the first week of June. From the moment we arrived walking through the garden to the reception to the end of our week we had the most wonderful time. The hotel itself was a lovely building set in a beautiful well tended garden and full of the owners art collection. Our bedroom was simple with a very large bathroom. The view from our balcony up the lake was stunning. All the staff including the owner who was around a lot were charming and helpful. The food was excellent- 5 courses for dinner for 25euros. In comparison we had a bowl of pasta and some tirimisu in a cafe in Malchesine for almost the same price and it was of very poor quality. The hotel was ideally situated above the busy road which encircles the lake so we were not distubed by the traffic. A 20min stroll along the lake shore brought us to the village which was very pretty with an interesting castle and a cable car to the top of the mountain and boat trips across the lake. The swimming pool and terrace had fantastic views and we liked the sauna and steam room. All in all a perfect week.

Room Tip: we were in Room 104 looking up the lake situated above the main entrance which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fiona812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruggerotogni, Direttore at Bellevue San Lorenzo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Hello,
Thank you for the Tripadvisor review
We hope to welcome you back to the Bellevue San Lorenzo in the near future
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stopped in Bellevue in July 12 - loved the pool and gardens. Excellent views!! Our room was clean but pretty dated and basic which seems to be the norm for Italy as this was my fourth time over there. Air con was good. Whilst getting ready for dinner however, we kept having power cuts which would put the bathroom in total darkness and I was concerned for my pregnant wife. We were also there for a weddding so on the third day of cuts I complained to the male receptionist who I assumed was the manager but whilst trying to explain he got very rude and I could then see that he was drunk. I appreciate Malcesine is a small town and therefore maybe prone to power cuts but for £1600 per couple per week I didn't expect the poor customer service we received on something that really we shouldn't have to complain about.
The restaurant however was excellent and food gorgeous. Head waiter was great and a good laugh. To be honest all the other staff were very friendly too. Breakfast was good - typical Italian breakfast. Just shame about the drunken manager - I mean every night after that I got the tough guy stares.... lol hope hes not in the mob.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dove7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruggerotogni, Direttore at Bellevue San Lorenzo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Hello!
Thanks for the review and time you spent in writing it.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed pool & gardens. We do offer different styles of rooms at the hotel so next time you’re in maybe we can offer you something more to your liking.
Regarding the power cuts: the most of the times when it happens it’s something that doesn’t depend from us, they are general sudden changes in tension. We are sorry to hear that you found the owner of the hotel very rude. We always try to satisfy the more as possible the problems of our guests. When you are owner of an hotel unfortunately you cannot take a “day off”, even if you are ill and he surely didn’t want to be rude at all. To be honest it’s very frustrating not be able to solve problems, as for example the power cuts.
Our customer care is something we are particularly proud of in the hotel and we are very sorry you didn’t felt it.
I hope this experience will not detract you from choosing our hotel again in the future.
Our best wishes for your baby!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Lovely hotel,beautiful location,very romantic.staff couldn't do enough.my girlfriend and I stayed in room 131,lovely room with gorgeous views of lake Garda.huge balcony with 2 double doors.
Beds were comfy,bathroom was amazing,the hotel itself was perfect.
Only criticism was that the restaurant was slightly stuffy,no atmosphere and everyone seem to be whispering.
Go into malcesine for dinner,some beautifully situated restaurants in town and the walk from the hotel along the lake to the town is breathtaking

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruggerotogni, Direttore at Bellevue San Lorenzo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Hello
Thanks for the excellent Tripadvisor review.
We hope we to welcome you back again soon
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0.7 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#1 of 71 in Malcesine
630 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#6 of 71 in Malcesine
334 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vega
Hotel Vega
#3 of 71 in Malcesine
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Val di Sogno
Hotel Val di Sogno
#9 of 71 in Malcesine
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Maximilian
Hotel Maximilian
#12 of 71 in Malcesine
268 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#2 of 71 in Malcesine
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue San Lorenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue San Lorenzo

Address: Via Gardesana 164 | Lacalita Dos Ferri, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Malcesine
#20 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range: £176 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bellevue San Lorenzo 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Spa Bellevue San Lorenzo is a beautiful 4 star hotel in Malcesine (Verona), directly on the Lake Garda. The Hotel offers: restaurant, spa, bar, relax rooms, garden and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bellevue San Lorenzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue San Lorenzo Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing