We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Gorgeous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bellevue San Lorenzo
Ranked #14 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2009

Every where you look it is so beautiful, the hotel grounds are so relaxing and picturesque.
We booked this holiday through Citalia and got private transfers to the hotel, a balcony with the room in the red building (which in my opinion is the best building to be in as has gorgeous views). Was not the cheapest holiday but well worth it and looking at other hotels in area, im ssssssssssoooooooooooo glad we chose this one, def the best in Masceline.
The views are just amazing as you are set up high. just above main road, but didnt make much difference to our holiday we were just pleased with hotel.
Hotel is 10-15 minute walk to malcesine town/village, it has quite a few shops, restaurants etc. You can also catch ferry to other villages around the lake, which I would recommend. Whilst out here we also went on one of the hotel tours to milan, which was approx 3 hour journey there, to get into the cathedral do not wear shorts otherwise they will not let you in! as i learnt.
Only thing I would change about this holiday was not to go at end of september as could not go in infinity pool as a little nippy.
Tips: My partner always tips the waiter who serves us at the start of the holiday (usually 15-20 euros). He will then look after you for the remainder. We would always get a nice greeting, recommendations on food and once he got chef to cook steak for us as only game left on menu and I didnt like this but accepted as we were late for dinner, did not ask for steak, not that cheeky! lol.
Would def recommend this hotel and will def go back as so beautiful once Ive seen rest of world I want to. LOVE ITALY!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EnglishKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2009

The hotel looks beautiful,but the service was awful.No one greated us by breakfast,they served us slowly or not at all.We had no airconditional in the room,but an old broken shower.
It is also impossible to reach the swimmingpool area because it is too small for this much people.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puma25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

The Bellevue San Lorenzo is superb hotel, well worthy of its 4 star rating. It is comprised of a collection of villas in a beautiful location. The location, is one of its attractions, but also one and only one of its drawbacks. Yes, its those steps, down to the promenade! However, there is an alternative, read on please...

To avoid crossing the road on a blind bend and taking those rickety steps down to the lakeside promenade, try this instead. "Leave the hotel at its main entrance, walk along the main road heading gently down towards Malcesine. Keep well over to the right, be observant, and you should be OK. After about 300 metres, cross at the pedestrian crossing, (don't expect drivers to stop though), walk a further 20 metres and you will come to a path. Turn sharp left here and this short path will take you straight down to the lakeside promenade. A far better alternative, is lit at night, and is far easier on the leg muscles on the return."

However, back to the hotel. We had a wonderful time here, the staff are all helpful, cheerful and made us feel welcome. Food and selection excellent, Luca the head waiter and Giuseppe our waiter were both charming and helped us learn a few more Italian phrases each day. Our room was clean and well presented. I tried the air-con which did work effectively, but as it was September we didn't need it.

Would we visit this hotel again? Most definitely! I would fully recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unixman72000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

This hotel has some of the best views over the lakes you will get..
A Lovely hotel wtih nice rooms fantastic views and a great little pool with nice loungers.
Very nice staff at the reception and the bar always willing to help and chat..

A nice walk along the lake in to the town whic has some lovely little bars and resaurants Maybe a problem with any one with walking problems as lots of steps down to the walk way but a taxi would be very cheap into town..

Would 100% stay again

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vodkasuntan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

We were taken to the hotel using the shuttle bus rather than the private taxi, which was fine as you travel along the lake for most of the journey. You are dropped off at the bottom of the drive and down a bit so have pull along suitcases and not too much to carry if you choose this option. Also, if like us your German and Italian is nonexistent, then look for the hotel sign as you pass it because no one speaks much English and you'll just be pointed in the general direction. It's really not a long walk just a steepish one!

When you arrive at the hotel you're immediately greeted by the stunning lake views and all the wonderful seating areas to sit at and just enjoy this view. The hotel is beautiful and you appreciate this much more after passing the numerous apartment type blocks on your journey there..it is made up of traditional lake side style villa/buildings.
We stayed in the red villa, which is by the pool. The room was ok: good size, fantastic view over the lake from the balcony but you can hear the other rooms, which unfortunately spent all night flushing their toilets and banging doors. There is a TV but the only English channel is the news. This is fine as you'll be out most of the time but when you get into bed and just want to unwind a bit then another channel would've been nice. We took our laptop too, which was handy for playing a DVD but take your own as they don't sell them locally and the hotel doesn't store them. I can imagine this would be a must if you have a child travelling with you. There is free internet access in the lounge area in the main building. Definitely pay for the lake view room but if we could do it again we'd pay for a suite.

Breakfast is buffet style with salami/meat/cheese/bacon and eggs, tinned fruit, yoghurt, cereals, bread rolls, croissants, jams/marmalade/honey and the night befores desserts! There are some really lovely sparrow/finches that visit every morning and fly onto the tables - much amusement to watch.
Dinner is 4 courses, which is typical for the area apparently: an entree, which is usually a terrine or something light (set), a first course which is usually a soup/lasagne/small pasta (choice of 3), a main course which was a choice of 3 usually fish and two meats and then dessert, which was a choice of 3 or 4 and was always fantastic - e.g. local ricotta cheesecake/tiramisu. There is also a salad bar, which you can help yourself to but it reminded us of the pizza hut salad bar. The food is OK but we can't understand why everyone was raving about it because it is definitely average.
There is a bar and terrace that overlook the lake and they serve cocktails etc. We loved the local 'Spritz' that everyone drinks and my husband was partial to their white russians until the barman decided to use whipped cream instead of normal cream.
The service was fantastic by all the restaurant staff and they were super friendly unlike the rest of the locals and the bar man.
The only facility available at the hotel when we were there was the pool as the wellness centre was out of commission. The pool is even more stunning than the photos suggest but there is limited seating and there seemed to be pretty fierce competition for the sun loungers. I did watch from my window, numerous guests get out there at about 8am in order to bagsy their lounger!! There are other loungers set in the grounds itself but we only did a few hours there as there's so much to see and visit in the local area.

The walk into Malcesine isn't as bad as everyone said. If you cross over at the hotel then yes there is some horrendous steps to walk down (have included pic) and if you walk along the road the whole way then you'd be taking your life into your own hands but it if you walk a short distance to the zebra crossing (which is optional for drivers to stop at) that is just past where you'd have been dropped off initially then it's a very pleasant walk along the lake into town. We'd do this about 3 times a day and it's about 15 mins on the flat so unless you're very unfit or struggle with simple steps then it should be fine. The walk really is beautiful and you don't tire of it. The reward at the other end is stunning Malcesine and a 'coppa Nutella' (Nutella sundae) which they sell by the castle itself. There's also a lovely little bar which has seating up on the edge of the castle which also overlooks the lake.

Lots to do in the area - musts are the cable car, which takes you to the top of Mount Baldo where the views are absolutely breathtaking. Snow capped mountains in the background and lovely coffee on the Alps. You can do a tandem jump too if you’re brave! There are lots of boats that you can use to travel from port to port with a variety of deals. Great way to get around as is the local bus, which will take you into Verona for 10 Euros return. There are theme parks on this route too. I would investigate the area and what you want to do before you go because there's a lot in the area and it may be beneficial so you can use your time wisely. It may even be worth doing 5 days there and then 2 nights in Venice or Milan.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmaAvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2009

Hotel was set in stunning grounds and in a beautiful location. The infinity pool was lovely too. We found the room very clean, lots of fresh towels and a nice bathroom. The evening meal and breakfast was served by friendly and helpful waiting staff. It was a joy to be at this hotel. The only downside was that the lunchtime snack menu was limited. I would definitely stay here again - a wonderful place.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2008

My Sister and I spent a wonderful 2 weeks holiday at this Hotel and we both were welcomed as if we were one of the family and that all of the Staff could not do enough for us to make our stay comfortable.
The hotel was spotlessly clean and the food in the Restaurant was supberb, in the whole 2 weeks we were there we did not have a repeat of a meal each day was different.
The Menus were set out in both English and German so there was no confusion of what we were having and if we were not sure of a dish then it was fully explained by the staff.
We are definitely returning for another holiday in Sept 2009.
It is a little distance from Malcesine but it is a pleasant walk or they have an excellent Taxi service, from and to the hotel which we used most of the time.
So looking forward to our return........

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FranmSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
1.4 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#6 of 71 in Malcesine
334 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#1 of 71 in Malcesine
630 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#2 of 71 in Malcesine
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vega
Hotel Vega
#3 of 71 in Malcesine
467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#5 of 71 in Malcesine
623 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Val di Sogno
Hotel Val di Sogno
#9 of 71 in Malcesine
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue San Lorenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue San Lorenzo

Address: Via Gardesana 164 | Lacalita Dos Ferri, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Malcesine
#20 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range: £171 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bellevue San Lorenzo 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Spa Bellevue San Lorenzo is a beautiful 4 star hotel in Malcesine (Verona), directly on the Lake Garda. The Hotel offers: restaurant, spa, bar, relax rooms, garden and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Bellevue San Lorenzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue San Lorenzo Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing