We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms with a wonderful view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ranked #6 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I heartily recommend this hotel. The location on the lake front, and positioning of the rooms, restaurant area, and pool, mean that you are never without a lake view. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The staff are very polite and helpful and the meals were excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank margarite8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2011

We were attending a wedding in Malcesine and booked a classic double room with terrace access to the lake, for 2 nights at the end of August 2011. We were extremely satisfied with this modern hotel and would have no hesitation in returning. The room although not massive was very clean with comfortable beds and cool even though the outside temperature was hotter than normal even for Italy. The air conditioning went off whilst we were out of the room but cooled it down reasonably quickly once back inside. It was a real boon to be able to open the terrace doors and walk out onto our own terrace with sun shade and loungers and then some 30 yards across the hotel grass grounds to the lakeside. The one drawback we found with the room was lack of tea making facilities. We found the breakfast very good with plenty of choice and as much as you want from the buffet - however if you want a "full English" this is probably not the place for you. Having said that I did manage to scrounge a couple of rashers of bacon one morning by enquiring about the lovely smell coming from the kitchen. The waiter said they were preparing a dish for lunch and 10 minutes later he came out with the bacon without me asking. This was typical - we found the staff in all areas (reception, kitchen, pool bar, cleaning etc) some of the friendliest we have come across anywhere in the world. We did not eat any other meals in the hotel as we were occupied with our wedding group but being a nosy sort of person I had a look at the food one evening and it looked good. There is a very adequate free car park at the higher level off the main road. When going out into Malcesine we used our terrace door at lake level and walked along the lakeside path - an easy 10 minute walk to the centre of Malcesine.

Room Tip: Rooms with access to lake have many advantages in our opinion eg easy access to lakeside path, outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Peter and Pam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Having been married in the Scaligeri castle last summer, Malcesine is a very special place for us, and the PrimaLuna ensured that it remained that way.

The hotel is very quirky, and I have to admit we were slightly concerned at staying in the 'Red Room', as my wife is 6 months pregnant and we thought the Japanese-style bed might have been a challenge. It was fine, and very comfortable, with a fabulous view out across the lake to the dramatic cliffs on the opposite side. The decor in the room was great, with the shower being a real joy...although the bathroom could do with a door of SOME description at least!

Buffet breakfast overlooking the lake was fantastic, and it pays to get up early for the best window seats. The hotel provided pool towels and even flip-flops, and the pool area is simply excellent. Malcesine doesn't have too many hotels with pools, and certainly none with an outlook like this one, perched just above the shoreline. Fantastic. The sunbeds are comfortable, but the giant bean bags are definitely the way forward in sunbathing comfort - I absolutely loved sitting in there with a book. A bit of advice if, like me, you like to have a swim in the lake more than the pool - take some reef shoes, as the walk across the stones into the lake is very painful with bare feet. Lesson learned!

The Beach Bar is really handy for snacks, drinks and a spot of lunch at reasonable prices, and it means you don't have to walk back into town. We didn't have dinner in the hotel, but can recommend the Lido Paina (looks nothing from the outside, but inside the views are probably the best you'll see in Malcesine - and the food is good too!), The Garden, La Pace and Al Marinaio to name but a few. Sensational food is the norm rather than the exception in magnificent Malcesine.

Overall, we would definitely stay at the PrimaLuna again, next time with our little one in tow. I was also able to practice my Italian with the wonderful lady on reception, who only spoke to me in English if it was on something complicated!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Skis76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

From the welcome on arriving, to the farewell on leaving, our experience of this hotel was excellent. The Superior room overlooking the lake had a great view, was well maintained and with a very comfortable bed.

Cleanliness throughout was first class, all the staff were very friendly and the food from a buffet breakfast, to lunchtime bar meals and the evening dinner was of high quality.

Some may find the decor 'surprising' but we thought it a welcome change.

Room Tip: Go for a Superior room with a lake view. We found 218 had a great view and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ShropshireBorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We loved this hotel. The decor is very modern, but even if it is not to your taste this is not what you will remember most about this hotel. It is the ever so friendly (multi-lingual) staff, the delicious food at breakfast and the evening meal (half board) and the close proximity to beautiful Lake Garda, only a short walk (10 minutes) from Malcesine old town centre. The hotel's facilities were excellent, with the pools, free internet in reception and the beach bar; we didn't use the rceently installed gym but had a look at it and it looked excellently equipped. Whilst we were there on our honeymoon there were a mix of guests including young couples, retired couples, families, children and even one dog. All in all a thoroughly enjoyable stay that exceeded our expectations. We hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior lake view room (larger, faces onto the lake, free bottled water, beach towels and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Miss_Teabag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We chose this hotel as our base for the occasion of our daughter's wedding and what a perfect choice it was. I cannot praise too highly this hotel and staff. The owners, Antonio and Claudia are incredibly hospitable and charming - they could not do enough for us. Reception staff also very kind. We had booked 9 rooms altogether for family and friends and other guests were accommodated in various hotels in the town of Malcesine. The evening before the wedding they organised at our request a lovely champagne (prosecco) reception for everyone, about 50 guests in total, together with delicious canapes. Virtually everyone then decided to stay for dinner, I didn't think this would be possible at such short notice, but it was no problem for them and a 4 course dinner was enjoyed by all with a flambe for dessert especially prepared for us. It was a beautiful evening and with such a gorgeous setting, I felt as if we were having the wedding reception before the wedding! The hotel is beside the lake and the views amazing. It's only a short walk beside the lake to Malcesine town.

At the time of our stay for 15 or 20 euros, depending on the menu, a 4 course meal with an aperitif was available not only to the hotel guests but also to friends of the guests who were staying elsewhere - we thought this was an exceptionally good deal and I have to say the food was consistently very good with a nice choice of courses. Super breakfasts with plenty of choice and eggs quickly cooked to order - omelettes, scrambled eggs, fried etc. I must mention Laura here who was so pleasant, dealing with all our requests for eggs cooked in various ways so quickly, also the young men waiting at the tables, so polite and efficient. The whole of the one side of the dining room was glass with doors which opened on to a balcony - breathtaking views.

The hotel has a good sized freeform swimming pool and jacuzzi and of course being alongside the lake has a little beach and easy access to swimming. Pool towels are available. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the beds very comfy. The decor in the rooms is quirky and the style minimalist and modern throughout the hotel, the wooden floors and furnishings in the rooms looked new, in fact everything looked new. We mainly had ground floor rooms so that we could all meet up on the lawns outside, overlooking the lake. What a setting!

When bride and groom returned to their room after all the fun of the reception, they found their room beautifully decorated, such a nice touch. Also, Claudia gave us a spare room so that we could lay out the wedding dress and use it as a dressing room on the morning of the wedding.

We stayed here for only 5 nights, I was so sorry when it all ended. We are planning to go back to Prima Luna next year for a more relaxing time, although I have to say the wedding was fantastic, organised by Lake Garda Weddings - faultless. As was the hotel! I hope to be able to put some photos on at a later date.

There is plenty of parking space available at the hotel.

Thankyou Claudia and Antonio and the rest of the staff for helping make my daughter's wedding such a special occasion for all of us.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AnnePenrhos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

A superb lakeside location, attractive décor, and the staff could not be friendlier.
Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suse_paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malcesine
7.4 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
1,158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#18 of 71 in Malcesine
175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#2 of 71 in Malcesine
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#1 of 71 in Malcesine
630 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vega
Hotel Vega
#3 of 71 in Malcesine
467 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambienthotel PrimaLuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambienthotel PrimaLuna

Address: Via Retelino 4, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Malcesine
#8 Family Hotel in Malcesine
#8 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range: £115 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambienthotel PrimaLuna 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ambienthotel PrimaLuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy
Ambienthotel Primaluna Hotel Malcesine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing