We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon at Primaluna” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambienthotel PrimaLuna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ranked #7 of 70 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Honeymoon at Primaluna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

We recently had our honeymoon at the Prima Luna through Inghams and it was excellent! The hotel is in the perfect location to easily walk into town, it has a little pebble beach right in front of the hotel with sun loungers which can be used. The rooms were great, if a little post-modern in decor and the food was brilliant. In fact the food was too good - sometimes we were eating way too much and regretting it! Upon arrival we had red and white bed linen with heart patterned pillows and a cheerful greeting from staff. They were very helpful in reception and the dining room was always accomodating if you were early out or late back from a trip. We loved the fact there was a hot tub with views out over the lakes/mountains - the only draw back being that children were allowed to get in there - which isn't overly romantic when they jump in straight after you switch it on! Malcesine had plenty to see and do ad the location is great for visiting Venice and Verona! We definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    49
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
77
145
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Samara, Russia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

Very mixed impression of this hotel.
Good. Great location near a beach and very near to the lovely town of Malcesine. All possibilities for recreation and sports. Wonderful pool and sunbathing area with a beautiful lake view A very friendly lady at the front desk will gladly help resolve all possible questions. Wi-fi was free and worked well. A very good breakfast – a big variety of products to choose from, and additionally you can order eggs cooked any way you like – for free. There is a snack-bar with very tasty pasta and pizza, working during a day, and evening restaurant with good food. The rooms have everything for a sufficient comfort, amazing lake view from the balconies or terrace. . In general we liked the unusual avant-garde style of public areas. This style of incomplete construction or some devastation and maybe someone is fond of it and feels comfortable in that environment, as for us, we like a contemporary exhibitions and installations and did not feel the common areas interior repulsive , it was even in something fresh and cool, horrible but beautiful.
About bad. We liked everything except the interior of our superior room – they need to do something with it really. It's cool if only to come for a tour - not to live here. To say it was ugly – to say nothing, you need to see. Avant-garde trash style of this room reduced to absurdity. It was like a gloomy and depressing chamber with a deliberately scratched roughly plastered walls - painted in ugly dirty colour, minimalist interior, concrete walls toilet. We had the feeling that during the construction phase the owners decided not to spend money on a room finishing – decided it cheap and outside the box, but at least like the best, it turned horrible. Black iron piece over the bed, terrible mat covering the air conditioner, the pieces of pressed sawdust depicting desks on both sides of the window - - why two? - and small chairs on which you do not want to sit down when some things will be hanging on it. There was no normal curtains - only small short pieces of white fabric covered half of the window, holding on sticks, inserted in the middle of the window that constantly fall off. It covered nothing. Room will look decent until you lay and hang your things because the wardrobe has an open design, all things lie open and create the appearance of untidiness and clutter in the room. Being in this ugly room can get depressed. The advantages of the superior room - located on the upper floor, large shower with modern fittings, a set of tea, free water and beach towels. But I never will stop another time in this room, it is really depressing. We were happy that lived in this room only one night and leaved next morning.
On the other hand I liked a classic standard room (our girlfriend had such) on the first floor. It was much more attractive, it had roughly painted walls, one in a brick color another is yellow (more attractive colors then in our room), this room is really better looking and much more cozy. It has a normal big thick curtains and comfortable couch instead of stupid transparent chairs that are in superior room. Normal bathroom without concrete walls. Location on the ground floor does not make a lake view worse, and this room has access to a green lawn with deck chairs for sunbathing.
The hotel in general is very good, but it is pretty expensive to pay for such depressive superior room - so don’t take such, and you will enjoy this hotel more than we did. I’d not hesitate to return because everything else was perfect..
So will you like a hotel or not - you will not remain indifferent, you will be intrigued, and you will remember it.
As for town of Malcesine - it is a must in Garda lake area. Much has been written about the attractions of the city, I will not repeat, except to say that this city has its own spirit and attractive atmosphere, despite the large number of tourists crowding the streets. The city to which it is pleasant to wander slowly, oblivious of time, and a walk on the mountain of Monte Baldo in a nice clear day - it's a miracle.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natella_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Very good location on the lake (600 meters from the center of Malcesine).
Rooms are very clean, with great views to the lake, spacious and convenient with wifi, safe and mini fridge.
The hotel has free parking and elevator.
The breakfast was very good also and the breakfast room has a nice view to the lake.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaltiH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Scotland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed at Sister hotel, Luna Rossa a 10 minute walk from Prima Luna and after reading previous reviews about the restaurant, decided to dine there on our first evening. We were served the most delicious food and wine at a very reasonable price. The service was excellent and such was our experience that we dined in the restaurant on another two evenings. On each occassion the food was delicious and could not be faulted in any way.

Give Prima Luna a try for dinner and you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SauvignonBlanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

The hotel is built in a quirky "de-constructed" style. However in terms of food service and friendly staff it has very high and traditional standards. It is in a lovely position on the lakeside with a nice pool where it is easy to find a sunbed. We stayed half-board and the food and restaurant service was excellent. All of the staff from the manager, front desk to the chambermaids were very friendly and welcoming. It is a 10-15 minute walk into the town of Malcesine (with one very steep 150 metre stretch) which is delightful; nice harbour, restaurants, shops and bars. A trip in the cable car is worth it for the views, but best to go early in the morning to avoid queues. A really nice relaxing hotel in a lovely place to stay

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BirminghamWeekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ickenham
Level Contributor
88 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Just spent a delightful two weeks at the PrimaLuna and had a marvellous stay. The location of the hotel is great and the town of Malcesine is a delight and there are plenty of trips you can take on the ferries to other resorts.

The hotel design is quirky but fun, but it has all the facilities you require. The staff are genuinely friendly and helpful. The food at the hotel was really a highlight with an excellent range of food cooked to order throughout our stay. Did not have one bad meal and felt no need to try local restaurants as price and quality of food would be hard to beat.

My wife and I both thought this was one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in for several years and would hope to return to in the future which we would rarely consider doing.

Top marks all round!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor open onto grassed area have own sun lounges and have direct access to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IckenhamChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

After reading and researching reviews, booked this hotel for a 2 night anniversary trip for myself and partner (11-13 July 2012).

Throughly enjoyed our stay. Particularly impressed with the quirkiness of the hotel. Very original, contemporary design. Lovely room/balcony view. Spotlessly clean.

Staff (Reception Desk) /Manager all exceptionally friendly, helpful, attentive and spoke perfect English!

Booked on Half Board option as only extra 10 Euro pp per night. Well worth as this included ample breakfast choice plus a 4 course meal both nights, which was excellent.

Excellent location overlloking Lake front. 7-10 min walk to castle (amazin views) along pedestrian footpath. 10-15 mins into malcesine Bus Station and Mount Baldo cable car station.

Would highly recommend this gem of a hotel and hope to return there again in the not too distant future!! Thank you to all at Ambient Primaluna for making our stay a memorable one! : )

Room Tip: Ambient rooms with Lake View. Red Ambient are apparently more romantic (red walls/futon style bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malcesine
1.6 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#3 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#1 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 32 in Torbole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Majestic Palace Hotel
Majestic Palace Hotel
#13 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#2 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambienthotel PrimaLuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambienthotel PrimaLuna

Property: Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Address: Via Retelino 4, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Malcesine
#8 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
#10 Family Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambienthotel PrimaLuna 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ambienthotel PrimaLuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy
Ambienthotel Primaluna Hotel Malcesine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing