We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

We didn't say here but stopped for an afternoon of the beach after a walk on the north shore. Hired two beds and drinks, ice creams and coffee. All for less than 20 euros.
All good with great service.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed at the prima Luna from 28th aug to 1st sept for our wedding on 30th August at malcesine castle. We cannot thank the owners-Antonio and Claudia-enough, they were so helpful in arranging our wedding reception which we had on the veranda overlooking the lake-perfect! They made us feel like we were the only guests on our wedding day, and nothing was too much trouble! The service they provide is second to none and they really care about each of their guests.
We had a junior suite room overlooking the lake, the views were amazing! The rooms are not massive so I would recommend a junior suite for it to compare to a standard size hotel room in the uk. The decor is very alternative, it wasn't my taste but my husband loved it, saying that it did not spoil my stay the atmosphere and service overrides everything.
The food is amazing- to be honest italian food in general is the best food we have ever eaten.
We will definitely be returning in the near future, thank you for making our day so special.

Room Tip: Junior suite lake view-stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed for 7 nights in August. Great location, right on the lakefront path, steps from the beach. We (2 adults + 1 child) stayed in a Classic Plus room on the ground floor facing the lake. Quite roomy (especially for Europe). Comfortable beds, clean room, well-lit. About a 15-20-minute walk to town, so easy to get there for meals, but far enough away from the crowds. The water in the lake was a bit chilly, so thankful for the hotel pool. Breakfast had a good variety and great views. Cleaning service was great; they made up the room regardless of when we left.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FuzzSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel due to the great reviews. We had a room " on the backside " as we were told!! It had no view and was very clean but not luxurious. [No rooms were available with views of the Lake.]
However, if you want the view, this hotel has glorious ones from the pool area [with plenty sun loungers and umbrellas], the bar area and the breakfast /dining room.
The breakfast is superb and hot food will be made if you request it.
Decorate is a bit wacky but fun. Staff are very helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eater-outers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Antonio and Claudia are an awesome couple who take pride in this first class, family run hotel. The hotel is located directly on the water with spectacular views in every direction. During our trip across Italy, we had our finest meals at the hotel restaurant. We could not find a reason to eat out, as the food, views and staff were impeccable - fine dining at a surprisingly fair price. Thanks Antonio, for the great wine recommendations and for taking the time to describe the numerous dishes offered on the evening's menu which changed every night.
The breakfast was plentiful and included more than enough delicious options to start our day. The location is prime - just a ten minute walk along a lovely lake path to both the tram up to Monte Baldo and the historic center of Malcesine.
We had an awesome time at Lake Garda and the hotel choice was one of the main reasons. We will come back to enjoy Garda and the Hotel PrimaLuna!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiCrMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Second year for all 3 generations (grandparents love it!). The decor is a little strange but not offensive. Everybody is incredibly helpful and the meals are excellents, great choice and fantastic wines on offer.

We will be booking again for next year, we love Malcesine and used to stay up in the hills behind it until we found Prima Luna.

Only downside is that Malcesine seems to be being taken over by wedding parties. Not in itself a bad thing but it can get a bit repetitive. There were 3 in the hotel during our stay but to be fair, we didn't notice the actual wedding ceremony, it was kept separate from the main areas of the hotel.

All that said, a fab place to stay!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank Madg1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed 1-15 May 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay. We arrived from Verona after a nice short flight (1hr 40mins) and enjoyed the minibus trip from the airport with excellent commentary from the Inghams rep.
Claudia, who with her husband Antonio, owns and runs the Prima Luna Ambient Hotel, met us at road level and we took the small but useful lift down to the floor where our lake facing room was located. We were immediately struck with Claudia's friendly, welcoming nature. Our room had a small balcony overlooking the lake and we were glad that other TripAdvisor reviews had recommended paying a little more for a lake view, it was well worth it.
The hotel is right on the lake an easy 5 minute walk along the lake path to Malcesine which is a charming town with its castle and lots of restaurants, cafes and shops. There is a main harbour where you board a variety of boats that go north and south to other lake towns. The boat ticket office is in the small square near the boat jetties, do remember to grab a discount voucher from your hotel and that for 20 euros you can buy either a north or south day ticket but you are restricted to the towns fairly close to your point of departure so we went to Limone, Torbole and Riva which are the three towns north of Malcesine (we didn't think any of them were as nice ioho as Malcesine).
Our hotel bed was comfortable, the bathroom had a large shower and everything worked. The food was delicious with cooked eggs on offer for breakfast along with cold meats, fruit salad, cereals, a variety of breads, and a high tech but easy to use coffee machine (it produced lots of different types of coffees). The views out over the Lake were always uplifting and breakfasts tended to be slow affairs and left us able to have a very modest snack at lunchtime (we often bought picnic stuff from the very good value Spar supermarket in Malcesine).
Dinner was four courses with a cold buffet you helped yourself to followed by a starter, main and desert which was served. Good wine list and enough choice in the 17-25 euro price range.
All the staff were very friendly, nice, helpful with particular mention of Antonio & Claudia, Livio, Daniella, and Aniella in reception. The cleaners cleaned the room properly.
We did use the swimming pool but it was very cold (as expected in May) but the pool area with its sunbeds was great for sunning and reading (embarrassed to admit I got a bit sunburnt, doh).
We went up on the cable car to the top of Monte Baldo and it worth getting in the queue earlier (it must be essential to be early during the summer season) and we had most of a day up at the top watching the Para gliders throw themselves off the mountain, enjoying the fab views and having lunch at the restaurant. An essential trip and it's at Malcesine. If you wanted to have a serious walk then you can walk down into the valley the other side of the mountain top but proper walking shoes and sticks would make this easier. You can also walk down from the top using the paths, again proper walking shoes with ankle support and sticks would be best as some parts of the path are quite steep.
We also enjoyed watching the Para gliders landing at their designated grass landing area (great fun on a bit of a windy day when some just don't make the landing area and end up in the Lake but the rescue boats were always there to rescue them).
There are also benches and small pebble beaches along the northern path which were virtually deserted but beware Swan the Mugger who mugged wifey for her baguette! Talk about bold! Having had a few titbits, he came stomping up the beach and pecked wifey until she surrendered the rest of her lunch. I had to admire his style................
We were very fortunate with our weather with one rainy day, another two part rain, part sun and the rest were sunny with three hot ones so the 1st two weeks of May worked for us. We really liked the hotel having enough guests so it had atmosphere (including the UK wedding party) but wasn't so busy (and nor was anywhere else nearby) so I'd recommend avoiding the school summer holiday period if you can.
Lovely holiday all round and would thoroughly recommend Hotel Prima Luna and Malcesine.

Room Tip: Pay the surcharge for a lake facing room, it's well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChisChas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malcesine
7.4 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
1,158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#18 of 71 in Malcesine
175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#2 of 71 in Malcesine
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#1 of 71 in Malcesine
630 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vega
Hotel Vega
#3 of 71 in Malcesine
467 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambienthotel PrimaLuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambienthotel PrimaLuna

Address: Via Retelino 4, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Malcesine
#8 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
#8 Family Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range: £115 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambienthotel PrimaLuna 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ambienthotel PrimaLuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy
Ambienthotel Primaluna Hotel Malcesine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing