We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, will be back”
Review of Hotel Capri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Capri
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed here for the May Bank Holiday week, had a fantastic time the hotel was spotless and the staff always friendly and helpful. We stayed HB the food was exceptional and the choice was always good. We had a lake view and it was well worth it to wake up to this ever ymorning.
We travelled with Thomson and they lived up to their good reputation from leaving and returning to UK. We did some trips through them - The Dolomites, was good, but the coach journey was too long, we felt this could be done with less stops. Also did Verona with the wine tour, this was a good day, enough time to see the city and the wine tour was excellent. Snacks to eat and about 5 wines to try, the wines were good and we bought some for around 3euro per bottle which was excellent. We also went to Venice by Day, this was well worth the visit busy in the tourist spots but you could get away from this. Both the Verona and Venice trips had a local guide which we felt was uselful as they gave you lots of good advice. Thought Malcesine was an excellent choice on the lake, nice town and good base for attractions, Monte Baldo well worth the trip we walked the ridge with fantastic views, but you do need proper footwear. The cable car 18euro each but worth it. The local people were very friendly, everywhere was so clean and tidy and we didn't find it too expensive. Lived well above all our expectations, there is so much more we want to see so we will definatley be returning. And would recommend resort and hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2011

My wife and I stayed at Capri for our wedding and honeymoon. Most of our family and friends also stayed here. Marco and Emil are so friendly and did so much more than you could expect to make sure everything was perfect for us. This hotel should have 4 stars. Highly recommended. Mr & Mrs King

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halifaxkings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We stayed in the Hotel Capri for 2 weeks while in Malcesine for our wedding in May. We had an exclusive room so we had two bathrooms; one to store the wedding dress away from the groom! Everyone at the hotel made us welcome and after 2 weeks it felt like home. Emil especially was fantastic, always making time to talk to us and laugh with us. He was always there to answer our questions and help us.

The room was clean and comfortable and was cleaned each day while we were at breakfast. We stayed B&B only so can’t comment about the food for evening meal. Breakfast was a buffet of scrambled/boiled eggs, bacon, hams, cheese, cereals, fruit yoghurt and (strangely) cake! The views across the lake from the balcony were stunning, particularly in the morning when the mountains on the opposite shore lit up in the morning sun. The facilities are superb, a sauna, whirlpool, gym and a pool. The hotel even has bikes that you can borrow. We took them early one Saturday before breakfast along the lake to watch the windsurfers.

We walked into town each day down the steps from the hotel to the main road, across the road down another set of steps to the lake side path which leads to the town. While this wasn’t a problem for us it may be for those who cannot manage steps.

Our wedding guests were staying at other hotels but Emil organised a canapés/drinks party for our 20 wedding guests for us, even taking some of them back to their hotel personally. We held it on the roof terrace looking towards the Scaligeri castle where we were marrying. A perfect setting.

When we arrived back at the hotel on our wedding night Emil came straight to us with a bottle of Prosecco on ice and a bowl of strawberries. A lovely touch that made us feel very, very special.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Malcesine. If you are marrying in Malcesine it’s perfect for the wedding couple or a small family group.

We didn’t want to leave! We will return as it will feel like visiting family.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank triumphnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

We stayed in an apartment at the Hotel Capri from 4th - 7th November. They were really the only Hotel who would entertain a booking in the "closed season". Allthough we couldn't stop in the hotel we stayed in one of the lake view apartments. It was clean, spacious, could accomodate 4 people and with a hob and kitchen facilities you are able to cater for yourself if need be. The hotel is 10 minutes from the centre of Malcesine which is a good distance after much food & beer! There is a local Spar if you need to grab anything that you have forgotton or need and many restaurants and bars / cafes to enjoy. The biggest and best part about this hotel is the staff. Even though we went in November nothing was too much trouble. Very punctual, helpful and never more than a phone call away. Another thing is that this is a 3 star hotel, we have stayed in many 4 and 5 star hotels where you would not get this service and room quality.

Very good Hotel, definately refommended.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bhgriffiths2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Excellent hotel.Our lakeview room with balcony was the "icing on the cake." It was clean and the bed was comfortable with additional pillows if required.Could do with more drawer space but that is only a minor issue. We even had 2 safes !! The food was 1st class with plenty of variety and we had a special treat from the hotel as we were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary. Well done to all concerned and we would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JWGLeatherhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Capri for a week in early July 2010 as part of an Inghams package holiday. What can I say? The hotel is wonderful and lives up to it's excellent reviews on this site.

Our room was a good size with 2 twin beds making up a king size. Huge fitted wardrobes, a suitcase area, a large desk/dressing table and a large sofa. The balcony was also spacious and had a great lake view. It was also spotlessly clean. The room had air conditioning , which was very necessary due to the excellent sunny weather we had! The only slight niggle was that the cleaners would often leave the balcony door handle only half locked which meant the air conditioning would not switch on until we got back and fully locked the door. I appreciate that this could be to save money and for environmental reasons so don't have too much of a problem with it and it was really our only niggle!

The restaurant is also excellent and after initial skepticism about being half board (we usually like to eat out every night) we ended up being very pleased with our decision. The breakfast and dinner selections were varied and the food plentiful! All you can eat salad bar followed by 3 courses and we were stuffed every night! The drinks selection was also great. We took a packed lunch on a Venice day night trip due to missing dinner and were the envy of the coach the amount we got! They certainly know how to feed people at the Capri.

Saving the best until last the staff are just fantastic. They truly know what good customer services is and go out of their way to make sure their guests have a great time. Marco even stayed up to meet us when our flight had been delayed and made us a sandwich and got us a much needed soft drink.

I would very much like to return to the Capri for a chilled glass of pink fizz (or 2!) on their terrace overlooking Lake Garda. You can't beat it for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs_S_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We stayed at the Capri for a week at the end of August. It was our first time in Italy and we didn't really know what to expect. The hotel is in a lovely location overlookiing Lake Garda and about ten minutes walk from the centre of Malcescine.
Rooms are basic but clean and comfortable each with their own balcony. We were at the back of the hotel overlooking the garden rather than the Lake but actually preferred that. The sun hits the front of the hotel all day which makes the front balconies very hot. Ours was cool and shady. The hoel has a lovely terrace if you want to overlook the Lake plus a pool with sun loungers.
The staff are very friendly and efficient ,our room was serviced every day while we where at breakfast and meals served seamlessly. We were half board. There was an excellent selection of breakfast foods including scambled eggs and bacon for those who don't want conitnental meats etc, fruit, yogurt. cereal and lovely fresh bread. Dinner was four course and very varied - a salad starter, soup or pasta, fish or meat main course and pudding.
If I had one critisism it would be that once the usual suspects had snapped up all the sunbeds at dawn it was difficult to get one later - but as we are not sun worshipers ( have these folk not heard about skin cancer?) we really only needed a bed when we went down for a swim. The pool is small but cleaned every night and never crowded.
We loved the area -beautiful scenery and lots to do at a relaxed pace. The town has a very pretty promenade, boat trips, shops and restaurants in little windy streets, a castle and wonderful ice cream.! We also took a day trip to the Dolomites which were breathtaking and Verona.
We will go back!
I

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0.1 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#1 of 71 in Malcesine
630 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vega
Hotel Vega
#3 of 71 in Malcesine
467 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#6 of 71 in Malcesine
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#2 of 71 in Malcesine
828 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#8 of 71 in Malcesine
121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#4 of 71 in Malcesine
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capri

Address: Via Panoramica 26, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Malcesine
#3 Family Hotel in Malcesine
#6 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range: £118 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Capri 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Capri Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing