We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, run by a family, for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Smeralda
Ranked #24 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Reviewed 19 January 2009

The Hotel staff were all happy, efficient and helpful without being obtrusive. Restaurant food was not exotic or flashy but was tasty and filling. The rooms were tasteful, airy and spacious, with a great view of the sunset over the lake. The pool was clean, and a real treat after a day out. The hotel is quiet, away from the main lakeside road. There is a steep direct walk back from beach, but gentler routes available. Malcesine is beautiful, a short walk away, and just lively enough, with lots of places to swim and sail.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2008

We have just returned from attending my nephew's wedding at Malcesine Castle and we stayed at this wonderful hotel. The rooms are to a very high standard and the air conditioning is bliss! The hotel is located on a quiet road which is a plus as the roads can be very busy in the centre of Malcesine. There are wonderful views of the lake and the views from the balcony in our room were superb. I booked direct with Alessandro through the hotel's website and everything went without a hitch. He also arranged transport from the airport and back again. There is a bit of a walk back from the centre of Malcesine but it is worth it to stay at this gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rhianmenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2008

My daughter was married at the castle in Malcesine this summer and we picked the Villa Smeralda as a place to stay by sticking a pin in the list of hotels that came up in TripAdvisor.

We found it a clean, comfortable and very well run hotel. There are lots of good hotels in the area and competition must be keen.

Plus points were :
- location off the busy main road so quite quiet,
- good, quiet air conditioning - it was 30+ degrees C in July and it was needed.
- view from the lake side rooms was fabulous, always something to watch on the lake from the balcony,
- good swimming pool
- very friendly and helpful service by all the staff. Alessandro the manager made us feel esepcially welcome.
- choice of half board or B & B each day if you fancy eating out one evening. (beware of the walk back !)
- most staff spoke some english, many were very good
- food was to a good standard, although to predominantly German taste.
- bathrooms to excellent standard

Only negative point :
- there's a 15-20 minute walk up a gradual hill back to the hotel, which after a long, hot day can be a trial.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mcnollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2008

Got back from staying at Smeralda yesterday and can't wait to go back! Great family run hotel that is clean, newly refurbished to excellent standards.
The best thing about the hotel is the stunning views of the lake. Good pool and roof terrace with whirlpool!
The hotel caters mainly for the German market although everyone is made to fell welcome!
You may want to consider the walk up the hill from the lake to the hotel as you may be out of breath in the heat...but it is worth it!!!! Car parking on site and free fridge and great aircon!!!
Will be staying again!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Rigobluenose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2006

We got married In September in the castle at malcesine and we were fortunate enough to stay stay at Hotel Villa Smerelda. This hotel is family run and they are a really delightfull family who cannot do enough for you.

The hotel itself is immaculate and spotlessly clean and the service is professional and friendly (Something you dont always find with larger hotels). We had a room with a lakeview on the 3rd floor and the views are out of this world and worth the little walk into town as it only takes 10 minutes.

The swimming pool is also really well kept and with plenty of sun loungers and the views when you are swimming are spectacular.
All in all I cannot recommend this hotel more. We loved it and are planning to go back for our anniversary. So, thank you Allesandro and family and see you again!!!

Stayed: September 2006
1  Thank EllenR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2006

This is a lovely hotel with old fashioned service with a smile. Run by an Italian family, or rather a family originally from San Marino. Allessandro the manager wants to attract more English and American visitors and goes the extra mile to make sure everything is to your satisfaction. We had a great room with spectacular views over Lake Garda. The hotel is on the Strada panoramica and as this suggests it is a 10 minute walk uphill to reach it from the centre of Malcesine. However the slope is not very steep and going down is easier !
Our room was large, very clean but a little basic. However the view made you forget this. The hotel has a swimmingpool, a jacuzzi on the roof and a lovely dining room overlooking the lake. The resort's second language is German as they can motor over the border and tend to come for weekend visits.
Malcesine is high up the lake but it is very easy to get everywhere on the lake ferries. I would not bother hiring a car as the 2 lane road down the lake gets very slow with heavy traffic.
If you go in July and August you absolutely must attend the Opera in Verona. It is a an ancient Roman Amphitheatre in the centre of Verona city. Please read my review of the opera I saw on my website at [---] It is a night to remember. Lake Garda is a place to revisit, and I certainly will do this. The Villa Smeralda is a hotel I will gladly return to. The good old-fashioned service with plenty of food on offer on the half board option is excellent, wholesome food if a bit 'international'. However there is always a pasta and fish course, an eat as much as you like salad bar and a choice of desserts. The breakfast has loads of choice, and a wonderful view of the lake in all its many moods and lights. I can really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank quasargal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
England
112
Reviewed 30 September 2005

My son was getting married in May in the castle at Malcesine and my friends and I chose to stay at Villa Smeralda. As this was our first visit to Italy we could not have been more pleased to stay at this marvellous family-run hotel. The food was excellent and the service by the staff and Allessandro and his parents could not be improved upon. Rooms were spotless and the views (swimming pool on roof!) were superb. An added advantage was the free airport transfer.
Thank you, Allessandro and family, see you in 2006.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0.7 mi away
Ambienthotel Luna Rossa
Ambienthotel Luna Rossa
#15 of 71 in Malcesine
159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Val di Monte
Hotel Val di Monte
#48 of 71 in Malcesine
30 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#18 of 71 in Malcesine
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#6 of 71 in Malcesine
334 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#4 of 71 in Malcesine
623 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#1 of 71 in Malcesine
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Smeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Smeralda

Address: Strada Panoramica, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range: £133 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Smeralda 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Smeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smeralda Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Villa Smeralda Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing