We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stunning location beautiful decor friendly attentive staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Smeralda
Ranked #22 of 70 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“stunning location beautiful decor friendly attentive staff”
Reviewed 27 June 2010

fantastic hotel in a gorgeous location - made extremely welcome - bit of a walk to town but worth it for view from rooms and pool and roof terrace - aboslutely stunning -

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    22
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
46
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

I booked this hotel after reading some of the reviews on trip advisor, the purpose of the visit was a surprise birthday present for my wife and several of our friends came along and stayed at the hotel.
We had booked a lakeside view superior room and the view from the balcony was absolutely stunning. The rooms were modern and clean as was the rest of the hotel.
The hotel was quiet and only has about thirty rooms so there was never any problems with loungers etc. We were the the only english there although I am aware they are keen to have more.
There were no children at the hotel although this was probably due to the fact that it wasn't the school holidays.
As I have said the hotel is quiet and relaxing and a large majority of the people staying there tended to go out during the day, but that is no surprise because Malcesine has to be one of the most beautiful places in the world.
The hotel is managed by Alessandro who is brilliant, he can never do enough and just enhances the experience further.
I find it hard to believe that tfhe hotel is only three stars as I have stayed in several 4 star hotels that don't compare, in fact I think I would rather stay at the Smeralda than any of the local 5 star hotels, theres just something about it that struck a chord with all of us.
Some reviewers have mentioned the walk back from town , but its not that far and its a pretty gentle hill that lasts about 1/4 mile.
To conclude - Utterly Fantastic and I would recomend it to anyone that wants a relaxing holiday break in a sensational location.
Well done Alessandro!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maspeth, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

We went for a wedding and had we known how big Lake Garda is and how charming Malcesine is we would have stayed at Hotel Villa Smeralda for a week. It's a modern, clean hotel just a short walking distance from town. Be prepared with sneakers or comfortable shoes for your trip; taxis are limited, but you will want to walk Malcesine anyway! Alessandro and staff were more than helpful and speak English, Italian and German. I highly suggest the hotel if you're looking for a getaway or if you're visiting the town for a wedding or special occassion.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMcD777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2009

The Hotel staff were all happy, efficient and helpful without being obtrusive. Restaurant food was not exotic or flashy but was tasty and filling. The rooms were tasteful, airy and spacious, with a great view of the sunset over the lake. The pool was clean, and a real treat after a day out. The hotel is quiet, away from the main lakeside road. There is a steep direct walk back from beach, but gentler routes available. Malcesine is beautiful, a short walk away, and just lively enough, with lots of places to swim and sail.

  • Liked — Feeling relaxed with plenty of space
  • Disliked — Noise from other guests on the veranda area at night below our window - occasionally
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandovery, Mid Wales
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2008

We have just returned from attending my nephew's wedding at Malcesine Castle and we stayed at this wonderful hotel. The rooms are to a very high standard and the air conditioning is bliss! The hotel is located on a quiet road which is a plus as the roads can be very busy in the centre of Malcesine. There are wonderful views of the lake and the views from the balcony in our room were superb. I booked direct with Alessandro through the hotel's website and everything went without a hitch. He also arranged transport from the airport and back again. There is a bit of a walk back from the centre of Malcesine but it is worth it to stay at this gem of a hotel.

  • Liked — Standard of rooms, air conditioning, views, good service
  • Disliked — Walk back up the road - about 10 mins from centre of Malcesine
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rhianmenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2008

My daughter was married at the castle in Malcesine this summer and we picked the Villa Smeralda as a place to stay by sticking a pin in the list of hotels that came up in TripAdvisor.

We found it a clean, comfortable and very well run hotel. There are lots of good hotels in the area and competition must be keen.

Plus points were :
- location off the busy main road so quite quiet,
- good, quiet air conditioning - it was 30+ degrees C in July and it was needed.
- view from the lake side rooms was fabulous, always something to watch on the lake from the balcony,
- good swimming pool
- very friendly and helpful service by all the staff. Alessandro the manager made us feel esepcially welcome.
- choice of half board or B & B each day if you fancy eating out one evening. (beware of the walk back !)
- most staff spoke some english, many were very good
- food was to a good standard, although to predominantly German taste.
- bathrooms to excellent standard

Only negative point :
- there's a 15-20 minute walk up a gradual hill back to the hotel, which after a long, hot day can be a trial.

  • Liked — Helpful staff, views
  • Disliked — hill up from the town
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mcnollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2008

Got back from staying at Smeralda yesterday and can't wait to go back! Great family run hotel that is clean, newly refurbished to excellent standards.
The best thing about the hotel is the stunning views of the lake. Good pool and roof terrace with whirlpool!
The hotel caters mainly for the German market although everyone is made to fell welcome!
You may want to consider the walk up the hill from the lake to the hotel as you may be out of breath in the heat...but it is worth it!!!! Car parking on site and free fridge and great aircon!!!
Will be staying again!!

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Lack of sound proofing!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rigobluenose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vacanze 2000
Hotel Vacanze 2000
#9 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#17 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Garni Ischia
Hotel Garni Ischia
#14 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ambienthotel Luna Rossa
Ambienthotel Luna Rossa
#15 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#8 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Hotel Du Lac
Beach Hotel Du Lac
#16 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Smeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Smeralda

Property: Hotel Villa Smeralda
Address: Strada Panoramica, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Smeralda 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Smeralda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smeralda Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Villa Smeralda Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing