We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely friendly and beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Extremely friendly and beautiful location”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Perfect quiet location right on the lake front with no noisy roads nearby. Most efficient maid service I've ever experienced. Francesca and family were the perfect hosts. The most amazing breakfast included! Perfect small/medium hotel for my first trip to Lake Garda. I would wholeheartedly recommend Hotel Castello!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zigzagzog137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
supertrek, Proprietario at Hotel Castello Lake Front, responded to this review, 8 March 2017
Google Translation
Grazie per il feed back. Arrivederci a presto.
Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    82
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
144
542
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Hotel Castello, which my husband had booked as part of a surprise trip for us (along with a few days in Venice), and I cannot stress enough how much we loved the hotel and the area as a whole.

I had always wanted to visit the Lake Garda area but had been told to go to Bardolino. As my husband had booked Malcesine, I was unsure what to expect. Whilst I am sure Bardolino would also have been lovely, I absolutely loved Malcesine, and a HUGE part of that was due to the Hotel Castello.

We have travelled quite a bit throughout Europe and the States, and I can honestly say that I have never experienced the hospitality and kindness that all members of the family offered at this hotel.

We had booked a basic room with no view, and were very surprised as it had a patio and although there was "no view" from the room, you still had a lovely view of the castle and the lake from the chairs on the outside patio. The room itself was very nice, modern and clearly well maintained. It far exceeded our expectations for a "basic" room.

The hotel (rooms and public areas) was absolutely spotless, and this was particularly impressive as the cleaning staff were not intrusive, loud, or disruptive. The only way you knew they were there was when you returned to a spotless room at the end of the day!

The bar staff were very kind and attentive, and Matteo and the family were very considerate and friendly when dealing with any of our questions/requests.

Our only regret was not eating at the restaurant as the menu looked amazing- WHEN we return we will definitely be dining here (the only reason we didn't was due to the short duration of our stay as we wanted to try as many places as possible).

I think the best way to summarise our stay is that for the first time in my experience to date, I felt like I was leaving family when checking out, as opposed to a more formal checking out process. We will definitely be returning, and cannot thank all of the team enough for a truly wonderful experience!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank disneyfan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
supertrek, Proprietario at Hotel Castello Lake Front, responded to this review, 8 March 2017
Google Translation
Grazie per il feed back. Arrivederci a presto.
Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We spent 7 nights at the Hotel Castello, having booked after reading the other reviews on Trip Advisor. You need to book well in advance as the hotel is very popular. It is a family run hotel which is so refreshing, as the majority of good hotels are now owned by groups and the staff are merely employees; it certainly makes for a completely different atmosphere and enhances the welcome you receive. The location by the edge of the lake is superb and the facilities are excellent; nothing has been overlooked; free Internet, beach towels, extra pillows, comfortable, quiet rooms with balconies and wonderful views of the lake, absolutely stunning breakfast with every conceivable dish available from fruit to cold meats, cheeses, cakes, omelettes, breads, toast and jams. There is a heated jacuzzi and wonderfully comfortable sofas to relax in with international newspapers provided. The family are always on hand to offer advice and recommendations. All in all we could not fault our stay and will certainly return.

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior room but there are also slightly larger rooms and suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bumblebump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
supertrek, Proprietario at Hotel Castello Lake Front, responded to this review, 8 March 2017
Google Translation
Grazie per il feed back. Arrivederci a presto.
Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We have recently returned from the Hotel Castello. It is perfectly situated on the lakeside beneath the castle. All of the rooms at the hotel have lakeside views, are very comfortable and from the balconies at night there are beautiful sunsets over the lake. The hotel and gardens are very well kept and the family enjoyed swimming in the lake and sunbathing in the garden area. The whole hotel is very relaxing and our daughter's first comment was "Why have we only come for one week it is so heavenly."

Breakfast at the hotel is fantastic. As well as the fresh fruit, cooked meats and cheeses there is a cooked option to which it is possible to add freshly fried eggs or omelettes of your choice.The evening meal is a five course meal and is excellent value. The entree course is "The Chefs Special" and it is interesting to go to dinner to see what special course the chef has provided each day. The staff in the restaurant were efficient and friendly and whilst enjoying a joke were extremely professional.The Italian wines were first class.

The Treccani family and the reception staff were friendly and pride themselves on their hospitality and from the moment guests arrive at the hotel they are made to feel welcome. The rooms and the rest of the hotel are spotlessly clean and inviting.

Malcesine is a thriving town with a good selection of shops and lakeside walks either side of it. The town's harbour has a wide variety of restaurants and ferry boats call in. It is ideally situated to hop on a boat and cross to Limone on the opposite shore of the lake or relax and travel to towns further down the lake.

It is our second holiday at the Hotel Castello and we will be back again.
The Lloyd family

Room Tip: If I were a first time visitor to the hotel I would choose a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lloydc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
supertrek, Proprietario at Hotel Castello Lake Front, responded to this review, 8 March 2017
Google Translation
Grazie per il feed back. Arrivederci a presto.
Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We have just returned from our third visit to Malcesine in 4 years - staying each time in the Hotel Castello and we propose to make a further booking for next year. The location on the lake shore below the castle is superb, the views of the lake and of Monte Baldo (behind) are stunning, and the whole atmosphere is peaceful and relaxing. The standard of service provided by the Treccani family and their staff is first-class, the food and wines in the spacious dining room are excellent and everyone is friendly and helpful. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone travelling to Lake Garda.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
supertrek, Proprietario at Hotel Castello Lake Front, responded to this review, 8 March 2017
Google Translation
Grazie per il feed back. Arrivederci a presto.
Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorrento, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We stayed in The Suite Castello and it proved to be an excellent choice for our holiday. On opening the door of our suite for the first time we were completely stunned by the view from the room - overlooking the lake towards the mountain range and the beautiful town of Limone. You will not get a better view in Malcesine of watching the sun go down from the spacious balcony in the evening as people gently stroll along the lake front.
The staff were always very accomodating and friendly. The team pay attention to the small details that make a difference and really do make you feel welcome. Thanks to Daniella, Angela, Francesca, Casian,Tiberius and the Treccani family,
We travelled with our two children and they were greeted every morning in the restaurant and made to feel so welcome. One of the strengths of this hotel is the food served in the restaurant - we did not see the chef but he is talented. There was plenty of choice for breakfast in the morning but the 5 course evening meal for the additional 10 euro pp was of exceptional quality and value. Traditional fresh Italian fare. We used to look forward to each evening to see what the surprise first course would be. Every night was exceptional.
The hotel is so clean and there is no need to rush straight after breakfast or get up early to book a sunbed as there are plenty for all. After this holiday I much prefer the thought of swimming in the lake than sitting around a pool. There is also a lovely warm jacuzzi to relax in the hotel garden after a dip. Malcesine is such a good base to explore and we used the opportunity to visit Limone and made the trip up to Monte Baldo which is definitely worth a visit as you would think you were in a scene of 'The Sound of Music'!
This is truly a magical place to stay and we will definitely be returning. We had an excellent holiday and were lucky to share the return flight with the US Indy rock band 'The Killers' and get a photo of Brandon Flowers with the children. Unbelievable - what a gent.
Co Derry family.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItalianL0ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
supertrek, Proprietario at Hotel Castello Lake Front, responded to this review, 8 March 2017
Google Translation
Grazie per il feed back. Arrivederci a presto.
Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012 via mobile

We just spent 3 nights at the hotel as part of our honeymoon and I wish we could have spent longer there. The hotel is so well run with incredibly friendly and professional staff. We had a lovely room with a sizeable balcony overlooking the lake. The breakfasts were lovely, with lots of choice. I couldn't recommend it more.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m1974d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
supertrek, Proprietario at Hotel Castello Lake Front, responded to this review, 8 March 2017
Google Translation
Grazie per il feed back. Arrivederci a presto.
Matteo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malcesine
1.3 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#3 of 71 in Malcesine
576 reviews
7.9 mi away
Aktivhotel Santalucia
Aktivhotel Santalucia
#1 of 33 in Torbole
667 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#1 of 71 in Malcesine
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#7 of 71 in Malcesine
313 reviews
8.2 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
603 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#3 of 33 in Torbole
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castello Lake Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castello Lake Front

Property: Hotel Castello Lake Front
Address: Via Paina 21, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Malcesine
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Malcesine
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
#2 Luxury Hotel in Malcesine
#4 Green Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Castello Lake Front 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right in the historical centre of Malcesine (the town centre is just 50m away) but in a quiet position at the foot of the Scaligero Castle among the ancient battlements and the waters of Lake Garda, the Hotel Castello Lake Front is proof of how architecture and landscape can come together in perfect harmony: the private beach does indeed seem to be a natural continuation of the Hotel structure. All the main areas of the hotel - such as the dining room, the lounge, the bar and the panoramic terrace - offer incomparable views over the lake Garda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Castello Lake Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Castello Lake Front Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing