We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Antonella
Nearby Hotels
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Dolomiti(Malcesine)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$311
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$298
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Modena(Malcesine)(Great Value!)
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$311
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$252
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alpino(Malcesine)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Astoria(Malcesine)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
69
46
23
9
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
46
23
9
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool areaair conditioningthe main roadrestaurant downstairshalf boardda gigilake viewturn left out of the hotelscrambled or fried eggshigh quality hotelself serviceshort walkbruschettathree star ratingzebra crossingcold meatsreasonable size
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Have just returned from a weeks holiday at this hotel with Newmarket Travel. Canno understand some of the negative reviews of this hotel, we thought it was a very well run family hotel. It was extremely clean and the bedrooms were cleaned every day with fresh towels if required. Massimo, the son of the family, was very pleasant and mostly dealt with the english speaking guests in a helpful way. The food was excellent for a three star hotel and I especially enjoyed the delicious pasta dishes. The breakfasts were also very good with home made bread and cakes made by the mother of the family. On the Thursday evening we were treated to a 'gala' evening and got aperitifs on arrival and a lovely meal followed by a lovely concert by the owner who beautifully sang light operatic Italian songs for us. The roof sun terrace was wonderful with breathtaking views of the Lake and a good sheltered sun trap, even in October. My only one gripe would be that there is a lots of steps leading up to the front door (but there is also a lift - but we dont like lifts!!) Re the tours with Newmarket and the reps. We found the rep we had very informative and clear speaking and did not rush us at all, in fact she seem very aware that some of the guests were elderly and made allowances for this. All in all a very good holiday and we would certainly return to this hotel again no problem!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

HOTEL: The Antonella is mix of good and not so good. We paid for a lake view balcony and weren’t disappointed, although we would have been if we had paid for just a balcony as these are at the rear and face a wall about 15 feet away. However there is a trade-off: the front has the views but the main road is directly in front, and like other reviewers have noted, traffic noise is intrusive and incessant, and even closing the balcony door only muffles it slightly. It is apparently much quieter at the back, so choose wisely (although to be fair to the Antonella, this must be the case with the majority of the outlying hotels as most are on/close to the road). However there is a barely used sun terrace with fab views if you forego the balcony altogether.
The rooms are small and clean, but walls are thin, though luckily Newmarket doesn’t cater for the 18-30 set. The bathroom is small but the shower is powerful with plenty of hot water. The downside was the hairdryer: to put it politely my grandmother could break wind with more gusto, so unless you only have an inch of hair needing a quick ruffle, bring your own hairdryer. The pillows are heavy and hard and I didn’t find them comfortable.
The room has a programme-your-own-code safe (5 Euros p/w), but please remember to leave the door open when you leave to save the next occupant from having to run downstairs for instructions on how to override it. Our room also had a power cut: if this happens to you flick the key in the unit by the door frame to restore power. The hall has lots of angles which I mention as the lights are on a timer and as light doesn’t travel well around corners you can find yourself in total blackout if not careful. My advice is to flick a light switch anyway (the black units by the door frames) which should give you time to reach your room. If you are at the furthest end from the lift as we were, the switch for this end is at the top of the stairs.
Surprise, surprise, satellite TV has 1 English-speaking channel – BBC News 24. However there are numerous German & Italian film channels if you speak the lingo. We did submit to Jurassic Park dubbed into German one afternoon whilst drying out after a thorough drenching, but an English entertainment channel would be nice: hotel owners please take note.
Instructions say there is no smoking in the rooms / grounds, but there are plenty of ashtrays outside. Now I know smoking is a pleasure to some, but please remember we non-smokers have paid for a holiday too, and sitting downwind of someone else’s fug is akin to the middle stages of sea sickness – truly horrible. This is a problem on the balcony also, as next door’s smoke even drifted into the rooms.
The hotel is family owned and they are friendly, though only the younger guy seems to speak (limited) English - which is fair enough as we were in Italy - as I found out when asked a question about the ferry or tried to tell him a colony of ants was marching up my bed. Flipper the golden Labrador is lovely, and becomes very animated should you leave the breakfast room with a piece of ham in your hand!
This brings me to food: about 70/30 against in our and many other opinions. Breakfast is an adequate if limited array of cereal, toast, slices of cheese or ham, plain yoghurt and a few pieces of cake (many I suspect recycled from the previous evening’s dessert). A dozen or so croissants appeared 2 mornings and were gone in a flash. Also hot drinks or orange/grapefruit juice (squash). Evening meals are by waitress service, and each starts with an limited self service salad. The first evening we were presented with beef lasagne. From then on you are given a menu to select from for the next evening, but beware if you are a vegetarian: if you eat fish you may scrape by, but if you don’t prepare to bulk up on salad. Typical choices are: first course a dish of plain yoghurt, soup, or meaty pasta dish; second course meat or fish dish - or on 2 evenings an omelette (actually a burnt and tasteless pancake rolled up with a sliced tomato down the centre); dessert = cake, fruit or a very disappointing ice cream (come on – this is Italy!). Very few vegetables were served and most things we saw/ate appeared to come straight from a tin or jar. If plain food is your thing you might be OK; if you expect better you may find yourself looking for alternatives. However there is a giant EuroSpar down the road which we made use of. I can sum up the hotel by quoting a fellow guest – it was more like a Torquay boarding house and not what we expected for the price of the holiday.
GENERAL: If you are disabled you may find access to and from the centre a challenge as turning left from the hotel takes you along an uneven pebble path. After 100 yards or so you reach a zebra crossing: from here either go down the steps to the lakeside walk, or turn right down the slip road for a quieter walk into town. Turn right and for 100 yards or so the ‘pavement’ is an extension of the road, and narrows down to less than the width of a wheelchair in parts. Oh and when it rains it is several inches deep in water, and whilst most of the cars were considerate enough to slow down and drive closer to the centre of the road, a number sped up and absolutely drenched us (see Jurassic Park, above) - a real YBF moment; just shame I didn’t film it!
MALCESINE: The lakeside walk is very pretty; Malcesine is easy on the eye and large enough to keep you interested; the castle also houses lots of British weddings. Monte Baldo is worth doing, but get there before 10.00 when the coach parties arrive or you will be in an hour-long queue. Also time your descent well: a fellow guest left this until late afternoon and it took 1.5 hours to get down. (It is a 4 hr walk if thinking of descending by foot.) On a clear day the views are stunning and the clean cool air is a treat. It is also a magnet for cyclists, hikers and parascenders. Ferry tickets can be bought at the jetty point up to 20 minutes before departure, but you may not use, say, a Malcesine - Riva ticket to hop off and back on at Limone: for this you must buy a ‘hopper’ ticket.
VERONA: would like to spend a few days here as the shopping looks fab – if you are thin enough and rich enough. I also couldn’t wait to get inside the amphitheatre (again arrive early), but whilst it looked great on the outside, what a disappointment inside! Virtually all covered in permanent plastic seating, much of it bright red. Absolutely NO atmosphere, unlike Rome. Juliet’s balcony is in a small courtyard through a much graffitti’d entrance tunnel. We got there early but still packed solid. Must also mention the public loos here: the ones in the main square are underground (descend by stairs, or open air lift like something out of Dr Who), and are actually quite beautiful. They are made from carved white marble and dark wood doors - but once in the cubicle they are the hole-in-the-floor variety, so be warned.
NEWMARKET / THE REP / VIKING: Coach excursions routinely depart from the bus station just past the Eurospar, so allow 10 mins to get there (only arrivals/departures stop outside the hotel). The rep (I won’t mention names) practically route-marched the group away to Juliet’s balcony, and again back to the coach, and made no concession for the elderly/less abled at the back who grew more distant every few steps. Apparently this was common to all the trips she led. Neither was there a Newmarket notice board or resort book at the hotel (use Thomson’s), and the 20 minute welcome meeting/coach tour aside we never saw her again. The seat pitch with Viking is absolutely awful, the worst I’ve experienced. Being very tall my knees were crushed up against the seat in front (painfully so), made worse when the person in front tried to put back their seat – why do manufacturers allow this in cattle class?? We flew with Newmarket because they fly from Bournemouth, but I’ve been to Italy with better operators, though sadly their nearest airport to us is London, adding 3 hours each way. Tour operators please take note London is NOT the centre of the universe, and I resent having to travel there, almost always at stupid o’clock, to go somewhere other than Malaga or Tenerife. I know there is a market as every flight I take from here is full up.
All in all we enjoyed the holiday, despite 2 days torrential rain (bring a proper waterproof!), and the hotel was OK, but a little pricey for the experience. Food was disappointing, and whilst the walk to the centre wasn’t excessive it could be difficult for the less abled.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Boug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

My husband and myself have just returned from our second visit to this hotel. It was still as good as last time. Max and family could not do enough for you. The meals were made fresh each day and you chose the meal the night before, If there is something you dont like they will make or alter the dish accordingly. (I dont like mushrooms so they made me my meal without). The hotel is very clean. It is worth paying the extra for a sea view but the road in front can be noisy. Plenty of walks to do and trips to go on. Lake tour, dolomites and verona worth doing. We wouldl not hesitate to go again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diana8256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

we have just come back from a weeks holiday at the antonella, the family who run the hotel cant do enough for you, the food was excellent and plentifull, the rooms clean and cosy, we would definately go back,

ps and the dog is very cute also

linda & colin
hull

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picklesHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

nice clean family run hotel with realy nice clean pool.
ideal for couples, familys ,young and old
the staff are very polite and the bar was reasonablely priced (same as almost everywhere else) its a short walk to town but we where happy with that
there are some very plush expensive hotels in this area if you want somewhere reasonablely priced and clean with a good pool and parking here is ideal
i would stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bazexeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews