We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we hoped for”
Review of Hotel Augusta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Augusta
Ranked #31 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2009

A number of family members stayed at this excellent hotel for our son and daughter-in-law's wedding in Malcesine Castle; it was quite magical! This small family run hotel is very near the Lake and Monte Baldo and the town centre where there were plenty of restaurants. The hotel has a large lovely pool and we booked a Lake view room which was worth it. The saff are most helpful with replying to emails beforehand and our wedding arrangements, the rooms perfectly clean and well appointed and the breakfast delicious for us, although we understand some British people do miss their "fry ups"!! The hotel transfers were also excellent. The location is stunnning so the combination gave us a fantastic time. Many thanks to the Family Benedetti. The Hardwicks

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StaffordshireOak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2009

We booked directly with the hotel after reading positive reviews on trip Advisor and were not disappointed. The hotel is in a great location, right at the foot of Monte Baldo, and just a couple of minutes walk from the shops, restaurants, castle and harbour. There are a range of rooms to choose from, the delux rooms offering more space, facilities and better views, but all are spotlessly clean and well maintained. Unfortunately air conditioning is only availiable between 6.30am-6.30pm and at an additional cost. The staff are extremely friendly and welcoming and are always around to offer assistance or advice. THe hotel arranged our transfer bus to and from the airport and we had prompt door to door service. The pool is located in the gardens and had a peaceful atmosphere for relaxing. There are plenty of sunbeds and seatin areas and beach towels are supplied too. The continental buffet breakfast was varied and plentiful - offering a range of drinks and a varied selection of breads, jams, fruit, cheeses, meats, pastries and even homemade cakes. It was our first visit to the Italian lakes and could not have chosen a better location or friendlier hotel

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackrial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

Booked this hotel through Thomson Lakes & Mountains after reading reviews on this site but the majority of the 5/5 reviews are from people who stay in the "Villa Complex" annexed to the Augusta, our viewpoint is from staying in the original hotel itself (a point I think that is worth differentiating). The importance of the room location and whether it has a balcony or not in my opinion is going to be an important indicator as to whether your stay will be a happy one. The Hotel location is good in terms of distance to the medieval centre, but I need to highlight that there is a busy road which passes by this hotel which is very noisy, not good for those looking for peace & quiet. Air conditioning is at an additional cost (or it certainly is via Thomsons) 6 euros per night and only on from 6.30pm-6.30am. If you use the safe in the room when you are away (as we do) there is a further additional cost to be aware of: 6 euro per week to be added on.
Beware: There are two rooms in the hotel that do not have balconies (both are used by Thomson) these rooms are much smaller, dark and face Monte Baldo, that is to say face east, so on a morning the sun bears down and makes the room hot (remember that the air conditioning stops at 6.30am (for those who pay for it!) so the room gets uncomfortably hot. So with no fridge, you cannot keep water cool and end up drinking warm water, its a vicious circle that you cannot escape. Breakfast was a pleasant experience offering usual continental fare, there is plenty of tables to choose from (either outside or in doors). Lovely pool & garden area with plenty of trees for shade (with plentiful sunbeds) a nice respite after your days outing. The building next door however (so we found out) is a summer school, used in the months of July & August for children from Milan, so audible noise when playing outside. Martino & his wife were the perfect hosts. Martino was especially helpful in organising our room change, the room with the balcony that we had (for second week) was fabulous, but I had to pay for this privilege (14 euros per day = 98 euros paid).
We had a wonderful holiday in Malcesine and would recommend this hotel subject to room location.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJGDARL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Basically I’d reiterate the positive comments of previous reviewers. The staff are friendly, the hotel clean, well managed and reasonably priced, particularly when compared with nearby four star hotels. Indeed, the new Villa offers a standard that would be envied by many 4 star hotels. Good quality drapes and furnishings, slim-line wide-screen T.V., fridge & room safe (free). Plus the balcony and lake view.
Some folks may be concerned there is no bath, only a modest size shower cubicle. However, this arrangement does make for a reasonably spacious “bath”room.
Unusually for me I struggle to find a criticism, I’ll have to make do with the old favourite – why do so many hotels omit a shelf for soap/shampoo in the shower?
One proviso. I don’t think the Villa is suitable for people with mobility problems, stick to the original building. If a lake view is important to you stress the point when booking, in the older building some “lake view” rooms there are described as such with some artistic license.
I’ve posted several photo’s (those from the chairlift were taken through a dirty window) to clarify the location. The original building is yellow, the Villa white, adjacent but slightly higher. Be aware the top right photo on the hotel homepage is a montage, the lake & castle are not as shown, there should be a mountain there, not a lake! Those rooms shown facing the pool also face the lake.
Regardless of that stay and enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grumbleweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2009

This hotel was well recommended and lived up to it's description in every respect. Perfecty located just off the town centre with absolutely stunning views of Malcesine Castle and Lake Garda. The room we stayed in was spacious, well appointed and spotlessly clean. TThe food was excellent and plentiful. The friendly hotel staff were a notable feature of our stay, making sure that all our needs were catered for, offering advice and information on the locality and it's attractions and being the perfect hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2009

We have just returned from a wonderful trip to this hotel. We had a deluxe room top floor with stunning views of Malcesine Castle and the lake. Sun was on the balcony afternoon until 8pm so could relax with a drink whilst the sun was not too hot. We attended a wedding at the castle and found this hotel a 5 minute downhill walk (not too steep) to the town centre. Martino on reception was exceptionally helpful and all the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Buffet breakfast was good and plentiful (boiled eggs, toast, cereals, breads, cheese/meats, etc) and kept us going until lunch. Pool / jacuzzi is a must for a cool off after a hot day and the hotel provided towels from the spa as we didn't take any. There are plenty of sunloungers and chairs with areas of shade in the garden and pool area. Hotel area is very quiet late at night and would recommend getting air-con (not included), we had no breeze off the lake into our room and wished we'd managed to get this sorted.

We didn't have one bad meal in the centre and had a wonderful wedding meal at Re Lear and also had a great meal at "La Pace" down at the lakeside. Food in the centre was cheaper than expected - €6-7 for pizza/pasta, €15 for a fantastic steak - similar to UK. Cable car is well worth the €18 round trip to the top of Monte Baldo, go in the morning before the "heat haze" starts to spoil views - we had cloud rolling in too. A ferry to Limone across the lake was €8 return and this was nice to meander through the quaint streets.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beefor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2009

We had a brilliant holiday staying at Hotel Augusta. The rooms were very clean and spacious .If you stay there book the villa attached to hotel we had the top floor in the delux rooms. The view was fantastic ! Very friendly hotel staff will help you wlth any queries. buffet breakfast was excellent kept us going all day. The cable car is a must to do its right opposite hotel.The view from up Monte Baldo was out of this world.the resort of malcesine is beautiful with cobble stones streets which are so quaint.Restaurants couldnt fault them. Only thing is it is very expensive to buy anything.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauljoEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambienthotel Luna Rossa
Ambienthotel Luna Rossa
#15 of 71 in Malcesine
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garni Ischia
Hotel Garni Ischia
#16 of 71 in Malcesine
212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catullo
Hotel Catullo
#27 of 71 in Malcesine
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meridiana
Hotel Meridiana
#7 of 71 in Malcesine
310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#9 of 71 in Malcesine
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#18 of 71 in Malcesine
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Augusta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Augusta

Address: Via Navene Vecchia 35, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Malcesine
#12 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
#14 Family Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range: £88 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Augusta 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Augusta, an oasis of tranquility immersed in the greenery of a splendid garden with swimming pool and hydromassage 30, situated close to the historical centre and beach opposite the new cable car of Monte Baldo. We offer a great buffet breakfast on our panoramic terrace plus many other quality service. Completely renovated and equipped with the newest standard for 3 stars category. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Augusta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augusta Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Augusta Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing