We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying with family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Like staying with family”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

If you are reading this review then you are probably like me, someone who pours over the reviews making sure that you book the best hotel for your holiday, staying at Hotel Benacus we did just that.

Quite simply the hotel is great, Roberto and his team are fantastic and really made our stay.
As anxious Brits do I emailed Roberto before we left the UK to check the booking etc.. and he kindly offered to book a taxi for us, which was great and a darn site cheaper than airport taxi's. The transfer from Verona Airport was about an hour and pain-free.
We received a fantastic welcome, the bar / food is great. The room was perfect, the roller blind especially as it blocked out all the light for those cheeky holiday lay-ins. Air con great. Bathroom great. The breakfast was brilliant and until 10am which was good to.
The walk into Malcesine is really pleasant, a walk along the lake surrounded by mountains is something else (upon occasion an early morning jog is even better).
Malcesine as a place in my view is nicer than Limeone (spell check) and Riva Del Garda (too windy) as it has many little cobbled streets with shops, bars and restaurants you can get lost in. Trips to the before mentioned locations is easy from Hotel Benacus via ferry, which is good fun.
Roberto and his team could not have made our stay any better, they offered sound advice on which Bars/Restaurants to visit and what attractions to see.
Furthermore as the two of us were planning to leave the hotel after a week we asked Robert if we could book us a taxi down to the bottom of the Lake, Peschiera Del Garda (70 Euros) to get a train to Venice (110 Euros). Roberto said "don't do that" and he arranged seats for us on the local bus that stopped right outside at 7.20am and took us directly to venice for 20 Euro each - Roberto thank you again - brilliant!
Honestly if you are looking for somewhere to stay that is run by a great team, is well equipped, in a great location, in a fab Lake town then look no further...!!

Room Tip: Road side has the lake view and because the windows are a good quality there is little or no road no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CountrysideBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    82
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
190
272
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have just returned from a week here. When we arrived Roberta came out to the taxi to greet us - what a welcome! The Hotel is much nicer than it looks on the web - it is beautiful inside. Bedroom good - bed more comfortable than the one at home, well decorated, good furniture, aircon works well, bathroom good. The Hotel is on a main road but it didn't bother us once - the double glazing is brill. Shops opposite and under Hotel. Walk to town is about 20 minutes along lakeside. The walk in opposite direction to town is beautiful too - hotels and restaurants there for a meal.
Breakfast in Hotel is very good run by an amazing lady - what a treat to get a decent cup of coffee (as many as you want!). Robert couldn't be more helpful giving advise on where to eat, boats, buses etc.
Everywhere very clean. Lovely garden and pool. There is snack bar for drinks until 12 pm and food 12 noon until 8 pm (pasta etc).
I think you have the picture of the Hotel from me and other reviewers! GREAT!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meoncroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Had a lovely evening here whilst staying in the Benacus Hotel, Malcesine

We ate outside in a beautiful setting. We enjoyed our meal.

Service not too fast but it didnt matter.

Cassone is a wonderful place. We also had a good meal on seafront at Cassone another evening.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meoncroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were recommended this hotel by friends so were fairly confident that we'd have a lovely stay - and that's exactly what we had!

The hotel has lovely gardens to relax in and our room was terrific with a very comfortable bed. We obviously only stayed in one room but we don't think you can go far wrong with either a lake view or a mountain view as they are both rather lovely.

It's an absolutely idyllic 20 min walk into the town itself (although there are a handful of bars/restaurants on the way if you decide you don't want to go the distance). Just a warning that there is quite a steep hill leading down to the lake from the main road which you need to come back up after your night out! ;)

Robert, Roberta and their staff simply couldn't have been more helpful or friendly during our stay and really made this the sort of place that you just come back to again and again...

Thanks for helping us achieve our perfect relaxing trip away!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My husband and I stayed for 5 days at the Benacus hotel to attend a family wedding which was being held in the Castle in Malcasine. The hotel rooms, pool and garden where spotless. The staff extremely courteous and helpful (booking transfers to/from the airport and even phoning local restaurants to ensure my dietary needs where met). The hotel is situated about 10 minutes walk from the main town but if you walk beside the lake the scenery is stunning and there are bars and restaurants along the way if you need refreshments. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would like to thank Roberto and all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

K. Jones,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We got married at Malcesine Castle in June this year and Roberto and Roberta were so helpful. From letting us store things, amend our booking and even sorting out transfers for people staying at hotels in Malcesine because their own hotel couldn't be bothered!

The hotel itself is a lovely family run hotel, friendly and clean. There is a great swimming pool with grass sunbathing area and most importantly its not overcrowded. Yes there are fancier hotels in Malcesnie, yes there are cheaper hotels, but I don't think there is a better one for all round value and friendliness! Thanks again Roberto, Mark & Claire x

If you are considering getting married in Malchesnie email Markclairesbigday@yahoo.com for an informal wedding planning service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m8ymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Roberto and all the staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The hotel very clean and comfortable, in a lovely location, and the food excellent. Our room had a view of Lake Garda and a balcony. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneCouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malcesine
9.0 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
979 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#2 of 71 in Malcesine
775 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#7 of 71 in Malcesine
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Majestic Palace Hotel
Majestic Palace Hotel
#13 of 71 in Malcesine
406 reviews
9.2 mi away
Aktivhotel Santalucia
Aktivhotel Santalucia
#1 of 33 in Torbole
662 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#1 of 71 in Malcesine
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Benacus Malcesine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Benacus Malcesine

Property: Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Address: Via Gardesana 148 | Loc Val di Sogno, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Malcesine
#2 Green Hotel in Malcesine
#4 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
#7 Best Value Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Benacus Malcesine 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel offers 29 rooms, many of which with balcony, equipped with private facilities, direct telephone, SAT TV, hair drier and safe. We offer breakfast buffet service from 08.00 to 10,00 hours Available: Internet Wireless and "rent a bike" services. In the large air conditioned restaurant, you will find a rich buffet for breakfast with the warmest Good morning smile! The garden is surrounded by the mountains and it is well equipped to spend some pleasant moments sun-tanning, or in the swimming pool or in the Jacuzzi. The air conditioned bar, near the garden, offers a choice of salted snacks or sweets for any moment of the day. The large parking offers a car place for each of our guests. In the vicinity there is a possibility to surf, to sail, to rent a mountain bike, to play tennis or gliding. The Hotel Benacus: a concept of hospitality of the highest standard with service and accuracy typical of a small Hotel. Location Is located in Val di Sogno, only 2 Km from the historical centre of Malcesine, nof far from the beginning of the several paths leading to Mount Baldo as well as to the other typical lake villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Benacus Malcesine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benacus Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing