We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really lovely hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I have travelled a lot but this is one of the most friendly hotels I have ever stayed in. As a woman travelling on my own it felt completely safe and at no point was I made to feel awkward. The room was spotlessly clean and the balcony had a beautiful view over the mountains meaning that I could end every night by sitting out with a glass of wine looking out over the ever changing stunning view. The staff could not have been more helpful, speaking excellent english with all information readily available. They recommended places to eat, excursions and attractions in the local area and helped to explain things like how the buses worked. The sunbathing area was quiet and relaxing with a clean pool and a nice bar area for a light lunch- simple but delicious food. The hotel is a little way away from the town, but I liked this as it meant that you could escape from the more touristy areas. The walk alongside the lake was beautiful and safe, and the tourist bus every hour was easy to work out, with the bus stop being just outside the hotel door. The room was basic but had everything that you could possibly need. Malcesine itself is lovely- touristy in some places but easy enough to get away from the crowds. The area by the castle was particularly lovely with some good restaurants. I would highly recommend this hotel if you visit this beautiful part of Italy- the staff provided just the right combination of excellent service without being too intrusive, the hotel had everything I needed and I loved every second of staying there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (610)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Benacus Malcesine
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 610 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

We had a lovely family stay in this small hotel. The staff are friendly and were always available to advise on Malcesine and a trip to Gardaland. The lawned pool area was relaxing with plenty space and beds available. Although the hotel is a 20 minute walk to the town centre via a lake front walkway, there is a supermarket, cafe/winebar and places to have lunch on the doorstep

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geraldine186600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have just returned from a two week stay at Hotel Benacus. It is a lovely hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. It's a little outside the main part of Malcesine but the 20 minute work along the lake is lovely. We spied lots of water snakes as well as a glow worm on our walks in and out. Ferries are great to visit different places around the lake. Our favourite was Gargnano where we had an unexpected overnight stay after we missed the ferry back! It worked out for the best though as it is a lovely little place. If we went back to Lake Garda again we would definitely stay at Hotel Benacus.

Room Tip: We had a corner room with views of both the lake and hills. Can be noisy when out on the balcony tho...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was without a doubt a wonderful and welcoming Hotel, in a beautiful part of Malcesine. The hotel was immaculate, every member of staff could not have been more helpful. Wonderful breakfast with a lovely lady who greeted each guest personally every day. Roberto, Roberta and Larissa, were very knowledgable about the local area and it's restaurants, and nothing was too much trouble. The location was ideal with a twenty minute walk along the lake to the charming town centre of Malcesine. Will most certainly visit again

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Georgina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at hotel benacus with our two children aged 2 and 5. The hotel is immaculately clean and the staff were extremely kind and helpful and really made our stay enjoyable and pleasant. They went out of there way to help book restaurants, taxis and gave great advice on the local area.

The rooms are spotlessly clean with cleaners visiting daily.

We had a great stay and for the value of this hotel compared to others it is definitely worth visiting.

We would recommend this hotel and hope to visit again.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank rebecca11767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had a family holiday in Hotel Benacus in June and had a lovely relaxing time. The hotel was just perfect for us with friendly and helpful staff and a great pool for relaxing by after a hard morning sight seeing. The location was great as we had the choice of a beautiful lakeside walk into Malcesine or the tourist bus which stopped conveniently directly outside where we also got buses to Garda and Verona. We rated the hotel ice creams as good as any we had in Malcesine or Venice! It was also great to be able to hire mountain bikes from the hotel and cycle along the lakeside and we even made it part way up Monte Baldo. Thanks to everyone at Hotel Benacus and we would all definitely love to return.

Room Tip: Some rooms at front of Hotel, whilst overlooking the road, had great balconies with loungers and cau...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel for four nights in early June. The staff greeted us like long lost friends. The hotel is spotless and the breakfast was very good with a variety of food to chose from. Cooking our own soft boiled eggs was different but enjoyable. Our room was a little small but we weren't there much, just to sleep, however the room was spotless and the bed comfortable. The rooms are air conditioned and we were glad, as it was hot and humid. The patio and garden were a good place to relax after a busy day in town. And the service was the very best.
I can't say enough good things about Roberto and his staff. They are what makes this hotel the quality hotel it is. I am looking ahead to my next visit. Bravo!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the back side of the hotel. The front side faces the street. Our room was in fron...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borgcalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malcesine
1.3 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#2 of 71 in Malcesine
796 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#3 of 33 in Torbole
1,040 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#7 of 71 in Malcesine
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Majestic Palace Hotel
Majestic Palace Hotel
#14 of 71 in Malcesine
415 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#1 of 71 in Malcesine
609 reviews
9.2 mi away
Aktivhotel Santalucia
Aktivhotel Santalucia
#1 of 33 in Torbole
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Benacus Malcesine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Benacus Malcesine

Address: Via Gardesana 148 | Loc Val di Sogno, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Malcesine
#2 Green Hotel in Malcesine
#4 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range: £89 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Benacus Malcesine 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel offers 29 rooms, many of which with balcony, equipped with private facilities, direct telephone, SAT TV, hair drier and safe. We offer breakfast buffet service from 08.00 to 10,00 hours Available: Internet Wireless and "rent a bike" services. In the large air conditioned restaurant, you will find a rich buffet for breakfast with the warmest Good morning smile! The garden is surrounded by the mountains and it is well equipped to spend some pleasant moments sun-tanning, or in the swimming pool or in the Jacuzzi. The air conditioned bar, near the garden, offers a choice of salted snacks or sweets for any moment of the day. The large parking offers a car place for each of our guests. In the vicinity there is a possibility to surf, to sail, to rent a mountain bike, to play tennis or gliding. The Hotel Benacus: a concept of hospitality of the highest standard with service and accuracy typical of a small Hotel. Location Is located in Val di Sogno, only 2 Km from the historical centre of Malcesine, nof far from the beginning of the several paths leading to Mount Baldo as well as to the other typical lake villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Benacus Malcesine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benacus Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing