We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Hotel Cristallo"”
Review of Hotel Cristallo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Cristallo
Ranked #55 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have just spent a wonderful week in Lake Garda staying at the Hotel Cristallo with Riviera Travel. The hotel is in a beautiful position with stunning lake views and a short, delightful walk into Malcesine. We booked two rooms which were scrupulously clean with towels changed daily. The twin bedded room had a problem with the air conditioning but it was fixed immediately. The food was plentiful and varied with a good choice. The highlight of the week was the gala evening when Maria and her team really pushed the boat out. Every course was delicious, surpassing the one before and ending with a fabulous tiramisu! Our rep. Patricia made every tour entertaining with her witty stories and great knowledge of the area. We have returned with many happy memories and can thoroughly recommend the area, the hotel and the rep.

Room Tip: Try to book a room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

We have recently returned from this hotel booked through Inghams. The room was clean, food good BUT the room was on level 0 (i.e. below ground level) on a level with the fitness room, toilets and rooms storing the cleaning equipment for staff and what seemed to be a large store room. This room was dark and had an ugly concrete wall less than 6 feet from the window which was very high. On top of the wall was a wire fence and behind the wire fence was the roadway to the car park. There was a dead climbing plant on the wall. In order to see the sky we had to lean out of the window. Looking to the right a large metal ladder was stored. This room should never be let out. It was depressing. We couldn't believe our eyes when we entered it. We complained but could not be moved because the hotel was apparently full. We did not ask for a room with a view, but we did not expect a room like this one. However we decided that we would not let a room spoil our holiday and enjoyed our stay on Lake Garda.

Room Tip: Make sure your room isn't on level 0
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliaB816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed for a week in May with Inghams and were very happy with this hotel. We enjoyed the food, the staff were always helpful, the room was kept beautifully clean. We didn't pay for a lake view or balcony but the weather was great so we were always out. The terraces have lovely views. The walk into Malcesine along the lakeside is beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here mid-May with Riviera Travel and were well pleased; well appointed comfortable room, very good food and friendly, helpful staff. It is worth paying the extra to guarantee a lake view.
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: It is worth paying the extra to guarantee a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed for a week in this delightful hotel on the shores of Lake Garda. The area has so many hotels from which to choose, it is difficult to know where to start. However, this proved to be a fortuitous choice. The hotel offered good food, a well-stocked bar and very friendly, helpful and courteous staff.

The rooms overlooking the lake are glorious and well worth the extra one has to pay for them. The hotel and its grounds are bathed in sunshine all day long, which makes the pool area a delight at any time of the day.

The food is basic Italian fare, but well presented and there is plenty of it, as well as a wide choice for everyone.

The rooms were kept spotlessly clean, with linen and towels changed daily.

Maria and her team were very professional and nothing - even getting up at 3:30 am - was too much trouble for them.

The pleasant lakeside town of Malcesine is a short and delightful walk away along the well cared for promenade.

I cannot recommend this hotel too highly

Room Tip: Book a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Herbie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

After good advice to avoid the north/west side of the lake because of mountains blocking the sun after 2.30pm, we took a late booking with Riviera to Malcesine. Our Rep Patricia looked after us very well. We didn't get a lake view room and we weren't expecting too much given some older reviews. BUT, what a find! An excellent hotel, with v good quality food and scrupulously clean, in a very good position just outside Malcesine. The room overlooked the mountains, an unobtrusive car park with olive trees and cats, and local housing: we have seen a lot worse! The only noise came from the dawn chorus, including cuckoos. Okay, the bathroom is small but worked perfectly; the beds were a bit narrow but very comfortable. There is a wonderful roof terrace with superb 360 degree views. The bar leads onto a further terrace to enjoy the evening sun over the lake. The indomitable Maria runs a tight ship and her staff, without exception, are superb. Special mention for Luis - the hardest working waiter we've ever seen! also, thanks to Angela, Alessia and Stefanie. We feel we got very good value here and would happily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RubynLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Recently stayed at Hotel Cristallo with Riviera Travel. What a good choice we made with Riviera and Hotel Cristallo! Lovely room, kept spotless each day, with lovely view over Lake Garda. Can't fault our stay and how Maria and her staff keep going I do not know, they were so friendly and made you feel at home. Nothing was too much trouble. Beds very comfortable and we slept really well. Food was plentiful and good selection. High quality for 3 star hotel, think it should be 4 star. Think it was worth paying the extra for a lake view but there is a nice roof top terrace for those without a balcony. Didn't try the swimming pool as not warm enough but it was early in the season. Malcesine is a lovely place to stay but you do need to be able to walk a lot if you want to go into town as a steep slope down, and up!, to path along lakeside to main town. Well worth it though! Thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: If you can afford to upgrade to balcony with view of Lake Garda it is so worth it! Wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanPaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Hotel Du Lac
Beach Hotel Du Lac
#19 of 71 in Malcesine
343 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Val di Monte
Hotel Val di Monte
#48 of 71 in Malcesine
30 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Capri
Hotel Capri
#5 of 71 in Malcesine
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#4 of 71 in Malcesine
623 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Modena
Hotel Modena
#45 of 71 in Malcesine
259 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Vela Azzurra
Hotel Vela Azzurra
#65 of 71 in Malcesine
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cristallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristallo

Address: Via Gardesana 7/9, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Price Range: £82 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cristallo 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Cristallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cristallo Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing