We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Bay
Ranked #44 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2012

The entrance to the hotel is not the most prepossessing, as you enter through the roof car park and use the lift down to a slightly dated reception area. However, the greeting by the reception staff makes you feel immediately welcome. A free aperitif is offered while the porter takes your cases to your room. The rooms are spotless, as are all areas of the hotel, and clean linen is provided on a daily basis. The restaurant offers a good quality buffet breakfast and, in addition, eggs are cooked to order. Evening meals are excellent, with insalate, antipasti, starters, main and sweet courses all of good quality. The staff made our stay pleasant and memorable, working with a quiet efficiency. It is the location of the hotel, standing in a quiet and picturesque spot right on the lakeside, yet within easy walking distance of the quaint port of Malcesine that makes this so desirable.

Room Tip: Request lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dibbleycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

Decided to stay at Hotel Excelsior Bay after seeing so many good reviews and we were very impressed! Lovely staff, clean/ pretty hotel and the location is amazing, right on the lake with a very short walk into Malcesine! Rooms are a little dated but that would be my only criticism!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 140 which overlooked the pool. The rooms overlooking the lake are obviously the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Just return from our 4 night stay(May 2012) in Hotel EXCELSIOR BAY,highly recommend this hotel.Friendly staff,clean.lovely breakfasts and lovely evening meals.Perfect location ,lovely walk in to Malcesine and lovely walk in the other direction.!Close by to the cable car up to Monte Baldo well worth going up there,beautiful views of the Lake,mountains.Trips across lake to Limone are fairly regularly other places they are less often,bus service to places like Garda,Bardolino are regular!So pleased we chose This hotel and resort.

Room Tip: 118 had a fab view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DEBRA110766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed at the Excelsior Bay Hotel in May for ten days and we found it an excellent Hotel.
The position of the Hotel was perfect, right on the Lake side and in easy walking distance toTown Centre of Malcesine with lovely walks around the Lake.
The cleaniness of the Hotel was spot on, the room was very nice, clean and comfortable with an excellent veiw of the Lake. The staff was most helpful, very friendly and made our stay special. The Food was excellent ( compliments to the chef ) as was the service. The pool was superb and the area round the pool was lovely to relax in with the Lake in front and the Mountains at the rear.
We hopfully will go back to Lake Garda and would defiantly stay at the Excelsior Bay Hotel.
Pat and Brian Hodson.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

The location: The location was perfect, right next to the Lake and the pristine Alpine Range on the horizon! The castle, the town centre and the cable car service to Mount Baldo are all just about 5-15 minutes walk along a beautiful trail from the Hotel.
The Room: We had a double room with balcony offering a spectacular view of the lake. The rooms are cozy, homely and very clean (don't expect 5 starish stuff!). Wi-Fi service is provided in the Lounge, only if you're carrying your own laptop. Internet is inaccessible in the rooms. However, unlike most Italian hotels we stayed at, the Internet service was free here.
The Staff: The best and the friendliest staff we came across throughout our Italian journey. They go out of their way to keep you happy and comfortable! They offered free welcome drinks and noticed the moment we ordered our first munchies that we are vegetarians. And throughout our entire stay, the chef paid special attention to our food and customized all their dishes to suit us, even if we were the only two vegetarians there! The staff, right from the reception to the chef are very helpful and keep the place cheerful!
The Food: Words won't do justice to the awesome food! We were lucky enough to be there during one of the Gala Dinners! Even the normal dinners were so delicious that just one Gala and one normal dinner made me 5 pounds heavier while leaving! Not to mention their freakingly great "cuppa" desserts!
Just go for it! The location, the view, the staff, the food are all worth every single buck you pay!

Room Tip: Choose a room with balcony overlooking the lake. Our room number was 216, which offered a spectacula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Wanderer14287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed at this Hotel in June for a week. We have stayed in othe hotels around Garda and were quite impressed with this one. The position is perfect, right on the lakeside with an easy stroll into Malcesine. The staff were all friendly and helpful, the food, we thought was excellent with a good choice of courses at the waiter service Dinner, including a lovely salad buffet. We often had the pool to ourselves which was spotlessly clean and very inviting! We specially wanted an adult only hotel, but found there were a couple of German parents with children who had obviously booked in on 'spec'! The down-side of the hotel are the slightly small, dated bedrooms, although they are spotlessly clean, in fact our bathroom was probably as big as the bedroom but didn't have a bath, only a shower. Take your own hairdryer if you need to use one often as the over hot industrial type dryers on offer in the bathrooms tended to blow all the fuses in our room if used when the telelvision was on!! All in all we had a lovely holiday, and would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't go for a ground floor room as the views are nil!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Stayed here for one week in Sep 2011.Wonderful position close to the lake,easy to walk into Malcesine.
Rooms are dated.We were given room 208 which was so small we had to be asked to be moved.There was only a single wardrobe,this was obviously a single room.
Dinner was excellent,lots of choice.However deserts were dissapointing.Never had any authentic Italian deserts,no pannacotta/tiramisu.Ice cream every night became boring.
Breakfast was good.Delicious breads. However little fresh fruit.
Staff are excellent and the hotel was very clean.
Just ensure where your room is!!!!

Room Tip: Ask re position of your room otherwise you may have awful view. Avoid rrooms 108 and 208
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ruthiebabeCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Europa - Ristorante al Pontile
0.3 mi away
Beach Hotel Du Lac
Beach Hotel Du Lac
#19 of 71 in Malcesine
343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vega
Hotel Vega
#3 of 71 in Malcesine
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bellevue San Lorenzo
Bellevue San Lorenzo
#14 of 71 in Malcesine
210 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#2 of 71 in Malcesine
826 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#16 of 71 in Malcesine
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Bay

Address: Via Lungolago 13, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Malcesine
#12 Luxury Hotel in Malcesine
#18 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range: £162 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Excelsior Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Bay Malcesine
Excelsior Bay Hotel
Hotel Excelsior Bay Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing