We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Bay
Ranked #41 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Because of its hillside position the hotel is accessed from the road by a locked door and lift or stairs down to reception. We struggled with the intercom for the door but were helped by a very pleasant man (who turned out to be one of the hotel waiters), who came from his car to help. That set the tone for the service. The staff are friendly, helpful and efficient. When the kitchen got busy one night they were very apologetic about a very minimal wait for our food, (in fact we were grateful for the break between courses). We arrived early and were invited to have drinks on the pavement terrace area whilst our bags were taken up to our room. The system of half board customers choosing their dinner at breakfast time is a bit “school dinners”, but the food was excellent varied and imaginative, with a very good salad bar for an “appetizer”.
Our room was a good size well decorated and with good en-suite facilities. We had booked a standard room so did not expect much of a view. However although located at the rear of the hotel, our room had a balcony with a view over the swimming pool and up the side of the mountain to Monte Baldo. The pool terrace was delightful as was the pool itself. Drinks can be enjoyed anywhere and can be put onto your room “tab” with minimal fuss.
The hotel is ideally situated 5 minutes walk from Malcesine town, which, whilst very tourist-orientated is pleasant and relaxing. The cable car for Monte Baldo is about 15 minutes walk from the hotel and moorings offering boat trips across the lake to Limone or tours round the lake itself are only a few minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel is clean, light, airy and very well presented.
This is a delightful hotel in an excellent location and well worth another visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Profnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2012

I was a little apprehensive when I read some poor reviews just prior to our holiday but was more than pleasantly surprised when we arrived.
I could not fault anything about this hotel.The rooms were well equipped and clean with maid service every day. The staff were courteous, attentive and very pleasant. The food was superb with lots of choice at every sitting and the service in the restaurant was excellent.We paid extra for a Lake view which was worth every penny as the views were absolutely stunning.
It was truly one of the most enjoyable holidays we have had and we will definitely be returning to the Excelsior Bay.
I really cannot understand anyone complaining about this hotel.... unless they complain for a living.
we loved it!!!

Room Tip: lake view rooms are well worth the extra money but even the rooms overlooking the pool were nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BarbaraR232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This is the 3rd time back to Malcesine and the Excelsior Bay.It is a wonderfull place to stay .Great staff that care and make you very wellcome.The views on to the lake are fantastic.The town with its cobbled streets a delight.As for the choice of food it is awsome !!
The restaurant in the hotel is very good with some wonderfull menu's and the service is first class we stayed half board and we had great food served for our evening meal every night.It was like eating out every night at a classy restaurant with the most fantastic view in front of you.The Marchello the top bar manager takes over and looks after for the rest of the evening .With the entertaiment of some light music or a singer a nice way to close the day .

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DenisDanburyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

When considering this hotel, BEWARE! The management have no integrity or priciples when it comes to honouring your booking.Overbooking is obviously the norm and they will unceremoniously let you down at the last moment.
In May 2012 my wife and myself booked a week through Thomas Cook at the Excelsior Bay for our Golden Wedding celebration on the 15th September which we paid for in full in May.
Seven days before departure in September we were informed that the hotel was overbooked and were given an alternativehotel in a completely different resort on Lake Garda. This was not suitable and was not what we had booked anyway. As a result we had no option but to ask for a refund and because of the indifference of the Excelsior we have been nowhere.
This was a Golden Wedding celebration, obviously a bit special but now in `tatters`thanks to
the Excelsior. Pitty we never made it as comments from customers who`s bookings were honoured appear to be good.
BEWARE!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
16  Thank 403JOHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The hotel is located 10 minutes walk away from Malcesine centre, which gives it a nice, peaceful ambience on an evening.

The hotel is fronted onto the lake, which means sitting on the veranda, with a Spritz, and watching the Sun set, is one of the amazing sights I've seen.

All the staff are friendly, Marcello looks after everyone well. Making sure drinks are distributed speedily. Tables are located for evening meals, with a designated waiter/waitress for each. our waitress was Lisa, and she did a very good job of looking after us while we were there.
We were slightly disappointed we had to sit inside on an evening (Breakfast can be eaten outside), however with the Air Conditioning on, and the quality of food served, we soon didn't mind.

The rooms are of a decent quality, with the bathrooms being pretty large. The shower curtain didn't really cover where you stood when in the shower , causing us to have a flood any time we used the shower (this isn't really the hotels fault, more user error).

We were in Italy for August 15th, which is a Saint's day, and the Excelsior threw a Gala Dinner. This was a 7 course meal served outside. The experience was brilliant.

The pathway in front of the hotel is a running & cycling track, walking left out of the hotel to the headland and back is a pleasant walk on a morning, and it allows you to see the Castle and Malcesine from a different angle. if you continue past the headland and continue through to the next bay, you arrive at Cassone, which has a picturesque harbour and old light house.

The Castle & Church in Malcesine are definately worth a look. The Castle has a bell situated at the top, if you manage to get to the top on the Hour, the Bell strikes out. Watching the unsuspecting people's reactions to this is quite amusing.

I'd definately recommend this hotel and location in future.

Room Tip: Open the window when having a Hot Bath/shower. It steams up ridiculously quickly otherwise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This was my second choice of hotel in Malcesine, and I'm glad the first choice was fully booked. The Hotel is only a 10-15 minute stroll along the lakeside to the town. Great view in the morning for breakfast as you have it on the terrace with open views of the lake and mountains.
Excellent and helpful staff, food first class.

The only downside is that some rooms i.e. side view rooms,are not probably worth the extra money,if you want a full lake view then go for it, but you do get this at breakfast and all day if your there. The rooms at the back overlooking the pool and mountains are very good.
An excellent relaxing holiday, couldn,t have wished for a better hotel which is superbly located on the lake,close to the town and ammenities yet far enough away to be nice and peaceful.

Room Tip: Wouldn,t opt for a side lake view,as some of these have a blank wall opposite. If you want a full la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DES H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Excelsior Hotel , Malcesine 
The location is superb , however the Hotel lacks imagination with regards the breakfast & evening meals .  Your  tables are allocated to your room & you are seated in the same position every evening . The menu for your evening meal is filled out at your breakfast & the food lacks choice & creativity ,  there are definitely school dinner traits here ! 
Although it is classed as 4 * We would rate it as 3 * . It has free Internet on the first 2 floors above reception which is great !  Rating out if 10 we have awarded it 6. 

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank italian98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Europa - Ristorante al Pontile
0.3 mi away
Beach Hotel Du Lac
Beach Hotel Du Lac
#19 of 71 in Malcesine
343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vega
Hotel Vega
#3 of 71 in Malcesine
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bellevue San Lorenzo
Bellevue San Lorenzo
#13 of 71 in Malcesine
210 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#2 of 71 in Malcesine
825 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#16 of 71 in Malcesine
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Bay

Address: Via Lungolago 13, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Malcesine
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Malcesine
#12 Luxury Hotel in Malcesine
#18 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range: £161 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Excelsior Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Bay Malcesine
Excelsior Bay Hotel
Hotel Excelsior Bay Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing