We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptionally clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Bay
Ranked #41 of 70 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptionally clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with hubby and 7 month old child. We were struck by how clean this hotel is. The bathroom and shower were well maintained and sparkling clean. Room and hotel decor is dated. Breakfast very mediocre. Location fabulous. Breakfast right on the lake. Staff lovely. Management ok.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank rsloan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    80
    34
    20
    6
See reviews for
44
146
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed for a week, and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. The service was fabulous and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. It was a very comfortable place to be - whether sitting on the terrace looking at Lake Garda and the people walking past, or up on the roof or by the pool on a lounge chair. The position is excellent, just a stroll to town, or away from town along the lake, and very close to tourist boats across the lake. We enjoyed all the meals, and being gluten intolerant, I had plenty of choice for the evening meals, though breakfast was more difficult. Drinks were extra, and quite expensive. But the staff were fantastic and made it a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a room facing into the courtyard, and I wouldn't recommend it if you're a light sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairented
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Just returned from our second stay at the Excelsior Bay. Stupal1970 has it bang on, so won't duplicate that review. Forget the arguments over 3 or stars; the criteria vary from country to country and, in Italy, from region to region. Suffice it to say that the Excelsior Bay is clean, bright, welcoming, efficient, superbly positioned and well run. The staff are its biggest asset; all being helpful, friendly and willing to put themselves out to make your stay enjoyable. They clearly enjoy their work and the head bar waiter has worked there for 18 years, and still loves the place. If you want a bland sanitised business 4-star don't go here; but if you want a friendly, intimate and very relaxing hotel then this is for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Profnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We have just come back from two weeks at the hotel Excelsior. Like most things reviews always differ depending on personal opinion. We had a front room which overlooked the lake, the views were amazing and had the view of watching the sun set over the mountains.The room was small but very comfortable, safe in the wardrobe which for once you did not have to pay a deposit for, plenty of hanging and drawer space. The bathroom was well equipped and did the job. The room was cleaned every day to a high standard and the cleaners were exceptional, very efficient and very friendly. Dinner was a la carte as we had one of the front rooms, the food was great with a good choice of food which you picked in the morning ( did not think it could work by hey worked great) the standard was good and as previously mentioned if you did not like something then you could get it changed also taking dinner on the terrace was very nice. The restaurant staff were superb especially Danielle, Tina, Aldo, Francesco and Alem they could not do enough for you, if you do have the chance get the crepes which Aldo does they are simply superb but very fattening. Breakfast was simple but certainly enough don't expect a full English fry up as in Italy this is not the done thing however you can still have an omelette, fried or scrambled eggs, also bread, cakes, juice, yoghurt, coffee and tea.

The area was stunning and the hotel was positioned nea enough to the town but far enough away from the crowds, plenty of places to walk and the town of Malcesine is simply stunning with plenty of local restaurants and bars but do not expect loud music etc as the Lakes in general are for a quieter time, this is not magaluf.

I would suggest visiting the other areas which can all be reached either by boat or by bus but expect delays and very busy buses, best try taking the ferrys as it is much quicker. If you do have time go up Monte baldo you get breathtaking views of the lake and the Dolomites and also if you also have time get out to see the Dolomites but take warm clothes with you as when we were up the it snowed.

Overall I would highly recommend the hotel as it's staff and location are fantastic and the Lake in general is a fantastic place to visit. As from the beginning some will critique the hotel but as I say if you listen to everything then you would never travel and see great places like this, everyone's opinion varies.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stupal1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Beautiful location very handy for the town, hotel very clean and staff very pleasant and helpful. Particularly Marcello the head waiter, and Rachel the receptionist impressed me the most, very helpful and informative.
Our room was very basic none of the usual 4 star facilities such as tea, coffee & complimentary water on arrival. The bathroom although adequate had one miserable bar of soap, no shower gels etc. I have travelled all over the world and always stayed 4 star plus, this hotel is not 4 star. Breakfast was adequate, the usual omelette, toast, cereal etc. The first evening we asked if we could sit outside and was told it was reserved for a la carte! The evening menu was unimaginative and quite taste less, lamb cutlets you could have soled your shoes with! Scampi shells on a plate of pasta! We ate out a couple of times and really wished we had booked Bed and breakfast, drinks in the hotel are usual hotel prices extortionate.
My advise would be to go B&B at this hotel, or even better stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joelAlKhobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The hotel is located on the lakeside about 5 minutes walk from the main town along a promenade which also provides lovely evening strolls. Being in the northern part of the lake the views are of high mountains in all directions.
We stayed in a lake view room at the front of the hotel for 12 nights, the rooms are not over large but adequate and comfortable. There was sufficient room for clothes and the small balcony provided a space to sit out in the sun and admire the views. There is a room safe in the wardrobe on top of the drawers and and fridge which you can have stocked from the bar (or add your own drinks from supermarket and much cheaper cost. There are larger rooms but they overlook the pool rather than the lake. The pool itself is large enough for modest fitness swimming as well as just cooling off.
There has been some in our opinion unfounded criticism of breakfast. If you want a full English every day they frankly don't come to the Italian Lakes go to the Lake District instead. There is a good selection of Fruit Juices, cereals, pastries, fruit and yoghurt every day with toast and a selection of jams. There is a hot food service with one chef preparing perfectly good omelettes with a wide range of fillings or just plain fired or scrambled eggs. If you want cooked breakfast you may have to queue but your on holiday so what's the rush. Just what do people expect.
The normal procedure is for the dinner menu to be presented at breakfast and you tick the selection you require. I expected this to be annoying but actually worked very well. In the Italian style there are 3 savoury courses with various choices. There is a fish dish option every day.
The waiters then come round after main course giving you the choices for desert. Some people had all courses and some less depending on their appetite. I do agree that some dishes were more successful than others and if you are unlucky you could choose a poorer dish on several occasion's, we only had one really poor dish which was rather solid walnut dumplings with blue cheese sauce. However if there is a problem all you have to do is quietly mention it to the head waiter or the head barman (who is actually the hotel manager !) and an alternative will be immediately offered. Overall the we ended each evening both full and very content. A seafood soup was memorable and and Squid ink pasta and seafood dish outstanding. If you really do have a problem you can always eat al a'carte at extra cost but you get 30 pct off the cost of the food in lieu your half board dinner.You can also 'swop' your evening meal for a packed lunch and eat out in the evening to add some variety.
The waiting staff were outstanding, could not be more helpful and great fun provided you are prepared to chat to them.
In the evening there is a live entertainer every night which very pleasant. They seem to rotate between singer/guitarist and /singer keyboard players. You sit on the terrace enjoying drinks and coffee and enjoying the night views of the lake.
As we had a lake view room we got to each on the open terrace, guests from other rooms ate in the dinning room. Although the terrace has nice views in some ways the dinning room is more comfortable as it is air conditioned. It was very hot in August and we quickly decided not to come to our table for dinner before 19.50 as the setting sun was blazing down until that time. Maybe at other times of the year this is not a problem as not so hot.

This was one of the most relaxing holidays we have had and much of that was down to the hotel so recommended.

Room Tip: If eating al fresco on the terrace is important to you then choose at lake view room or one of the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCofEssexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed August 2013.Stunning position and friendly efficient staff.Small room with poor outlook.Only one real complaint that the food was not good enough.When you are paying £1100pp for a week you are entitled to expect good food and while breakfast was adequate some of the evening meals were not.Overcooked steak,soggy broccoli and 4 small reheated roast potatoes are not good enough.Also if you are staying half board you may not be allowed to eat your evening meal outside on a nice evening as they keep this for the "a la carte" guests and passing traffic.Instead you will be put inside behind the glass which isn't nearly as nice.If you kick up a bit (lot) of a fuss you may be lucky and get moved.Our nicest meal of the holiday was the one night we went into town and ate out!Our advice would be to stay B&B if you can and enjoy one of the many excellent restaurants in Malcesine.

Room Tip: You pay a lot extra for a lake view which isn't really necessary as you can always go onto the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prassanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0.3 mi away
Beach Hotel Du Lac
Beach Hotel Du Lac
#17 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Val di Sogno
Hotel Val di Sogno
#11 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bellevue San Lorenzo
Bellevue San Lorenzo
#21 of 70 in Malcesine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Capri
Hotel Capri
#7 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambienthotel Luna Rossa
Ambienthotel Luna Rossa
#15 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vega
Hotel Vega
#3 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Bay

Property: Hotel Excelsior Bay
Address: Via Lungolago Madonnina 13, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Malcesine
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Malcesine
#10 Luxury Hotel in Malcesine
#18 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Excelsior Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Bay Malcesine
Excelsior Bay Hotel
Hotel Excelsior Bay Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing