We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Excelsior Bay
Nearby Hotels
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Benacus Malcesine(Malcesine)
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Oasi Beach(Malcesine)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Dolomiti(Malcesine)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ariston(Malcesine)
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lido(Malcesine)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveller rating
124
85
37
24
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
85
37
24
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf boardlake viewchef cookingevening mealrestaurant and bar staffwalk in wardrobecable carpool area isfantastic locationshort walkitalian hotelshot weathermain coursesmall balconythe hotel is cleanmost eveningsroom was spotless
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 277 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2014

we arrived here on the off chance having walked out of anather hotel in disgust.
they could not have been more helpful and converted a large double to one with a third bed in no time.
not cheap but Italy isn't cheap.
location stunning.the best in that they are.right on the lake but only a 7 or 8 minute stroll to town.some of the hotels in town would be noisy and some of the ones further out whilst lovely require a cab to get in malcesine.
immaculately clean and excellent service.food delicious,we only had dinner once but it was yummy.
pool lovely,nice sunbeds and great pool service.
a great privately owned well run hotel.would return!

Room Tip: if you can get a room with a lake view.the sunset is just unmissable!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jks24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great location, breathtaking views and quite simply a great hotel.Rooms are a little dated but very spacious, the food was great and varied in selection. Live music most nights...some better than others but all entertaining. The owners are very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a view
Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

As with the curates egg - good in parts. As everyone says, the location is fantastic and could not be bettered. Close enough to the town for a ten minute stroll, right on the lake and well back from any road noise. The views are stunning.
The rooms are typically small and furnished well enough for a week's clothing to be unpacked. The balcony provided by a side-view room is barely large enough for two people to sit out on with two small chairs and no table. The food was also 'patchy'. There was a good choice but the quality was not consistent and the vegetables were often out of a tin which is quite unforgivable in a hotel which rates itself highly. Tinned carrots and tinned peas are not 4 star Italian cuisine!

The other main criticism is the lack of a reasonably sized lounge where residents can just sit down and relax, read or spend some quite time. The only area provided is where all the tour brochures are kept in the main lobby. Impossible to relax there. The patio area is set up for eating and drinking and bordered by the lakeside path into town. A lounge should be provided.

The location and the friendly staff raised my mark above the "average".

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonnycomelately
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The location is fantastic, right on the lakeside and only a 3-4 minute stroll from the town center. During our stay we looked at several of the other hotels and agreed that for our purposes the location of this hotel was the best! The ferry to Limone is just a few yards away and is only 9 Euros for the return trip. If you want to buy souvenirs and clothes then go to the Limone market on Tuesday morning, the prices are much cheaper than the shops in Malcesine.

The hotel is very pretty from the outside and the public areas, restaurant, lounge, terrace etc. are all very pleasant and clean. The staff were all helpful and friendly.

We really enjoyed the breakfast served on the terrace. It was the usual continental plus bacon, eggs, & omelettes cooked to order by the nice young chef on the terrace.
I loved the coffee but the orange juice was so watered down you could see through it!

The four course evening meals were well presented and the dining room staff were excellent. We enjoyed sitting in the restaurant watching the sunset. If only the food had been better! It was all extremely bland and not at all like the Italian cuisine we had been looking forward to. The pasta dishes were the worst I have ever eaten, overcooked and tasteless! The chef can’t possibly be Italian! If you want Italian food then don’t stay half board, there are some wonderful restaurants in the town.

The hotel proprietors don’t seem to understand the requirements of the modern day traveller and have not kept up with the times. The rooms were very basic for a 4* hotel. The décor seems to be new but very old fashioned in style. Hard single beds with heavy blankets, not duvets!! I can’t remember when I last saw a blanket on a hotel bed, they are just not hygienic!! There were no toiletries, tissues, tea/coffee or iron or laundry facilities. No waste bin in the bedroom - we had to use a carrier bag. Nowadays even the budget hotels and B&B’s provide these things as standard. We spent the first morning looking for a supermarket to buy shampoo, etc. You can’t pack all that stuff these days as the airline baggage allowances are so limited. The hotel does have Wifi but only in the area around reception. Not good for those who like to work while on holiday which most of us have to do these days. There were no English channels on the TV, this would not have been a problem if we could have used our laptops in the bedroom to watch TV on the iplayer, but this was not possible.

Check out is at 10am on the dot and you have to go to the manager’s office to pay your bill rather than pay at reception in the usual way - it’s all rather antiquated.

Please note – side lake view rooms do not have any view from the room!! The rooms look out over an alley at the side of the hotel and there is a lot of noise from delivery vans. You only
get a glimpse of the lake from the balcony. The rooms are OK but we don’t think the Hotel/Tour Operators should be charging extra for them.

Despite the negatives we would stay here again because of the location but would eat in town. It’s such a shame, this could be a fantastic hotel with the right management!!

Room Tip: It's not worth paying extra for a side lake view room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BluAngel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excelsior_Bay, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Excelsior Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014
Google Translation

We would like to thank our kind guests for appreciating the hotel, the location and our staff.We are pleased to know that they would visit us again and will be always happy to welcoming them.
Nevertheless, we would like to clarify some point. The review’s authors did not like the hotel cuisine; we are sorry for this, but consider that many guests appreciate it very much, as is clearly displayed by a large number of reviews as well.
About the rooms: every room is provided with toiletries (soap, bath foam / shampoo, bath cap).
It is possible that unfortunately something has been forgotten, and we beg the customers’ pardon for this: anyway, the guest could have asked the reception (the staff is always at disposals for help) instead of going to the supermarket.
Laundry service: in every room the information folder tells (in English as well) that a laundry service is available on request (just handing to the reception the clothes in a special bag that we provide).
Waste bin is in every room: it is placed into the bathroom, as having a waste bin in the room where one sleeps can be considered not properly hygienic or pleasant.
Tv channels in English language are available in every room (eg CNN; Cnbc, BBC news): if there was any difficulty with the TV connection guests could have informed us.
Finally, the room category “side lake view” means that a part of the lake can be seen from window or balcony. Front lake view is a different category, and this is explained in the travel agent brochures.
We would like to thank you for the time and attention in reading this lines. We hope this explanation will be useful to our kind guests and to all the travelers. Best regards. Hotel Excelsior Bay
Italian Version: Ringraziamo i nostri ospiti per aver apprezzato la struttura e la posizione dell’hotel e il servizio del nostro personale e siamo lieti di sapere che tornerebbero volentieri: saremo sempre lieti di accoglierli.
Anche nel rispetto di tutti i nostri ospiti presenti e futuri e per correttezza verso di loro e verso noi stessi vorremmo però chiarire alcuni punti: ci dispiace che agli autori della recensione non sia piaciuto il tipo di cucina, ma è innegabile che molti ospiti hanno gradito particolarmente la cucina servita nell’hotel, come si può leggere anche in molte altre recensioni.
Per quanto riguarda le camere, ogni stanza è rifornita di servizio di cortesia da bagno. E’ possibile che ci sia stata una dimenticanza nel rifornire la stanza dei signori, e di questo ci scusiamo. Il personale dell’hotel è però a disposizione: se i clienti si fossero rivolti al ricevimento per far presente la cosa, avremmo potuto provvedere subito. Quanto al servizio lavanderia, nel fascicolo informativo posto in ogni camera è scritto (anche in inglese) che il servizio di lavanderia è disponibile su richiesta rivolgendosi al ricevimento (basta consegnare i vestiti in un'apposita borsa da noi fornita).
Il cestino per i rifiuti è presente in ogni camera : si trova nel bagno, dal momento che non sembra igienico né piacevole avere un cestino per rifiuti nella stanza dove si dorme.
La tv prede vari canali in lingua inglese , quali ad esempio BBC news, cnn, Cnbc. Se c’erano difficoltà nella ricezione i clienti potevano avvisarci e avremmo potuto agire immediatamente.
Infine, con tipologia “ vista lago parziale” si intende camera dalla cui finestra o balcone è possibile vedere una parte del lago. Le camere con vista lago frontale sono una categoria ancora diversa. Nei cataloghi delle agenzie questo è spiegato.
Ringraziamo i lettori per aver dedicato qualche minuto a queste righe, sperando con questo breve intervento di essere stati utili ai nostri gentili ospiti ed a tutti i viaggiatori. Cordiali saluti. Hotel Excelsior Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have just returned from my first stay in Italy and Lake Garda. We couldn't have chosen a better location or hotel if we had tried to do so. The location is wonderful. A lake side room is extra but is well worth it for the stunning view as we sat on your balcony. We ate outside patio every night and for breakfast. The staff were attentive and very pleasant to us all week. The food was good and you could have A La carte menu if you wished. Good wine list. The pool was clean and not too busy. The hotel was spotlessly clean as well. Wonderful week wished we had booked for two.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews