We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel with a view, but IKEA furnishings”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Maximilian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Maximilian
Ranked #12 of 70 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel with a view, but IKEA furnishings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed in Maximilian for 4 nights in July 2014. Location is good. Located right on the shore with very nice views of the lake and a short, 30 min, walk from the city center. A small pebble stone beach just outside hotel property. Very nice restaurant with higher than city prices, but still manageable.

We were lodged in a brand new wing consisting only of suites. At the first glance all looks modern and nice. However, seems this wing was opened to customers a bit early. With a closer look, you noted that something like 5 sliding doors were missing, a number of electric switches controlled nothing (bits and pieces to be installed later, I was advised). The shower was nice and modern but for am reasons you had to close all curtains to the room as the shower stall was fully transparent glass - with a direct view into the shower from outside. And, yes, ALL furnitures aparently purchased at IKEA. A bit too drifty for 275 EUR/night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    33
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
31
171
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SURREY,ENGLAND
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

This stay was our first holiday without the children for 18 years - what a perfect choice!
This hotel was as close to perfection as you can get - the staff were all friendly & helpful - the food was superb as were the facilities.
The views from our room were little short of truly stunning!
Situated in a small bay & a 15 minute walk from the main town the location could not have been better.Using a pathway that follows the edge of the lake that is lit at night - a more romantic destination would be hard to find.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

It has taken me a few weeks to write this so I apologize for that. Myself and my partner stayed here the first week in June and I can only say that we had the most wonderful holiday possible. Everything about this hotel was outstanding The staff went out of their way to be helpful Our room was amazing with the biggest balcony I have ever seen. The food was exceptional and the location to die for. This is the first review I have ever written but felt I would do the hotel a disservice by not doing so. So if you are reading this wondering if you should book it or not BOOK NOW BEFORE ITS TOO LATE !!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: I think our room was 26 It was a corner room massive balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

I stayed in this hotel last week, it was amazing. The staff are great, the food and service too.
The location is wonderful, just by the lake and I would definately return. Stefania and Achilly were so helpful, they couldn't do enough for us.
Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

This is a great hotel. Great staff, great cuisine and the facilities are just right. If you are looking for a place that is busy, with a large pool, then this is not the hotel for you. If what you are looking for is a place where you can really relax, where the food and service are a delight, and you want plenty of options in the local area for activities (walks, bike rides, windsurfing etc etc) then this could work for you. The clientele are from all over but are couples in the main. There were a small number of children there, but it is not a family centered. A really super hotel"

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cricket111_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is an absolute little jewel of a hotel, and my only reticence about writing about it is that I don't want to draw too many people's attention to it lest it become too popular. Small, perfectly designed, and staffed by delightfully friendly people. When we arrived and I started unpacking the car the Robin Williams lookalike porter grabbed my cases and told me in Italian that he had no intention of my working when I was on holiday.

The view of the Val di Sogno bay and the mountains above is genuinely breathtaking, and the hotel itself goes right down to the lake. The pool is small, but never crowded; within its environs are little concealed terraces and nooks where one can lounge in comfort, and if more is needed, there is an additional indoor pool a few steps away.

Our package was half board, but we assumed that we would probably eat out most evenings. However, the four course meal offered on the first evening was so wonderful that we only ate out once (and suffered vastly inferior fayre as a consequence).

It isn't perfect - the basin in our room wobbled, and when wet the floors were treacherously slippery; the coffee in the morning was disappointing, (though the evening espresso was beyond reproach) and the delicious lunchtime spaghetti carbonara was off the menu on one occasion. None of these, however, is enough to make me withhold a star. Go! Except, Don't! I want it to myself!

Room Tip: We had 'superior' rooms which open out onto a lawn with private tables and loungers, just ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pacman9302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

What an amazing little hotel on the outskirts of malcesine! This hotel is in a beautiful spot and nicely secluded for a romantic week away. Only 20 mins walk away from malcesine town we found a beautiful walk along the lakeside although I wouldn't recommend the walk along the main road which isn't paved! Malcesine itself is beautiful with a lovely view from the top of the cable car (although queues can be over an hour!)

Back to the hotel though - we had paid for a superior lake view room and what a room! Modern and well equipped there was no need to leave even to catch the sun with the massive loungers on the balcony. The food was excellent and although only 3 options of starter and main there was always something to choose (although might not suit all tastes!). Wine was reasonably expensive as expected but with a supermarket 2 minutes away you can always stock up the fridge in he hotel room!

The staff were all very helpful and overall I couldn't fault the stay and would definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0.9 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#3 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#2 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Val di Sogno
Hotel Val di Sogno
#9 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bellevue San Lorenzo
Bellevue San Lorenzo
#22 of 70 in Malcesine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#1 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#5 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maximilian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maximilian

Property: Hotel Maximilian
Address: Localita Val di Sogno 6, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Malcesine
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malcesine
#15 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maximilian 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Maximilian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maximilian Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Maximilian Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing