We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why because we are 2 star”
Review of Hotel Modena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Modena
Ranked #45 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We went to Malcesicine for a wedding and decided to make it our two week summer holiday. The hotel was extremely clean and welcoming, after settling in we asked Gino what time dinner was between and was told 7pm, so I said 7 till when and Gino said just 7, why because we are 2 star. How wrong was he, the food was of 5 star standard and by second week we were allowed to set the menu, would not get that anywhere else. Moira and Claudia worked tirelessly and Gino is very poorly and yet a vey pleasant gentleman who likes motorbikes. The only negative as a wife and mother was that there was not a launderette in Malcesine, and the holiday rep said no one stays here for longer than 7 days! This did not help me, however, a beautiful place, we would recommend this hotel time again. We were even supplied ear plugs as being right in the town centre it was noisy, but that did not ruin our stay there. So thank you Gino, Claudia and Moira for a great stay. No pool but lake is great, remember rubber shoes as lots of rocks and pebbles.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of September. If you are on a budget and just looking for a clean and comfortable bed in a clean room, then this is an ideal hotel.
It's well located in the centre of town, the rooms are basic with no air con, but there was a room fan which cooled the room enough for us to sleep ok.
The breakfast although not a great selection was adequate, overall the hotel was excellent value for what we paid.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 122martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

If you are staying like us as wedding guests then this small hotel is ideally situated in the midst of the town. In a cobbled street only a 100 yards away from the lake the hotel is perfect for getting around and about. Whilst the rooms are basic, they are very clean and offer a good night's rest. The rooms are spacious with good double glazing and whilst there is no air con, there are fans in the rooms which are sufficient to keep you cool at night. The bathrooms are spacious and include a small shower with plentiful hot water. Breakfast consists of cold meat, cheese, cereals, the option to boil your own eggs how you like them along with fresh rolls and sliced bread for toast. Good coffee and fruit juices and water are also offered along with fresh fruit and yogurt.

Room Tip: Though in the centre of Malcesine you can get a good nights sleep Close to the Casle for Weddings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyHeather54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for four nights last month and I would certainly recommend it. The staff were very friendly and most helpful - upon arrival we were offered bottled water and due to my wife's restricted mobility, were given a choice of rooms. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was first class. This hotel is central and is ideal in every respect for bar's and restaurants plus the water ferries and the nearest beach which can be found just around behind the castle nearby to the Spar supermarket.

Room Tip: Although most of the rooms overlook the streets which can be a bit noisey, there are some rooms loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank June T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights, although basic it was extremely clean and comfortable.Breakfast basic but enough for us. Claudia and staff very friendly and helpful.Would recommend this hotel if you want a superb location in centre of town for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BristolukMalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The staff were extremely friendly, the rooms very clean, and the breakfast really rather good. I was visiting Malcesine for a friends wedding and to also take advantage of the trip for what turned out to be an amazing holiday! My room did get insanely hot at times, but I had no qualms about leaving my door and window open at night to let the cooler air in (my room opened up onto the shared patio) and the fan was powerful. I couldn't recommend this hotel enough. Yes - it is a bit dated in terms of decor, but everything is clean and works, so it really doesn't matter. I have paid much more for accommodation nowhere near this good. Oh, and the hotel also comes with an iron. Something many of the other hotels seemed to lack. Wifi only works on the ground floor, but the signal was strong. Great value for the price. I would go back in a flash!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Me and my family stayed here for my brothers wedding at the begining of the month, we didnt expect much as the price was cheap. We arrived in the afternoon, extremly hot and exhaused! to be greeted by a lovely lady who checked us in and also gave us a bottle of cold water! The room was basic but had everything we needed it and beds were comfy! Bathroom was a decent size again with everything we needed! There was a bit of town noise in the mornings as we were facing the street but we werent tooo fussed about this as we needed to be up early anyway!
This hotel is a fantastic location for the castle, the lake and bars and resturants. Breakfast was continental and very well set out! We will be returning to this lovely city and most definatly this hotel!

Room Tip: If your a light sleeper maybe request a quiet side of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elouise62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Alpino
Hotel Alpino
#11 of 71 in Malcesine
364 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#33 of 71 in Malcesine
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Peler
Hotel Peler
#54 of 71 in Malcesine
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#9 of 71 in Malcesine
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Malcesine
#52 of 71 in Malcesine
235 reviews
3.3 mi away
Parc Hotel Eden
Parc Hotel Eden
#60 of 71 in Malcesine
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modena

Address: Corso Giuseppe Garibaldi 2, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Price Range: £60 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Modena 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Modena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modena Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Modena Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing