We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel but be aware......”
Review of Hotel Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rosa
Ranked #70 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great hotel but be aware......”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The Hotel Rosa is smashing, perfect location, amazing setting, lovely pool area, a perfect small, hotel. Emma on Reception is great, very efficient and helpful and Chiara in the restaurant is a delight. HOWEVER there are a few things you need to know before you book a holiday there: 1) credit cards not accepted for amounts of less than 200 euros - I enjoy my wine but even I could not manage to notch up that much, fortunately we had some £s which we changed. 2) if you want your meal out on the terrace, overlooking the lake it will cost you another 7 euros each for each meal, that makes nearly 100 euros a week for a couple - quite a big extra 'spend'. Fortunately for us the weather was cool so we ate dinner in the restaurant. 3) BE CAREFUL if you are out late! we came back at 22.45 from a concert in town to find the Hotel in darkness No problems, we thought as of course we had our keys. However, the metal chest-high security gate was secured, we did not have a key for that!!! in the end we had to climb over and I am 66 years old with arthritis! not funny. We thought it was just us, but later in the week we saw a whole group of guests climbing over the gate. Oh! and the Manager did not deign to acknowledge me all week, despite seeing me several times a day he totally ignored me. No idea why, I am a nice friendly person. Finally, we LOVED Malcesine but we have to say it was not the Italian experience we had hoped for, I even had to speak German in the market to buy what I wanted, I felt I was on holiday on the Rhine!!

Room Tip: Choose a lake view room with balcony, FABULOUS views, nice rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hildegarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    14
    19
    10
    9
See reviews for
12
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We had what was called the suite. Really one large room, on the water side. To our surprise, the entire hotel was filled with German tourists. We were the only non-German speakers there. The food was pretty dismal. Much better available in town. Nice pool. Clean grounds and room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mach111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Just got back from a one week stay at Hotel Rosa, The hotel is in a perfect location with fantastic views of the lake to the front, we did pay the extra for a lake view and it was well worth it. The Hotel is only small but has a decent size pool, well maintained. Very well situated within easy reach of Malchesnie A medium walk or a short trip on the very reliable tourist bus which stops right outsie the hotel. Hotel Rosa staff were wonderful all very helpful we were well looked after all week, Food was great and very nicely presented and searved. so much nicer than the all inclusive mayhem that seems so popular now, The hotel was very clean and had an excellent daily mail service We would definatley visit again but to make the most of all the close by places to visit I would recomend Two weeks, all within approx 2 hours Verona, Milan Venice The Dolomites plus all the lake side villages Great Hotel well recomended

Room Tip: Ask for lake view, well worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabrielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2013

While we all know a holiday is more than just your room it does have a bearing on your enjoyment. Therefore if you can overcome the tiny dark rooms at the back, less than 6 foot away from the window there is high wall overshadowing the first two floors which means you always need a light on and you are prepared for the tiny, tiny bathroom, then you will enjoy this hotel. We stayed at the beginning of June and I would imagine during the summer these rooms become hot and stuffy.

The hotel and poolside are very clean and the staff helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a beautiful situation and from the front is the most beautiful scenery I have ever seen. There is a good choice of food but during the evening meal no drinks are offered not even water, they are at an additional cost.

Room Tip: If you are booking independently pay the extra and have a balcony room at the front. If you are boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 957Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed at Hotel Rosa for a week in mid may. It was a bit at the start and end of the week, but brilliantly sunny in the middle - we are told however that this is not the norm - at that time of year they expect wall to wall sunshine! The hotel is brilliantly situated just south of Malcesine - just a 20-30 minute walk along the waterfront will get you right into the centre of Malcesine. Alternatively the tourist bus (which stops right outside the hotel) will get you into town for just €1. The hotel itself is very clean and the food is brilliant. The staff are always willing to help and speak much better english than I do italian. The area seems mainly to cater to Germans, but plenty of people speak english - although I always find that at least trying a little Italian gets you a long way. One small negative - the rooms are quite small, and the en-suites are smaller, and even if you book a double it's still only two twins pushed together. Don't let this discourage you though as there is plenty to do outside of the hotel so you should only need to be using the rooms for sleeping in!

Room Tip: Get a Lake view - they have balconies and you can sit on them and drink the €1.70/litre Bardolino re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CurlyPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

76 friends & family descended on Malsecine for my nephews wedding, we booked Hotel Rosa as it is next door to the reception venue. Glad we did, excellent on every level. Friendly & very helpful staff, nice clean rooms, good views and breathtaking views of Lake Garda (and the mountains).

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JulianKemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Me and my partner stayed for a week half board at the Hotel Rosa and have to say it was one of the nicest holidays we have had in a while. The staff were extremely friendly, the rooms really clean with spectacular views across the lake (we booked a lake view which is a must), the food was also really good so all in all a fantastic family run hotel that we will recommend to family and friends and definitely go back ourselves.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dianah31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Val di Sogno
Hotel Val di Sogno
#10 of 71 in Malcesine
195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Orizzonte
Villa Orizzonte
#25 of 71 in Malcesine
45 reviews
4.5 mi away
Parc Hotel Eden
Parc Hotel Eden
#64 of 71 in Malcesine
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Beach Hotel Du Lac
Beach Hotel Du Lac
#20 of 71 in Malcesine
334 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Laura Christina
Hotel Laura Christina
#68 of 71 in Malcesine
103 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Peler
Hotel Peler
#50 of 71 in Malcesine
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rosa

Property: Hotel Rosa
Address: Localita Val di Sogno, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rosa 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosa Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Rosa Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing