We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class”
Review of Hotel Vega

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Vega
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
West Lothian, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“First class”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We were in Malcesine for our daughter's wedding and stayed at the Vega with my parents. The hotel is excellent-clean, comfortable and very well run by the owner, Marco. We had evening meals and they were first class. Breakfast was excellent as well.

Marco and the receptionist, Natalie , were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. As others have commented , it seems Marco works at least 16 hours a day seven days a week. !!!! All the other staff were friendly too.

The location of the hotel is fantastic- only a few minutes from the centre of Malcesine but in a quiet location. Various members of our family visited us ( Marco is fine with this as long as you let him know) and they were all very impressed with the hotel.

We stayed on the bottom floor, in room 25 ,which has three steps inside which leads onto the decking and we also had our own table and deck chairs outside our door. This room was very quiet and the only sounds we heard were the waves ,which was quite relaxing.

I would 100% recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here the next time we holiday in Malcesine. Thanks for a fantastic holiday Marco.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    50
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
60
320
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

A warm and cheerful welcome from Marco and his very friendly, professional team ensured we were immediately put at our ease. We stayed half board and were impressed with the high standard of food at both breakfast and the evening meal. Breakfast was cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cold meats and cheeses, fruit juices, eggs and a good selection of breads. Evening meal was three courses, with three choices of first and second courses followed by a choice of dessert (no repetition of choices for at least a week and then there was a twist to it - so no boredom). The dining room gave superb views over the lake to the mountains beyond, the waiting staff provided a first class service. Rooms comfortable and very clean with plenty of storage; loungers on the balcony allowed us to enjoy the amazing views in comfort. Marco was always on hand and we were able to use his local knowledge to plan our days. Swimming in the lake and use of the hot-tub and gardens allowed guests to enjoy the hotel when they aren't out exploring the town or local area. Ferries were a very short walk from the hotel. I have to agree with other reviewers that this hotel should have a much higher star rating. Many thanks to Marco, Natalie and their team for a very happy and memorable holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 98NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed here in the run up to our wedding in one of the four junior suites which are spacious and modern with views of the lake that are breath taking . We stayed half board which I would recommend as the food in the evening was outstanding! You would happily pay £100 a couple for that quality of food in England and the dinning room has unbelievable panoramic views of the lake which are breathtaking! The owner was very helpful during our stay up until the night before the wedding when we invited two friends in to view the room and for a glass of wine at which point he burst into the room pushed our friends who are both teachers out of the room and threatened me and my fiancé with being thrown onto the street at 12 at night the night before the wedding for apparently being to loud!!! An amazing place as long as you are 70+ or like to be in bed by 9. Shame could of been perfect!

Room Tip: Junior suits need to be seen to be believed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marco m, Proprietario at Hotel Vega, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Daniel K, you and your fiancee did indeed stay here in one of my four Junior Suites, which, as you say, are spacious, modern and have breathtaking views of the Lake. I was pleased that you stayed half board and were able to enjoy the evening meals, which, as you say yourself, were outstanding! I was flattered to read that you would happily pay £100 per couple in England, for this quality of food. I was pleased too, that you recognised the helpful attitude of myself, the owner, prior to the night before your wedding. I am disappointed, however, that your recollections of that night are incorrect! The truth is, I was alerted at 03.00 by a number of calls from other guests angrily complaining that they had been awakened by a group of loud and clearly drunken individuals swimming in the whirlpool. Leaving aside the consequences of allowing non-residents to stay overnight, you, your fiancee and your two friends, teachers or otherwise, should have known that your behaviour was quite simply unacceptable. Your group’s behaviour that morning, the morning of your wedding, was shameful. Because of it, a number of guests left on that very day, and others indicated that they would not return. The only explanation offered in defence of your actions, was that you were young, getting married and that’s the way it is done!
Shame really, for as you say, your stay could have been perfect!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The positiion of this hotel is excellent, right on the lake side and quiet although within three minutes walk of the town. Our room with balcony overlooking the lake was first class - clean and comfortable. I think the hotel has very recently been refurbished to a very high standard and the food couldn't be faulted.

Room Tip: I understand all the rooms have a balcony and are good and quiet but our room number 4 was excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed at The Vega in May of this year. It was our first visit to Garda & we could not have chosen a better Hotel & resort. Everything(bar the weather) was perfect. Hotel location, the best, food, fantastic, service, friendliness of the staff, cleanliness 100%. Like many other reviewers I can find no fault with it. It was our first "package" holiday & I cannot recommend Crystal highly enough.

Room Tip: depends what you want - we opted for a lake view but the views from the front are great too & al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeandliz70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This was a fourth visit to the Vega and it just goes on getting better and better somehow. Having discovered the Vega after trying other hotels in Malcesine we would never go anywhere else. Perfect location with stunning views in all directions so any room is great. Have experienced deluxe suite, lake view and side view rooms now and all have been worth the money.

The hotel is immaculately clean and very comfortable. Rooms are bright and well organised, plenty of storage with flat screen TV if anyone has time to watch it ! Super balconies and there are also lake view furnished balconies on each floor for anyone's use so guests in mountain facing rooms can use these ( great idea ). The decking area and lake garden are beautiful.

Staff are excellent but unobtrusive and Marco is great - nothing is too much trouble and he genuinely wants to please his guests.

But the best thing about the Vega is the dining experience. The beautiful dining room overlooking the lake is the perfect end to every day. Food here is amazing, gorgeous flavours, well presented and a huge choice to suit every taste. After 4 or 5 courses together with fabulous local Italian wine everyone leaves with a smile. It takes at least one and a half hours to enjoy a leisurely dinner. Breakfast is equally as good.

In fact we love this hotel and the laid back feel of Malcesine that we are back again in five weeks time. Can't wait ! Thanks to Marco and all the unobtrusive staff at the Vega for a great holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This was our third trip to Malcesine but our first to Hotel Vega. It will not be our last. Everything was superb. The owner, Marco, and all his staff, from waiters to chefs, to room cleaning ladies, to pool/garden maintenance -- all deserve the highest praise. I can find no fault and recommend it without reservation.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Some face the lake and others have balconies at the back, overlooking the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPRHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malcesine hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#2 of 71 in Malcesine
780 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#3 of 71 in Malcesine
580 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#7 of 71 in Malcesine
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#1 of 71 in Malcesine
599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#8 of 71 in Malcesine
96 reviews
1.1 mi away
Majestic Palace Hotel
Majestic Palace Hotel
#12 of 71 in Malcesine
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vega

Property: Hotel Vega
Address: Viale Roma 10 | Lago di Garda, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vega 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Vega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vega Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Vega Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing