We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very charming hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vega

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Vega
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in Malcesine
Certificate of Excellence
Weston-super-mare
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very charming hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stayed at Vega for a week half board to celebrate our 30th anniversary. We really liked it there. It is a small hotel in a great position. It is sitting right on the lake so you can sunbath on the deck and enjoy the lovely views, and is very close to the harbour area and ferry point with its shops and restaurants. However it is really quiet at night so we slept well. We had a side lake view which we liked - could see the lake on one side and see the mountain and church (and people watch) on the other side. The room itself was a bit small and maybe in need of an update, however it was comfortable.
The restaurant is lovely, very modern and sleek with amazing views of the lake. We didn’t get a table right by the window which would have been nice, however you can see the view wherever you sit so no problem really. The food in the evening is traditional Italian which is our favourite. The pasta starters were fantastic and we looked forward all day to them. The fish dishes were good and I had a very good Osso Buco. One of the waiters gave very ‘interesting’ descriptions of the desserts eg “Eton mess without the meringue”! which turned out to be strawberry shortcake (very nice). We learnt to look at the desserts first and try to match the descriptions.
All the staff were very attentive and polite. The lady behind reception was really lovely, very helpful and kind. And Marco….well he certainly is a character but is very charming. We liked him and his banter, and he works soooo hard to keep his hotel running smoothly.
Malcesine is a lovely resort, with its castle and ancient narrow streets and lanes contrasting with the very modern cable car up to Monte Baldo. It’s definitely worth going up. It was lovely to walk on top of the mountain in the cool air. Lovely alpine flowers everywhere, herds of cows and goats with bells on – and serious mountain bikers and guys parascending off the mountain! The north of the lake is an interesting contrast of serious sporty types and those like us who like a gentle wander around admiring the scenery and eating the lovely ice creams.
If we revisit Malcesine we would definitely stay at Hotel Vega again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KatoWSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    42
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
54
282
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

This small hotel is ideally situated on Lake Garda on the outskirts of Malcesine. The town centre is only a minutes walk away. Our room was situated on the ground floor overlooking the lake with our own small decking area. Great, secure, parking. We were booked for half board and what at treat...the food is outstanding. Overall a fantastic find....thank you Marco!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carlowrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

As promised, we returned to the Vega on the 10th July and, again, were not disappointed. We had a fabulous room on the top floor facing Monte Baldo. I would stay at the rear of the hotel every time as it's much cooler.

Marco and his team were, as ever, on top form and it was like coming home. The food was still as excellent with delicious locally sourced wines and an extra course 'on the house' slipped in as a 'surprise' almost every night - fabulous!

We went on the Lake tour to see the southern end of the Lake and thoroughly enjoyed our stop in the village of Salo with a coffee and large cake. Sirmione was very busy but would recommend a speed boat ride to view the coast and see the thermal waters bubbling out at sea. It's cheaper if you can get a few people to share with you but well worth it.

Would recommend visiting Sigurta Gardens, they were beautiful. You can take a small train around the gardens or hire a golf buggy or bicycles to make your own way round. It has several cafes in various parts of the gardens to ensure you can have a drink in a shaded area.

We also took the evening cruise over to Limone where this time there was a fantastic fireworks display. Don't forget that if you wish to stay out past 11pm ask Marco for an evening key.

Back to the Hotel, Marco provides towels to use on the sunbeds situated on the decking or in the garden. Nothing is too much trouble.

Thank you Marco and your team for a fantastic stay. Hope to be back again soon :-)

Room Tip: Stay at the back if you like it cooler as the sun is on the lake view rooms from early afternoon unt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerCymru01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We booked to stay here for 5 nights in June/July as the base for our wedding at the castle in Malcesine. We had one of the ground floor suites with access to the lake and the jacuzzi pool. The room was very tastefully furnished with quality fixtures and fittings. The bathroom was fantastic and there is a walk in wardrobe. We would highly recommend this place.

Marco the owner is a character but is very friendly and really cares about his hotel. He is always available to help.

There is a bar where you can get drinks delivered to your room. The breakfast isn't the best in the world but will fill you up.

We didn't stay for evening dinner as there are plenty of places to eat out.

The hotel is a 2 minute walk to the harbour and provides parking if you need it. They also arrange transfers from Verona airport €20 pp each way. Just ask Marco by email to book it for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AddsR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We chose Lake Garda for our wedding in June, based on it's breathtaking views and the fact that there was an amazing castle to get married in - we chose the Hotel Vega predominantly based on comments made on Tripadvisor and it's location by the lake - both Malcesine and the Vega exceeded our expectations and we had a truly superb two weeks - Marco and his staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble - we found the Vega extremely welcoming and loved the everyday humour and banter from Marco and his staff - the food was out of this world and we can not praise it highly enough - the hotel location is perfect from it's breathtaking lake side views to just a short walk into the town - we had such an amazingly special wedding day and this was helped in a huge way by Marco and his staff, to whom we will both be eternally grateful - we will be returning to Malcesine and there is only one hotel we will be staying at and that is of course the Vega - Thank you Marco and your staff, we will look forward to seeing you all again soon

Nigel & Suzanne (Lincoln)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

My third time at the Vega ,my 10th time in Malcesine and 23rd time in Italy ,so you can say i know what i am talking about,Vega still remains a top place exept for the main course on the menu which as a lot to be desired ,lack of ideas here ,the trouble is and my good friend Marco at the Vega also agrees Italy has felt austerity problems to the full ,Ihave noticed this last two years how hotels and bars have laid staff off and not replaced them ,they expect the remaining staff work long hours with little time off .This reflects badly on service wich has dipped a little over the years.Having said that Malcesine is stiil tops in my mind and Vega and Marco up there with the best .Just telling it how it is without bias.

Room Tip: Room 11 corner lake view very good but sunny around 4pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thetruthwillout1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

You will be hard pressed to find fault at this hotel. Its wonderful and the food is first class and always beautifully presented. Location superb for the town, 2 mins walk. The town is gorgeous too a perfect gem which has it all for peace and couples alike. Our first trip ever to Lake Garda.
Cannot stress enough the cleanliness everywhere and the family who run the hotel are, like all the staff very helpful, speak fantastic English and cannot do enough for you.
Everyone we spoke to was on their third, fourth or more return trip to the hotel.
We hope to go back ourselves, we are off to get saving!

Room Tip: Pay for a room with a lake view. We so wished we had when we got there. It would be worth it, I ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterandGirlfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malcesine
0.2 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#1 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
Hotel Benacus Malcesine
#3 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Castello Lake Front
Hotel Castello Lake Front
#2 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#6 of 70 in Malcesine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
8.3 mi away
Aktivhotel Santalucia
Aktivhotel Santalucia
#1 of 32 in Torbole
5.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
8.6 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vega

Property: Hotel Vega
Address: Viale Roma 10 | Lago di Garda, 37018, Malcesine, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Malcesine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Malcesine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vega 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vega Hotel Malcesine
Hotel Vega Malcesine, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing